We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!”
Review of Les 400 Coups

Les 400 Coups
Reserve with OpenTable
Les 400 Coups is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Transit: Nearest Metro: Champ de Mars
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I ordered the tasting menu (without wine pairings). Every course was delicious! The portions were small, but appropriate for a tasting menu. At the end of the meal, we felt full, but not overstuffed. It was perfect.

We started out with an amuse-bouche of pea purée. Following this: shrimp with white asparagus cream sauce, halibut, pork two ways (braised and pork belly), the green dessert (apple with yogurt and shaved ice), and finally 2 more desserts (a different one for each of us) of lime panna cotta with mixed fruit and strawberry sorbet and chocolate mousse with pear sorbet. We even got a bonus dessert with our check: two small lemon-almond cookies and two small chocolate covered coffee bites. Of the savory courses, we liked the seafood the best and we both liked the green dessert the best.

Service was a bit slow, but it didn't bother us because we were out for a late romantic dinner and were not in a rush. The servers always completely explained the courses so we knew exactly what we were eating/enjoying. Another bonus is that it was easy to find and a short, easy walk from our hotel.

We would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Montreal, especially Old Montreal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RenoHuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    75
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food.. Puny portions”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

First, the good news.. The food, service, presentation, preparation, ingredients are fabulous. The portions, however, are Puny.. A 3 oz portion of Halibut at 30$ is shameful. I'd go back.. but only as a guest.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thedogologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Culinary delight!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had the tasting menu and it was completely delicious from beginning to end. If I had more time in Montreal I would go again. The deserts were worth it on their own. So good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank fatcat137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“complex flavors!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Come here for their Friday lunch. It's inexpensive and you get to try the awesome food! I was stressed out that my flight might get in late and I would miss lunch here....we got there in time thanks to the nice canadia customs! :-)

Service: attentive, friendly. We were greeted by the sommelier,also one of the owners.
I started with the sweetbread: tender, excellent with the tangy yogurt. my friend still raves over her tomato salad.
Dessert was awesome: I had the green dessert: olive oil, yogurt, green apple, cilantro, pistachio, shaved ice....the combination just blew me away.

Definitely excellent value. excellent food. not pretentious at all.
GO! EAT!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gingerinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow food at modest prices!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a place for foodies! The portions are small but they are gastronomical delights! Deserts are a real highlight. How they do this for the price is a wonder. The staff works as a team and does a great job explaining what the delights on the plate are and meeting any needs you have relating the dinning experience. Our primary server Mathieu did a great job making us feel at home here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakvilletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les 400 Coups also viewed

 

Been to Les 400 Coups? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing