We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stop an evening cocktail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Assommoir Notre-Dame

L'Assommoir Notre-Dame
Ranked #1,532 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Normandy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good stop an evening cocktail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good bar with substantial snacks. Professional and happy staff. Excellent cocktails with a very good range of choice

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bess-the-Departed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    56
    27
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The concierge recommended this restaurant as a lounge with good local food. He was right on the good food part. I ordered the filet mignon. The steak was topped with aged white cheddar, cooked perfectly and probably one of the best cuts I've ever had. Accompanying the filet were these amazing mashed potatoes that came in individual puffs of a very light batter. I have no idea how they did it but I want the recipe. My boyfiends' fish and chips were good to. The music was very loud, which made it hard to hear the server. Dining was in the back with a bar in the front. It looked like they were trying to mix too many concepts in one. 1st you're in a country bar look, then lounge look but all with really loud club music. Either way I would go back for food in an instant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoganJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just had a thoroughly mundane, uninteresting dinner at L'Assommoir Notre-Dame on our first night in Montreal. My wife, two of our adult sons and I had earlier checked in to the Westin nearby, and the concierge suggested this place (bad call on his part, for sure).

The place feels like a tourist trap type establishment - from the mini bus parked outside to the plastic menus and noisy bar scene. Had we not been relying on the concierge solid reference, we'd have left. But - to our chagrin - we stayed.

The menu was unexceptional in the extreme. The food was even more so. After an OK appetizer ("Little Feast"), my wife ordered a "reimagined" Caesar salad, which could have been prepared by Holiday Inn. Apparently the imagination ran out, since it consisted of a soft-boiled whole egg and crispy pancetta on the side of the greens. Our other entrees were not much better. The tab? With 3 glasses of wine, 2 large bottles of San Pelegrino, the appetizer and four entrees: $178 before tip.

So if you're looking for a delightful, unusual place with excellent food and ambience to start a vacation in Montreal, avoid Assommoir Notre-Dame!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnD21C3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice atmosphere in this restaurant/bar combo in an older renovated building. Busy at happy hour any day. Friendly bar staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hurlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrific Drinks Menu and Food Offerings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Incredibly crowded for a 5 a 7 on Fridays. However, there is a good reason as the drink menu and quality of bartending is excellent and the bar menu is simply incredible. Everything that our table ordered was simply delicious. Again, it is incredibly crowded, uncomfortably so, but apart from that truly outstanding and great location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slowsilvertrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Assommoir Notre-Dame also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to L'Assommoir Notre-Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing