We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for one night in Montreal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Me and 4 other girls stayed in one of the suites at Quartier des Spectacles.

We drove there and found it ridiculously hard to find so I'd recommend taking a satnav/gps if you have one. This was partly due to the hotel being in the middle of a road block currently.

Once we found it, we were good to go and don't let the sex shop put you off outside as other reviewers mention! We checked in then were taken back out of the hotel around to the back where the suites were placed. The hotel manager then jumped out of our window as a shortcut to the office - we found it really funny but I guess it just depends on your sense of humour!

The room it's self was very clean and served us well for one night. The beds were comfortable and there was a hair dryer located in the bathroom which was handy.

The location was great for walking around Montreal. The basilica is about a ten minute walk away via china town. There are also plenty of restaurants cages and a few bars in walking distance. would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhanxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We appreciate your comments. From early May until after the September long weekend, part of Ste-Catherine Street (portion in front of our hotel) becomes a pedestrian street and it bustles with activity as it hosts many of the major Montreal festivals. During this time period, guests coming to our hotel should take St. Laurent Boulevard (our hotel drop-off zone is located right on the corner). Our hotel does have an excellent location to participate in the activities and to discover Montreal.

Most of our rooms and studios are in the main part of our hotel; only the larger studio apartments are in the annex building. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 347 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Reading the reveiws I had pretty good understanding of what to expect from ths hotel. It is a two star so the quality and services provided are minimal. The great advantage of this hotel is its central location. The hotel staff are very freindly and helpful. The two complains I wiould have are that the room I was in had a pretty old televison set. Now I was not in Montreal top watch TV but lets just say it not to todays modern standards. Next is the street noise. Given the location of this hotel I guess some street noise is expected but I do not expect to get woken up at 3 or 4 in the morning by load music outside or screaming and yelling from the street. I suggest you turn the air conditioner to high and try to drown out the noise outside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eez247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank-you for your comments. All of our standard and superior rooms have new HD flat screen televisions and we are presently updating some of the televisions in our studio apartments. It is unfortunate you were awakened by street noise....we do have several rooms and studios not facing the street but they are not always available. Thank-you for you kind words regarding our staff; I will certainly pass on your appreciation to them regarding their helpfulness. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I'm staying at the Hotel du Quartier des Spectacles as I type, and I'm highly satisfied. The price is excellent, the room is spotless as well as spacious (with even a kitchen!), and the location is great. Everyone on staff is very friendly and capable of dispensing great advice about the area. I'll stay here again the next time I visit Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank-you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the studio and that you plan to return. Our cleaning staff takes great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and are very proud of our rating as one of the best value hotels in Montreal. Till next time.....a la prochaine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel isn't "great for the money you pay", it's just "great" - the low price is just an added bonus! The room was spotless and the staff were extremely helpful, asking us if we needed suggestions for dinner and things to do (we had our whole weekend mapped out, so we declined their help). We also qualified for a 10% discount because we were seeing a show in the neighbourhood during our stay!

We had a "superior room" with one queen bed. The room was quite small, but if you come to Montreal and you spend so much time hiding in your hotel room that you have to complain about its size, you've clearly done something wrong! It's a place to shower and sleep - and maybe one other thing, depending on who you're with ;) - and that's it (though there is TV and a small desk in the room if you really have a burning desire to get some work done).

It's worth noting that the hotel does not appear to be accessible for those with mobility issues, as you have to climb a flight of stairs from the street up to the reception, and I didn't see an elevator (though I may have just missed it...)

Room Tip: Some noise from the goings-on on the ground floor can permeate into the rooms (even with the AC goin...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments.....we are pleased that you had a great time and that you enjoyed the value that our hotel offers. If the next time you come to Montreal, your trip is not all mapped out, our staff will be pleased to further guide you in your discovery of our city. Since we are a centennial building, we were unable to incorporate an elevator but we feel that once you are up the stairs, our guests appreciate our fully renovated rooms that maintain their historical charm. Being in the midst of the entertainment district, as you noted in your review, we are pleased to offer a 10% discount on one night's accomodation if one attends one of the 45 entertainment venues in the Quartier des Spectacles.....there is always a show that is sure to please. Hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is located on the second and third floors of an older walkup building. The paint and reno is pretty fresh and everything seemed clean and worked. The location is very central but is in a rougher section with a sex shop occupying the main floor of the building. Don't let this put you off, the area seemed very safe, and is bustling and active. The breakfast is served at a cafe across the street with everything being very fresh and healthy. If you are looking for an economical, clean, centrally located location it would be hard to find a better spot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diverguy106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

For the price, location, and quality of rooms it doesn't get any better than this. New hardwood in the room, no carpet! A minute walk to the metro, bars, clubs, concerts, and any of the numerous festivals that Montreal is known for. Breakfast was across the street at Le Commensal, which was probably the healthiest stuff I ate during my trip and a great way to start the day. I found the staff very friendly, and they truly wanted to make sure your stay as great as it could be. Carole, the owner, was especially good to us, and went above and beyond in solving an issue with our reservation.

I will definitely be back, even if I have to pay full price. Totally worth it.

Room Tip: The stairs are no big deal if your a light and able bodied traveler. South west corer rooms have lot...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thanks for the review. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

From the time I walked in to the time I left the service was incredible. Staff allowed me to access internet for free. They suggested places to go whilst in Montreal. The rooms are brand new with polished floor boards and the showers are like being on the bridge of the Enterprise. The only negative and that was small were the curtains. They were only 1 thickness, thus when the sun came up it , it really came in the room. I informed them of this and they are in the process of changing the curtains so the rooms will remain dark in the morning.Overall wonderful service and location. I will be definitely staying there again the next time I'm in Montreal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We appreciate your recommendation and are pleased that you had a fantastic stay in Montreal. We are very proud of the cleanliness of our rooms and will pass on your positive comments to our very hardworking cleaning staff. We are putting the final touches in the new section of our hotel and are presently changing the drapes for complete blackout. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#85 of 165 in Montreal
581 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
687 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 165 in Montreal
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#51 of 165 in Montreal
554 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#75 of 165 in Montreal
273 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quartier des Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $55 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing