We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel”
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chez Swann
Ranked #62 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is very well located in downtown Montreal. Right on Drummond st, two blocks away from Sainte-Catherine st, of walking distance to many shops, bars and restaurants.

We loved the cool and trendy rooms - the decoration is far from your usual average hotel room and therefore refreshingly different. We absolutely loved the spacious shower. It's a cool place!

Reception in the lobby was far from the warmest I've had, but at least it was polite. Let's just say I've had places where they made me feel way more appreciated as a guest. I'd probably still go back though, having liked the rooms and location.

I definitely recommend it for young couples or friends, but probably not for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 493 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a pleasant surprise it was to discover this little pearl! It is a small but a cozy place to come to. Rooms are spacious, unique in style, with comfortable beds and nice showers. Separate thank you for the staff. Always helpful and polite, Renat was the best! Will we come back? Most certainly yes!

Room Tip: Check out the Poi Penche restaurant menu next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renat K, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value your feedback, as it allows us to constantly apply our efforts in order to perfection all aspects of our performance. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the unique design of our rooms and would like to come back to us again. We will be looking forward to seeing you soon at the Hotel Chez Swann.
Truthfully yours,

R. Kotdus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

First the good: The location in Centreville is good for shopping & eating and walking distance to plenty of points of interest. We stayed in a Junior Suite. Although it was more junior than suite, it was was a decent sized room with a big comfortable bed, good linen, free wifi, great bathroom and stimulating furnishings and finishes. However it was also quite bare. No minbar. Only a couple of hangers in a small closet. Suitcase had to go on the floor. No iron or ironing board. No tea or coffee. No glasses to drink from.

Then the rest: Check-in. We arrived around noon, knowing that checkin time was a bit later. However we were simply told to leave our bags and come back. Not even a cursory offer to see if a room was already available.

We came back at 3 as instructed and it took half an hour before the helpful, but overworked and under-resourced guy on reception could a) check if a room was ready. b) deal with a ringing phone. c) find a key to get our luggage out of the storage room. Meanwhile a more senior colleague walked straight past us and the overworked front desk guy without eye contact and shut herself in the back office. Not cool. If 3:00 is check in time, why only have one person manning the front desk?

Negative impressions continued upon reaching our floor: housekeeping had left bags of laundry in the corridor and a mop propped against a wall. Housekeeping were also very loud in the morning, constantly letting a door slam close to our room. There was also noise for much of the night from an adjacent club so as good as the rooms look, they're not great for sleeping in.

I'll be back in Montreal later in the year. As much as I like hotels with character and edgy design, my experience at Chez Swann was lacking so I'll be looking for a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ByronMagik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renat K, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We would like to assure you of our close attention to your remarks and suggestions. There is always room for perfection and this is our ultimate goal. I dare to hope that your next stay at the Hotel Chez Swann will exceed your expectations.
Thanking you again, please accept our best regards.

Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Hotel Chez Swann wasn't as good this time as last, but it wasn't the hotel's fault. There was a roomful of guys down the hall from me smoking and drinking outside their room one night and that was a bit unpleasant. Otherwise this is still an very good property in a fantastic location. I've had a different shaped room each visit. This time it was a smaller suite with a large bay window and steps from the bathroom into the bedroom area. Be careful of this room if you're a senior or unsteady in the middle of the night when visiting the bathroom. There are tiny lights that illuminate the steps, but they're bright enough that you'll want to shut them off at night. Breakfast is included in the price, with food served in the fun restaurant Le Pois Penche downstairs. The weekday host is very friendly, and they still have the amazing fig and almond jam. I also appreciated the number of free bottles of water that housekeeping left in the room each day…a nice touch during the hot Montreal summer. On this visit I wanted to see an exhibit at the excellent Musee des beaux-arts de Montreal, and the hotel is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeymaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel it is one of our favorite places to stay. The front desk gentleman was very helpful and provided excellent service. We are already planning our next stay,it is a great location and very romantic.
We have stayed at dozens of hotels in Montreal this one is number one!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you aren't interested in amenities, this hotel is really cool. Very swanky and the rooms are modern and fun. You cannot beat the location! One block from all the main streets and only a 30 minute walk to Old Monteal.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 303. They must unload the glass recycles in the ally right on the other side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Swann in Montreal May 9th - 11th and we absolutely loved it. Loved the location for shopping. The rooms are very well kept and super clean! We had a Groupon deal so the price was unbeatable!! Lovely hotel!! The staff was very nice. Would certainly recommend it to my friends! ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 166 in Montreal
751 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Mount Stephen
Le Mount Stephen
#30 of 166 in Montreal
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#20 of 166 in Montreal
2,798 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#22 of 166 in Montreal
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $112 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Swann 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing