We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Square Victoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Square Victoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #997 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Quartier International
Description: With our decidedly urban upscale vibe, you will discover a great new place to meet friends and family in style. From fabulous appetizers, innovative seafood and salads to our signature steaks and ribs, come enjoy a freshly prepared, simply delicious cuisine - all with a Houston flavour. --- Houston Avenue Bar & Grill sont fiers de vous accueillir chez eux afin de vous offrir une experience culinaire hors de l'ordinaire. Une ambiance unique qui saura plaire a tous sans le moindre doute. Vous y decouvrirez une cuisine raffinee a la fois simple, chic et delicieusement abordable!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very trendy. Very loud DJ music. Average food with average service. I guess if you are full and trendy, you don't need to work hard at the purpose of being a restaurant. I would not go out of my way to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    62
    44
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Food & Friendly, Efficient Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am late writing this review (originally forgot to do so). My boyfriend and I were visiting Montreal the last week of December 2013 and stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel located nearby. While we were walking around the area, my boyfriend saw this restaurant and we decided to go (originally thinking it was associated with the Houston's chain in the United States...we found out it was not). We went around 3:00 PM during the weekday and it was extra nice because there were not a lot of people there because it was during the Christmas holiday season when businesses are closed nearby. The restaurant decor was very nice and modern with tasteful colors throughout. The waitress was congenial with great service and the food was delicious! We had ribs, prime rib and side dishes. We came there after a day of sightseeing and because it was quite cold outside, this restaurant proved to be a warm & cozy choice for us. Glad my boyfriend noticed Houston's when we were out walking!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady4Evermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best steak!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Went with a group of 10 while at a convention. We had no reservations but were seated right away, they have a lot of large tables. I ordered the peppercorn New York steak and it was one of the finest steaks I've ever eaten. Anywhere. Priced moderately ($35), this particular dish was served with spinach and baked potato. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you want a good steak.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BoomChickaCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

quick service and tasty offerings. Close to W and was inexpensive alternative. Enjoyed the work day crowds ant lunch time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lordegbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We chose this restaurant because we felt like steak for lunch. Which they did not have on their lunch menu but kindly after asking the kitchen did take our steak au poivre order anyway.
This clearly was a restaurant for business suits but with a somewhat mysogenic attitude. As a female executive myself I would not ever lunch at this place with male colleagues or customers because of the skimpy dress code for the waitresses. Too distracting and embarassing. The male staff should be in shorts to make it more equal. We were sitting near the place they stored table accessories and every time they had to get something their t-shirt/mini dress/skirt would ride up and all would be revealed. They were constantly tugging at their clothes to keep it decent and I felt sorry for them.
My husband (who probably didn't mind the dress code) had the rack of ribs which had an unusual marinade tasting like cloves. Once you got used to it, it was actually quite good he said.
My steak was of very good quality, and the sweet potato fries were very good too.
Towards the end of our lunch the waitress asked us if it would be alright if she left us the check now because she was at the end of her shift. We felt sympathetic toward her (she probably wanted to go find a pair of pants ) so we were ok with settling up before we had finished our meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allthingsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Square Victoria also viewed

 

Been to Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Square Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing