We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+++++”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thank you to all your amazing staff for making my 6 night stay the best it could be. Just a hop skip and jump to shops, old montreal, metro, conference centre.
Rooms were super clean and comfortable.
Fantastic value for money ... Free wifi was a bonus
My room was a little bit noisy on Friday and Saturday night but my colleagues in other rooms said they didn't hear a thing.
I cannot speak highly enough of this place ... I will definetly stay again.
Thank you David and Zac :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thanks for awarding us an A+ rating and for your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, our central location and its value. I will proudly share your kind words with the receptionists Dave and Zacharia, as well as the remainder of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 366 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We pent 2 nights (Oct 4-5) at this hotel. We booked it based on great reviews and we were not disappointed. Thanks to David and staff for their hospitality and help. The room was very clean and when we enquired about ice, they had run out. The hotel staff actually walked the 2 blocks to a convenience store and bought us ice. Thank you !!!

If you are looking for a nice clean and quiet hotel close to the action with staff that care ... try this one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We make every effort to respond to the needs of our guests with true hospitality and therefore sincerely thank you for your kind words in this regard. We love to see our guests return time and time again.....remember, we offer a special discount for our return guests when they book directly with our hotel. Till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just spent 8 nights at the Quartier des Spectacles. Would like to thank Carole, david, zac & Wally for thier help & hospitality.
If you are a pretentious snob who expects everything to be new & sparkly then you may want to go elsewhere, for that matter you may want to avoid Montreal altogether. People staying at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth @ $289/night agreed our room was nicer.
Right in the heart of everything, theaters across the street, china-town 2 blocks away, Old Montreal was a 10min stroll, and being right on St.Catherines is nice.
Wally was working on cleaning up and repairing the terrace area while we were there and there are continuous improvements being made. We had room 211a with a street view, one double one single, private bath & kitchen, A/C worked great.

Next time I'm in Montreal I know where I'll be staying...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_arlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments and for highly recommending our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your studio apartment and that the staff made you feel welcome. We look forward to your next visit.....remember, return guests who contact the hotel directly gets a preferential rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff were courteous, friendly and gave us a good run down of the city which gave us a good start. As mentioned by others, the brickwork and other details from the original structure add an interesting element.
The location is prime for just about everything tourist related.
Only minor complaint is there wasn't one of those small fridges that you usually see in a hotel room.
Maybe there was a communal fridge (like you often see at hostels) that I didn't know about or bother asking about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gord D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the charm of our recently renovated centennial building, as well as our prime location that enabled you to discover our neighborhood and the major sites of our city. Thanks for your comments and suggestions.....they are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in September 2013, I can't rate it highly enough - our room was big, clean and comfortable, and great value for money for such a prime location to discover Montreal. Right in the arts/theatre district, it's a 10 minute walk to Vieux Montreal / Vieux Port, and a stone's throw from the Latin Quarter / the Village and Downtown. The staff were all extremely helpful - we'd had a bad experience with flight (and bag) delays on our way and they were also very flexible and accommodating. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWhi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We are indeed pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and that you appreciated the location, the service and its value. I will proudly share your comments with all staff. We are glad that you plan to stay with us again.....à la prochaine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My colleague and I stayed at this hotel for a conference in Montreal. As described in the reviews, the hotel is above a sex shop. However, the area has much improved since I last visited Montreal 5 years ago; Ste-Catherine has been revitalized with new streetscape, and even St-Laurent itself is less seedy than before. I never felt unsafe in the area, even while walking alone at night.

The room itself had sleek, clean decor; the bathroom and sleeping areas were squeaky clean, and complementary shampoo/soap/mouthwash were provided. Daily housekeeping is included. There is no elevator, so those with mobility impairments may want to ask for a room on the main level.

The room was quiet (as requested); I did not hear any other guests.

There is a computer in the lobby area with free use of a printer; this was a definite plus for travellers need to print boarding passes, etc.

Wi-fi was not 100% reliable at times and sometimes dropped out, but we were placed in a quiet room on the top (3rd) floor.

This hotel provided good value for money; I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoCanadaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you appreciated our sleek decor and meticulously clean accommodations. I will certainly share your kind words with our housekeeping and maintenance staff.
As you mentioned in your review, the area has undergone many changes in the past few years..... from a red light district to the now trendy entertainment district, Quartier des Spectacles. This vibrant, safe neighborhood now hosts the majority of the city's major festivals and is home to over 30 theatres and museums. There is always something to do in the area.
Thanks again for your warm comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we booked rooms @ Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, we didn't realize how well the owners had kept the charm of this old building, including old brick walls, while putting in a well-appointed washroom, with glass shower. The floors are amazing.

The hotel doesn't have elevators nor does it have parking (the later is available about 1/ block away). Very accommodating bilingual staff made our stay very enjoyable.

Our friend from France was also impressed with the proximity to Theatres, a short walk to Chinatown and slightly longer to St-Paul Street and the Old Port area. Many churches dot the skyline in this older part of Montreal, but there is also shopping for just about every taste. I particularly enjoyed the best Smoked Meat on rye @ Dunn's Deli, my partner got her Pho Soup and imaginative breakfast was available a half block from the Hotel Quartier des Spectacles!

No doubt that Hotel Quartier des Spectacles will see us again soon!

Room Tip: I found the superior Queen room met the needs of a couple who wanted to explore Old Montreal. I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitbul48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for highly recommending our establishment. We are pleased that you appreciated our efforts to keep the charm of this centennial building during our renovations
There are indeed many great places to eat in our neighborhood and here is never a lack of things to do anytime of the year. Our central location is ideal to discover all that Montreal has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again real soon......please call directly to get our special return customer rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
594 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#78 of 165 in Montreal
463 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#48 of 165 in Montreal
883 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $28 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing