We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Cheap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean and Cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Handily sandwiched between a depanneur and a sex shop ( depending on your requirements for the evening), the hotel is clean and has what you need. Our room was on a corner ( directly above the sex shop) and was a decent size, nicely decorated, not too noisy due to double glazing and it being in the quieter end of St Catherine. Greeted by very pleasant staff and the price includes a continental breakfast at the cafe over the road making it very reasonable for Montreal. Only down side was there was this funky smell at the entrance and in the corridors, but not the rooms. Smell a bit like men's toilets. All in all, great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opheliabuttocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are pleased that you found your accommodation clean and felt it was a great value for your money. There was an odor from the alley that did permeate the corridors for a couple of days after the big flood but now that all is dry, it has now completely dissipated. We are thankful that it did not enter any of our rooms or caused any damage in our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    133
    49
    13
    18
See reviews for
52
133
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My sweetheart and I reserved a different hotel for our 8 day Montreal vacation but although the other hotel was fine, we switched to this hotel as soon as we went on the little tour graciously given to us by the super friendly and helpful staff. We chose a studio which had a neat little kitchenette with full fridge for all our cupcakes and wine and beer hordes plus a small table for me to write on and a comfy enough bed. We could open the windows for fresh air or use the a/c. I loved the convenience to everything--restaurants, cafes, shopping, Old Montreal, supermarket, all just a few steps away. I wish we had stayed here for our entire vacation as the price was much better and the location was in the middle of the arts district where we spent all our time anyway. The sex shop was upscale and cool and the staff there was awesome. The sex shop is not connected to the hotel but after passing it three or four times we just went in. I am very picky about location, clean rooms and great service and this hotel had it all. There are stairs to go up so those with mobility issues should be aware of that. I actually have some mobility issues myself, and can't walk around too far or too much which is why this hotel was great because it was in middle of everything. We did not opt for the breakfast as we could easily make tea and toast or pick up croissants and keep in our kitchen or go out for a great breakfast. The staff was so cool that one of them helped me to locate a very inexpensive hotel in Quebec City for our jaunt there and helped me book it from his reception desk too! We are definitely going back and staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpikachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am very pleased that you had an excellent stay in our hotel and that you plan on returning. Our staff enjoys establishing a rapport with guests and they make it their mission to ensure that the guest discovers the best of Montreal. Thanks for your great review and a la prochaine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

When I finally got to downtown Montreal the heart does sink a little when you realise your hotel is nestled in between a shop that cashes cheques and an adult store... this is then furthered by the steep staircase that greets you at the door as there is no lift.

However, when you get into the hotel at the top of the stairs, it is a pleasant surprise. The staff are very nice and it is very clean. The room is decorated like an urban loft so it has a modern and fashionable finish - it is not anywhere near as big as the picture makes out so don't expect a large room.

I would say I enjoyed the place but the bed was very uncomfortable, so much so that most nights I didn't sleep very well. There is some sort of air conditioning or fan system attached to the window that blows constant cold air into the room. As we don't really have these in the UK I had no idea what it was supposed to do and why it would be on in the fall as it froze the room. I turned it off most of the time as I couldn't quite work out whether it was supposed to also be a heater. So I was also quite cold.

The shower is very nice and you are provided with toiletries every day which for the price of the room is excellent value.

The location is great too, the hotel is not that far from the bus stop for the airport express, notre dame cathedral, and the arts district. You are also close to McGill University, Montreal Park, and the gay village.

The staff were very nice and at least helped with my bags - the first hotel in North America to do so!

I would stay again if they had a different mattress! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Briangreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel and that you appreciated the attentiveness of our staff. Perhaps, I could clarify...there is a fan and airconditioning unit in each room, as well as an individually controlled heating unit. You simply have to put the room temperature to your preference. Our mattresses are of a superior quality and we have some rooms that are firm, others have a medium firmness. We have a variety of room types and they vary in size from our smaller single rooms to very large suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lots of stairs to inside of hotel but no elevator. Very helpful and friendly multilingual staff! Hotel in great location in heart of the arts & theater district, above a sex shop. Amazing cozy and clean room but no wifi connection and awful TV controller that barley worked. Not much selection and food portion given for optional paid breakfast across the street at a decent restaurant. Given 10% discount for next stay. Definitely will stay again because the pros far exceed the cons. Worth staying here anytime in Montreal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel for quietness. Don't be afraid to ask for directions and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank-you for your review. We read each review carefully and continuously try to improve on the service for our guests. I am unsure in which area of the hotel was your room but we have recently replaced all our televisions with HD flatscreens with a large array of channels. Our free WIFI in all rooms are usually functionning well but if you ever unable to connect, please check with reception in order that they can advise our technician. We are pleased that despite these couple of issues, that you appreciated our great location, our friendly staff and our clean rooms. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles for 3 nights at the end of September. I found the hotel to be fantastic. It has been newly renovated and does a terrific job of integrating the building's original brick work with modern materials. The rooms are bright and clean, have flat screen TVs and very effective air conditioning units. The hotel's location is ideal. You are close to downtown, Old Montreal, the waterfront and Chinatown. There are lots of great restaurants and coffee shops nearby . You are also in the heart of the entertainment district. In fact, Place des Arts is right around the corner. There is even an IGA just down the block for people who want to save a few dollars on dining out costs. In addition, the area is very safe, fun and lively. The staff were also very friendly and informative. The price was very reasonable. I felt I got great value for my money. I would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: The street in front of the hotel can be a bit noisy (I was there on a weekend), but I didn't fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamrock504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for your review and your recommendation. Our hotel is within walking distance of most major tourist sites and we are pleased that you had the chance to discover all that Montreal has to offer. We aim to keep our prices down to provide our guests the best value possible.....check our discounted low season rates. Looking forward to your next visit. A la prochaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week and was within walking distance of all the tourist spots and lots of good restaurants.
They have no elevator so I didn't like hauling my suitcase up two flights of stairs.
The rooms and lobby are clean and neat. Looks as if everything is new, even the paint. Nice wood parquet floors.
Desk clerk spoke English and was helpful. Not a ritzy place, but more than adequate. Good neighborhood, and good price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKaehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank-you for your review. The new wing of the hotel was opened in May of 2012. Being a historic building, it was impossible to put an elevator. We hope to see you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Sandwiched between two sex shops, it is in a fine location - especially since we were there for the comedy festival, which was right outside. The rooms are fine, fairly clean and simple. Nothing special, though, so I can't figure out why others give it such rave reviews.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a quiet room since the street is busy and loud quite late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We read each review attentively and always look at ways to continue to improve our service to guests. I am not sure if your room was in the original part of the building or in our new wing; we have a variety of room types to meet the needs of most guests.....budget, standard, studio or superior rooms. Our hotel has been awarded a 2012 Tripadvisor excellence award due to guest ratings, as well as named the best value two star hotel in downtown Montreal. We are particularily proud of the cleanliness of our rooms and our personnel. If you are not fully satisfied, do not hesitate to check with staff or the manager. We aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#71 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#73 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#74 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Property: Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing