We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chez Swann
Ranked #62 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert. Payed around $200 for the night. The place is nicely decorated and the staff are great, but we wouldn't stay here again. First, parking is a nightmare. I'm not even sure where the actual lot is, because we got confused and parked in the wrong lot. I think it's about half a block away. The room we had was small. No window to the outside. The bathroom was a nightmare for 2 girls to get ready in. No sink space for cosmetics. A couple lights didn't work. One of them being in the entrance where the full length mirror is. There was no coffee maker or anything extra. Breakfast was included but we didn't make it down in time. They did include bottled water free of charge which was a bonus. Overall, this is a nice looking, clean hotel, but not worth the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank earthgurlsreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment concerning your stay at the Hotel Chez Swann. Excellent service is what we would like to be known for, therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve upon our services.
Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies regarding the light issue. Rest assure that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem with our engineer in order to prevent any future occurrence.
The size of the room you booked was a standard room and it is approximatively 300 sq.ft. Should you prefer a larger room, it will be our pleasure to reserve a junior suite ( approximatively 380 sq.ft) or a Suite (approximatively 440 sq.ft) for your next stay with us at the best available rate. All our suite have city view.
Also, we are glad to inform you that we are in the process of installing coffee makers in every room.
To conclude, regarding the parking, as we explain upon the check in , we do not have an onsite hotel parking, but, you were right, we do suggest a secure parking a half block down the street.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you soon at the Hotel Chez Swann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 489 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

When I arrived for a (really late) check-in, it turns out that my travel agency (United Mileage Plus, but that's another story) booked me for the wrong date. No problem! The man at the desk rebooked everything, called up the agency and got me a room, all without me having to lift a finger. Fantastic!

The hotel is a small boutique hotel and the room is funky, but great! The bed was in the middle of the room, there was a great bay window with pillows overlooking the street, and the shower had a special viewing feature that made our night!

Next time I am in Montreal I will be staying here. Period.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Our relationship with our guests is of utmost importance to us.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming your back very soon at the Hotel Chez Swann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and had the most romantic visit. The bed was large and comfortable, with an amazing multi-jet shower that was visible from the bedroom, almost as if it were a stage. It was gorgeous. The bathroom was huge and stocked with lovely products.

The hotel itself has a great location but is a little hard to spot from the street, as there is no real signage outside. Love the boutique hotel feeling, but it is a touch on the pretentious side. However, the staff was generally helpful and fairly cheerful.

There is an attached restaurant that I don't really care for, the service there was standoffish and the food was not great and totally overpriced (though the decor is gorgeous). That was a major disappointment.

One minus is that the rooms don't seem to be incredibly soundproof and the window in our room was tiny, so the room tended to be a little dark, but neither issue was a deal breaker.

Overall, I love this hotel, it is a great value and offers a romantic escape from the bustle of Montreal. I would love to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinpeakslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Hotel Chez Swann might be a bit easy to miss as it sits on a side street with a bit of a subtle entrance. But this mini-hotel has great features that make it much more appealing than a generic chain hotel. The staff is super-friendly and the space is whimsical but practical. The rooms are generous and well decorated. The bathroom is particularly nice with a huge multi-head shower. The bed is comfortable. The hotel offers free WiFi and free domestic and US direct dial phone service. They also have a modest but nice continental breakfast in a pleasant restaurant space next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just back from a wonderful stay in Montreal at the incomparable Chez Swann. Gorgeous hotel with a sexy boutique vibe. Comfortable bedding and an incredible shower made for the perfect crash space at the end of a day of exploring and wandering. The concierge, Herman, was an absolute gem who was always helpful and pleasant and genuine and who directed us to the best that this wonderful city has to offer. I have stayed in a number of hotels world wide but few measure up to the experience of Chez Swann. 5 stars!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms were quiet but some have skylights so don't forget a sleeping mask if the light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is very new and stylish: it seems a "stylist boutique"; the room was great (even if I booked the standard room): the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The shower is the top (try it!!).
Breakfast was quite small, but overall good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very individual style (you hate or love it) and very friendly staff. in the mid of town, very central located. Actual there is work in progress in the neighbourhood. Therefore a bit noisy during daytimes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Floth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau Versailles
Chateau Versailles
#66 of 165 in Montreal
570 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Mount Stephen
Le Mount Stephen
#36 of 165 in Montreal
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,299 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $127 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Swann 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing