We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attractive restaurant, fine food and service”
Review of Les 400 Coups

Les 400 Coups
Reserve with OpenTable
Les 400 Coups is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Transit: Nearest Metro: Champ de Mars
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Very attractive restaurant, fine food and service”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Really popular "in" place, has a nice look -- stylish, airy, with high ceiling and dim lights, and it's in such a charming spot in Old Montreal. The food is well-presented, very refined, but the original combinations don't always work, I found. My white beet soup had a thick texture and tasted so-so. Yummy seared fish was basically just with sauce, with barely any garnish.

Amazing, to-die-for litchi granité with white choc yoghurt cream and bits of pink grapefruit and tiny grapefruit jello cubes -- a discovery. Service very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank innaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    75
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food was on par with Michelin starred restaurants in Europe. The wine list was fantastic and the service warm & friendly. One of the best places I've eaten in Canada.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fine yet casual dining”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We decided to go to Les 400 Coups to celebrate our 1-year wedding anniversary. We had a lovely evening, from amazing service to fantastic food. The Beef Tartar and the Duck Magret were particularly delicious. A few reviews on TripAdvisor had raved about the desserts. The dessert was the only part of our meal that was on the average side. All-in-all, would definitely recommend this restaurant for either a special occasion or a casual night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tasting menu”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ate at 400 Coups on a recent Thursday night. We really enjoyed the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing. Every course was excellent, and the presentation was very impressive. Definitely the best restaurant we visited during our 3 day visit to Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcarlin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent fare in Old Montreal”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A little to the east of the more touristed area of Old Montreal, the setting is informal and relaxed. Our waitress spoke English so well we guessed she was raised speaking English - but French was her original language. Very engaging but never intrusive.

Our starters were a white beet soup with confit lemon and bottarga, and their renowned beef tartare with mustard ice cream. The ice cream is dabbed on the tartare - it complements without overwhelming.

Mains were Wagyu beef ravioli, and scallops and suckling pig with mushrooms. Both left you content.

I've seldom seen a menu with as many appealing choices - hated to pass on the Spanish mackerel, the guinea fowl, the sweetbreads, and the duck.

We got a bottle of Gamay from the Cote Roannais - light but very pleasant (what a Gamay should be).

We finished with coffee and several Quebec cheeses.

This is a smaller restaurant - one good sized room. Subdued darker atmosphere - one where you can feel at ease dressed formally or informally.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank foodsearcher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les 400 Coups also viewed

 

Been to Les 400 Coups? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing