We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Montreal Diner”

La Binerie Mont Royal
Ranked #187 of 5,711 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
oshawa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classic Montreal Diner”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Want a true diner experience without the froo froo and airs? well that's what you get at La Binerie, quaint authentic food, homemade pea or onion soup, great prices and wholesome hearty food...nothing fancy just good grub!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pestoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for local culture”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This restaurant was the subject of a french canadian book and a movie : "Le matou". It's a tiny breakfast and lunch place that carries the typical french canadian fare "d'époque". You can have cretons, pâté chinois (don't ask why...), tourtière, ragoût and the specialty: Fèves au lard. This was my favorite, I bought a "to-go" dish and wasn't disapointed. Cholesterol freaks: walk by and avoid the place!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Quebecois home cooking, and magnificent value”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Good basic Quebec home cooking, at a great value. This will become a regular place for me when I am in Montreal which I am often ! I am anxious now to try even more of their menu items. It is NOT fancy, it has not been refurbished in perhaps 20-30 years. But I go for the food not the decor! And the food was great, good portions, quality preparation, and served very hot. I will be a regular at this little place !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A must for any visit to Montreal”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

On the recommendation of a local citizen we went for Saturday lunch. A compact, casual resto offering attentive, efficient service with a maternal slant and friendly engagement. Traditional, tasty and satisfying home-made French Canadian 'comfort' food, for breakfast and lunch. We chose the specialities 'tortiere' (meat pie) and 'pate chinoise' (meat and sweetcorn topped with mashed potato). All food prepared from scratch. You are offered the 'plate' of your choice or the 'menu' - $2 dollars more for plate plus soup and dessert. Excellent value - filling but quantities are well judged - no sign of obesity amongst the thirty plus reverent regulars lining the bar and sitting at the wall tables! A contented, cosy atmosphere. Customers show consideration to those waiting by moving on when finished, probably relaxed in the knowledge that it won't be long till their next visit!
Overall, satisfying, straightforward, characterful and unpretentious in all respects; what you see is what you get.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank jockswithoutkilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
193 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Its about the beans”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We dropped in on our way home to pick up supplies. A container of feves au lard (beans) and a Tortiere. Th e beans came with very explicit instruction on how to warm them and how NOT to microwave them. We just had them for supper and WOW they are better than I remember and without any 'lardy' overtones. Boston beans in tomato sauce and Heinz beans are sad comparisons.

This is a true counter diner if you come to eat with no Food Network glamour. A unique Montreal institution

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Binerie Mont Royal also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to La Binerie Mont Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing