We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price for Good Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #91 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Price for Good Location and Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Simple and Clean Hotel. The staff at the Hotel are very curtious and Helpful for any Information. The best part is it is right in heart of the city location and great Price and we enjoyed our Jazz festival right down by the hotel.

We had great experience at this hotel and will sure visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles. We are pleased that you will be returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    139
    56
    20
    24
See reviews for
54
147
49
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a prime location - walking distance from many attractions. The rooms are tiny but they are perfect for just storing your things as you explore the city. Like the other reviewers say: there are stairs up which you must carry your luggage and the neighborhood does have quite a few adult shops and strip clubs but I never felt unsafe at any point. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJetSetter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hotel Quartier des Spectacles. Being situated in a centennial building, our rooms are all unique----that is, we have a variety of room types and sizes. This dynamic area is indeed safe and ideal to explore the city. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Montreal and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I really have nothing to complaint about! It's a great location & fantastic staff to help with luggage. Wifi worked too!
Just letting everyone know that it's a long flight of stairs to reception and NO left!!

Also, we were placed in a corner room overlooking the main street and as it happens, there was a big festival on and the band (MOSLTY hedious pounding stuff) was directly under our room :( We weren't happy about that! So be aware of festivals that may be happening during your visit or you won't get ANY SLEEP.
That's all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowRoseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review......I will share your comments with staff regarding their helpfulness and your appreciation about taking care of your luggage. Our hotel is on the second floor of a centennial building and unfortunately there is no possibility of an elevator. You were obviously at our hotel during the Montreal Jazz Festival and one of the many stages is indeed only a few meters away. The international performances begin late afternoon and the last concert finishes by 11 pm. Many clients request the corner room for that vantage point but on a future trip, if you want a quieter room, simply request a room facing the back. Hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May 2013.

We were given a studio, which had a fridge and a small kitchenette. The place is not very easy to find, and the reception is located above street level...without a lift! (add a narrow and steep staircase and you're off to a bad start). It's not possible to park in front of the hotel either. Bear this in mind if you're driving or you have heavy luggage. Breakfast is at a nearby coffee shop.
Front desk staff were very polite and helpful.

All in all, the place is decent and centrally located, but has a few drawbacks that make it unconvenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rro2005MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The famous Ste-Catherine street, located in front of the hotel becomes a pedestrian walkway during the summer months in order to host the many festivals hosted in this dynamic area. During this period, we have a hotel drop off zone for the benefit of our guests on the corner of Boulevard St. Laurent rather than in front of the hotel. Being on the second level of a historic building, I realize that the stairwell to come up to the reception can be daunting but if you need any help with your bags, our staff is always willing to assist. Thank-you for your kind remarks regarding the polite and helpful staff. We hope that you will join us again on a future trip to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed 8 nights at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles in June 2013 while in Montreal for the Canadian Grand Prix. The hotel is a bargain, and the location is great. It is on Ste-Catherine Ouest just off St. Laurent Blvd, and close to many restaurants, Old Montreal, shopping, the subway, etc. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean--although not large, it was adequate in size. The only drawback was the lack of an elevator. We heard that the hotel plans a renovation in the future, including adding a bar. We don't know if they plan to add an elevator, but that would be a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonV1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the value of our accommodations and took full advantage of our prime location. Thank you for your comments; it helps us to improve and to plan for our continued growth. Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Quartier des Spectacles in June 2013 and was very impressed with the hotel. I don't need the amenities of larger hotels so this was perfect -- low price, great location, nice room and very friendly and accommodating staff. The Metro station is right next door, so you can subway from the train station.

No elevators, so you have to be prepared to hump your bags up a few flights of stairs. Also, being right on Ste. Catherine can be a bit noisy at night if you like to sleep with the windows open.

I will definitely return!

Room Tip: They also have suites with kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us with Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had a pleasurable experience at our hotel and that the team was able to make your stay comfortable. We pride ourselves in providing a nice room and great service at the lowest possible price. We love seeing former guests return time and time again and therefore are pleased that you plan to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Located in the heart of the action, this friendly, clean and quaint hotel surpasses anything could could expect in a more expensive hotel. Don't be put off by the sex shop located below the hotel. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Though there are not the same amenities as a large chain hotel, you won't miss out. The metro, shops, restaurants, coffee houses, bars and the usual tourist attractions are all within walking distance or easily accessible. We will definitely return to this charming hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Double rooms are a great size with exposed brick on the walls. Single rooms are quite a bit smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles. We are pleased that we were able to charm you with the friendliness of our staff, the cleanliness of our rooms and quaintness of our newly renovated centennial hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#80 of 165 in Montreal
570 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 165 in Montreal
679 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#75 of 165 in Montreal
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#45 of 165 in Montreal
539 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#54 of 165 in Montreal
1,190 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#103 of 165 in Montreal
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Property: Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing