We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #82 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Value & Location”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed 8 nights at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles in June 2013 while in Montreal for the Canadian Grand Prix. The hotel is a bargain, and the location is great. It is on Ste-Catherine Ouest just off St. Laurent Blvd, and close to many restaurants, Old Montreal, shopping, the subway, etc. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean--although not large, it was adequate in size. The only drawback was the lack of an elevator. We heard that the hotel plans a renovation in the future, including adding a bar. We don't know if they plan to add an elevator, but that would be a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonV1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the value of our accommodations and took full advantage of our prime location. Thank you for your comments; it helps us to improve and to plan for our continued growth. Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    134
    51
    13
    20
See reviews for
54
134
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Quartier des Spectacles in June 2013 and was very impressed with the hotel. I don't need the amenities of larger hotels so this was perfect -- low price, great location, nice room and very friendly and accommodating staff. The Metro station is right next door, so you can subway from the train station.

No elevators, so you have to be prepared to hump your bags up a few flights of stairs. Also, being right on Ste. Catherine can be a bit noisy at night if you like to sleep with the windows open.

I will definitely return!

Room Tip: They also have suites with kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us with Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had a pleasurable experience at our hotel and that the team was able to make your stay comfortable. We pride ourselves in providing a nice room and great service at the lowest possible price. We love seeing former guests return time and time again and therefore are pleased that you plan to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Located in the heart of the action, this friendly, clean and quaint hotel surpasses anything could could expect in a more expensive hotel. Don't be put off by the sex shop located below the hotel. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Though there are not the same amenities as a large chain hotel, you won't miss out. The metro, shops, restaurants, coffee houses, bars and the usual tourist attractions are all within walking distance or easily accessible. We will definitely return to this charming hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Double rooms are a great size with exposed brick on the walls. Single rooms are quite a bit smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles. We are pleased that we were able to charm you with the friendliness of our staff, the cleanliness of our rooms and quaintness of our newly renovated centennial hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel was clean, had a good location to downtown, and had courteous front desk. The major disadvantage is the first set of stairs to get luggage up. The rooms are small but very clean. It is close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinglebellsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and pleased that you appreciated our courteous service, the clealiness of our rooms and our prime location. Being a hotel on the second floor of a historic building, it is not possible to have an elevator but do not hesitate to ask if you need help with your luggage. In our centennial hotel, there are a variety of room types....each room is unique and thus there are different sizes with different amenities. We hope to see you in our establishment again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Large, clean room with full kitchen, right in the center of everything we wanted to see and do. Very friendly helpful staff, $10 a day parking is available right behind the hotel and a grocery store is 1 block away. Must be able to do stairs!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your studio apartment and our location close to most major tourist sites. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a weekend here and while the sex shop downstairs was a little disconcerting once up the stairs the lobby was bright , clean and inviting.
The staff are bilingual , friendly and ready to help with all inquiries.
we arrived before our rooms were ready but they found a place to store our gear and we were able to explore before check-in baggage free.
Our suite was clean spacious and well appointed
We will use this location again as it is in a great location and very well suited for our needs

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDFORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank-you for your review and high recommendation. The hotel does not own the main floor of this centennial building but occupies the top three floors, hence the smaller entrance. The hotel has made major renovations as of late, in keeping with its historical character (high ceilings, maple wood floors, exposed brick walls) and we are pleased that you appreciated the appearance, cleanliness and character of our establishment. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Don't judge a book by its cover! Like all other reviewers, your first impression will be one of aprehension. However as you climb the stariwell within the exposed brick walls and make the turn into the foyer at the top, you will be taken aback by the appearance, cleanliness, and character that this hotel has.,The friendly staff ensure that all questions are answered, and assisted us in what and where to do, how far away Old Montreal was, and suggestions of certain ethnic areas that may be of interest to us tourists from Ottawa. The price was very reasonable, the room we stayed in (C301) was modern and clean, Comfortable and all amenities that you need. I would highly recommend this establishment, and will be returning again.

Room Tip: third floor room could not hear any street noise or traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRV56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for your review and your recommendation. We are pleased that you were impressed with the character of our centennial hotel, as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We love seeing our guests returning time and time again and are happy that you will be joining us on your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#75 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#70 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#80 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#68 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#72 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Property: Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing