We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at Home !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #84 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Feel at Home !!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the second we walked up the stairs the gentleman ( David) at the desk was wonderful. What an amazing person/employee. If i had a business with David running it for me i would have no doubt it would be successful. Makes everyone feel at home and is very accomodating and funny. Just a delight!!! From the service to the location, to the cleanliness this hotel delivered. Yes, there is a sex shop and yes there are stairs.Get over it !!!!! For the price, service, and cleanliness......cant go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The staff enjoy the rapport that they establish with clients and we love to see our clients return time and time again. We are pleased that you will make our establishment your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    134
    51
    13
    20
See reviews for
54
134
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I wanted a night with my man on the town - nice quiet supper out, no kids etc. Booked through GroupOn and got a great deal which included breakfast at the nearby Café Dépot. Had read many positive reviews and was aware there was a sex shop downstairs (could be handy ;-)) but nevertheless my man's eyebrows were raised as we mounted the not very promising staircase. Once inside, I was SO glad we had booked here! Over the years, we have stayed in many hotels all over the place and this is one of the few which have invested in hardwood flooring - what a difference! No accumulation of yucky god know's what on the carpets.....The room was small, but very functional, clean and modern. Loved the design of the rooms which incorporate the brick walls and happily, the bed was firm and comfortable! Friendly, helpful staff at the front desk. We will definitely be back here when next at a show at the Metropolis (a few doors down) - very happy to know of a clean, centrally located hotel to recommend to family from out of town in the future! Great job guys! Merci beaucoup et à la prochaine!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306 - top floor - very quiet. There is no elevator which may be a problem for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you appreciated the cleanliness, value and location of our hotel. The hotel has recently been renovated and many are impressed with our wood floors, brick walls and high ceilings. Merci et a la prochaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently on a team buy special. This area has been recently totally changed for the better despite the sex shop. Pleasantly surprised by the large clean room and only slight street noise as it fronts on st Catherine st. near Place des arts. Parking very close underground at complexe Desjardins for only 10$ for 24 hrs! Decent free breakfast at Cafe depot. Great deal for location and price

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The area has certainly undergone many changes and our hotel is situated in the heart of Montreal's new entertainment district. We are pleased that you appreciated our prime location and our excellent rates. Hope to welcome you again in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

When we pulled up to the hotel, my heart sank to see a sex shop at street level. Public parking behind the hotel was a well lit, large lot with a tender who slept overnight for security. For downtown city parking, it was a fair price considering the security.

The hotel entrance is non-descript but video monitored. Up some stairs a large lobby with friendly bi-lingual staff had everything ready to sign in. A few more stairs and we were in what looked like newly renovated rooms. Turns out this was done almost three years ago. The staff keeps the place well!
I immediately booked a room for the next visit to Montreal in a couple months. A bit more expensive than the Lord Berri, our previous "go-to" but much more character and QUIETER!
Don't let the look of the neighbourhood put you off. We walked all over the place on a pub crawl and never had any trouble. Its a city - there will be panhandlers and freaks on the street. It is to be expected wherever one travels. No problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewerkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I am pleased that we are your new go to place in Montreal. The hotel was renovated a few years ago keeping with its historical character. Our staff works diligently at keeping the hotel spotless and I will certainly pass on your comments in this regard. We look forward to your next visit......we love seeing our clients coming back time and time again. A bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here sometime in fall of last year. I found this hotel very central located and good for budget concious. I got this hotel last minute (must be on sale). Im not sure if this location is in the bad part of town, but there is a sex shop located just below it. You will see a HOTEL sign so you cant miss it. I took a train from toronto and its about 15 mins walk from the central station. The hotel staff is really friendly, To some people this might be an issue, but there is no parking. I think there is a lot across from it but its a pvt one, and its open, not sure if Im comfortable parking my car overnight. Its close to alot of restaurant and alot of shopping in the area. I also found this is close to the gay village so if you mind that, dont stay there. Overall, I will definately come back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaysinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Pleased to hear that you will be back. The hotel is located downtown, at the heart of the entertainment district and host to most major festivals, including the Montreal Jazz Festival. As you mentioned, the hotel is but a few minutes walk from the trendy gay village, Chinatown, Old Montreal, Old Port, the main Ste-Catherine shopping area and the restaurants and nightlife of the Plateau. For the few tourist sites not within walking distance, the St. Laurent metro station is only a few meters from our hotel. Though we do not have our own parking lot, there are several surface and underground lots in proximity to the hotel. Till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winooski, Vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Good price on a winter season weeknight room. Woman at the front desk was helpful and welcoming. Room had hardwood floors and simple decor. Shower was a bit awkward -kind of small and the shower head was not adjustable. Deal included breakfast at a cafe two blocks away. Garaged parking nearby for $11/24 hrs. As others noted, no elevator, so plan for stairs. No gym or hot tub, but they did provide some maple chocolates, which was a sweet touch. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The room was in the "new" part of the building, not facing the street and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCaruso_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you appreciated the value, the staff and our location. A bientôt....till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We purchased our stay at this hotel through Teambuy, they had an amazing deal for $59/night including breakfast.
The initial impression when walking up to the door can throw you off, not because of the sex shops, but because of the small doorway and minimal signage. Once up the first set of stairs we entered the reception area with comfy chairs and a nice fireplace. We were immediately greeted with a warm friendly "bonjour" by the desk staff who were always eager to help. She explained the area and pulled out a map for the best options and prices for parking. We chose to park the car in the university parking (UQUAM) a few blocks away and purchased a 3 day metro pass for $16. Definitely recommend doing this if you plan on staying for a few days, it will get you just about anywhere and with the subways you'll never wait more than a few minutes for one.

The hotel was warm, and welcoming. We stayed in a room on the top floor, which was a bit of a walk up a few flights of stairs with bags, but day to day it didn't really bother us. The room had all the ammenities, new shower, sink, quiet working ac/heater, LCD TV with many channels, couch, wood floors, with a closet to store and hang all of our stuff. We never heard any of our neighbours. And even though we chose not to have housekeeping clean the room during our short stay we were always offered clean towels by the front desk.

The breakfast vouchers were for the little spot across the street called Le Commensal that had great choices, strong coffee, and got us completely hooked on the St-Viateur bagels. (Yumm!)

It was in a great, central location. Corner of Saint-Laurent and Sainte-Catherine. We could very easily hop on a subway and head to Sainte Catherine for the day shopping. Or up Saint-Denis for little shops and amazing food. I would certainly recommend stopping at Schwartz's for a smoked meat sandwich, it was beyond delicious, and a fun experience. Or to La Banquise for a late night poutine, they're open 24 hrs, and were packed when we were there at 12pm on a Thursday. It really is worth the wait for a seat!

Overall it was a great value for what it was, we weren't expecting a fancy 5 star but it was clean, the people were very friendly, and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and your recommendations to others regarding things to do in Montreal. We are indeed fortunate in having such a convenient location to discover Montreal. Since the reception is located on the second floor of a centennial building, there are many stairs to contend with but we are pleased that you appreciated our renovations of this historic building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#74 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#70 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#80 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#68 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#73 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Property: Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing