We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Food and Very Friendly Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Chose

Chez Chose
Ranked #81 of 5,399 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $46
Cuisines: Fusion, Canadian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Cross street: Bienville
Transit: Metro Mont-Royal take your left to St-Denis street, turn on your right 30 second walk Metro Laurier take your right to St-Denis street, turn on your left 30 second walk
Description: Chez Chose offers a menu from a blackboard.This menu varies depending on the season and the products from our providers, each and every one of them Quebec's very own craftsmen. It also varies following the fantasies of our chef Marie-France Desrosiers whom plays around the products we receive, maintaining a fresh and seasonal selection. May it be foie gras, vegetables, rabbit, guinea fowl regardless of the delivery, she will lay in your plate a joyful mix of flavours . The perfect brew of our local farmers' hard work and the genius of Marie-France has made Chez Chose something... Grandiose. Have a taste, you will see.... Chez Chose vous propose un menu a l'ardoise. Ce menu varie au gre des saisons et des arrivages de nos fournisseurs, tous sans exception des artisans du terroir quebecois. Il varie aussi selon les fantaisies de notre chef Marie-France Desrosiers qui s'amuse avec ce que nos producteurs d'ici lui envoient, pour autant que tout soit frais et de saison.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and Very Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Ate hear in October 2011. Some with more experience French cuisine taste could possibly find issues with the taste, but it was all carefully prepared and delicious to both of us. The host and hostess were extremely hospitable and friendly, with two memorable performances--what else could one call it--of the menu and dessert menu. Recommend to all friends making the trip to Montreal and anyone else visiting. The prices could be a little lower, but the experience of the evening is worth it. Don't go there if you are in a hurry to get to a concert or something, that would be a waste of the experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    55
    18
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Made a last minute booking on Saturday night, based on good reviews on Tripadvisor. Excellent food, service and varied menu. Impressed and will return again.

Helpful?
Thank GillieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, service, and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Chez Chose is one of the premier bistros in Montreal with a menu that is varied yet consistent. There is a certain overall style to not only the flavor profiles but the choice of ingredient that I can only describe as giving the vegetables as much importance as the protein on the plate. So often a restaurant can indeed prepare a great piece of meat but then throw aside any real care to the accourtrements. At Chez Chose we really feel the thoughtfulness of everything on the plate and is confirmed with not only rich harmonizing flavors but in portion size as well. I ordered the duck breast as a main and a trio of smoked duck, duck heart tartar and bison tenderloin to start yet by the end I did not feel like an overindulged carnivore.

A beautiful setting with a friendly and humorous waiter that made the experience complete. To top it off and sticky toffee pudding and sorbet trio shared with my guest left us completely satisfied and impressed! This restaurant is not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreverends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The soup of the day was a vegetable cream with yogurt and spices - wonderful. Salad was also very good.
Duck entree was delicious; the Rabbit special was a bit "white on white" and dry.
Reasonable wine selection, we ordered a Cotes-du-Rhone blend. The vintage year of the wine presented was one year later than stated in the menu; I have seen this at a number of restaurants.
The menu is a bit brief with about 7 entrees.
Service was excellent; overall it was a great evening; we went on a Thursday evening in October and it was busy. Make reservations.

Helpful?
Thank tjstjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding Service and Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

An absolutely amazing culinary experience. We enjoyed the house salad, foie gras and venison with a feather (duck) as our entree. We had ordered the actual venison for our entree (which was the entree special for the evening) but due to it's popularity they ran out before our order made it to the chef. Not to worry, they accomodated us with a duck entree that turn out wonderfully. I enjoy bold red wines and a couple glasses of the 2010 Les Sorcieres blend did not disappoint.

Everyone was so friendly and we were quite pleased with our server, Elizabeth. It is my understanding the establishment is family owned with Mother and Father servicing the main dining room and their daughter as the chef. (we didn't meet her). Furthermore, there were several bars in the immediate area to have a drink afterwards and Elizabeth recommended a great jazz club with live music just a few blocks down the street.

For the gourmet quality of the meal we enjoyed, the price seemed very much worth it compared to other gourmet restaurant. I think our bill was $168 out-the-door including two salads, four glasses of wine, the foie gras appetizer, the two duck entrees, all taxes (very high in Quebec) and a 20% gratuity.

You would be doing yourself an injustice to not try Chez Chose on your travels to Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank southtamparealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Chose also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Chose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing