We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chez Swann
Ranked #60 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a really nice Boutique Hotel and the location is perfect. Staff is friendly, room and bathroom very clean. The design of the room/bathroom is very nice and I love the floors. I can't stand carpet in hotels and here you find hard surfaces which are more hygienic (and better looking). The Continental Breakfast is very good and plenty. You are close to several Metro entrance/exits and close to shopping and dining.

Only down side: It's kind of loud. Our neighbors woke us up every night. You can hear them walk, caugh, hanging up clothes. Also you can here the music from a bar downstairs until they close.

Besides that though, I really recommend this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 481 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Chez Swann for the second time last week and I enjoyed it even more than the first time. I had a suite this visit with an enormous bay window overlooking Rue Drummond and de Maisonneuve. The room was huge, with a comfortable bed and a shower built for two. The housekeeping staff were very friendly, and the front desk staff excellent, particularly Reza who seemed to really care that we had a good visit - not only to the hotel, but to Montreal. The location is excellent with great shopping all around the neighbourhood. My favourite department store - Ogilvy - is minutes away, and Simons, another excellent place to shop is a hidden gem down the block. There was a delicious burger place across the street called M:Burger, and a fantastic chocolate shop called Suite 88, also across the street. The Montreal Metro is a block away. Cab drivers may have difficulty finding the property...tell them it's attached to the delicious bistro called Le Pois Penche at the corner of Drummond and de Maisonneuve (which still has the best fig jam at breakfast). I will return!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have skylights...terrific as long as you don't want to get up too early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeymaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights on the second floor as a solo traveller visiting a friend in town. The room was an excellent size, the bed was enormous, the bathroom very spacious. The location is great for all downtown activities and close to the metro for connections anywhere in town. Reception was friendly when I checked in, but I didn't have much else interaction with them for the rest of my stay. In terms of downsides - could hear some 'activities' in other rooms and people walking in corridors (not a deal breaker); a bit of street noise (but I am used to this, as I live inner city, could be a problem for you if you need silence to sleep); the room could have benefited from another lamp (black floors with black furniture, etc a bit dark!). There were 3 steps in my room - I guess it was my fault but I hurt myself by slipping down the (lacquered) stairs in socks, so just watch out!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidaroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just got back from a 1-night getaway in downtown Montreal. This hotel provides exactly what you would expect from a non-branded hotel. It is clean, comfortable and the staff is very helpful. It does not offer all the services of a Hilton resort but they don't claim to. It is a very funky boutique property in the heart of downtown Montreal. We had one of the larger suites on the third floor and it was very comfortable. Had a pleasant stay.

There are a number of pro's to the property:

- It's fun, different, funky and modern
- great location to get in some shopping, movie and dinner
- easy enough to park (no direct access to the hotel)
- Very comfortable bed and bathroom amenities - clean modern and large
- all the little extras are supplied - fancy soaps, bathrobe and slippers
- Hard wood floors are always nice!

There are are few small negatives/cons:

- The building is old and has been converted into a hotel; therefore, the insulation and soundproofing are not the best. You can hear other customers in the halls. Not a big deal. Being low to the ground and the street action, means that the weekends can be a little on the loud side. We did have fire engines scream by on a few occasions and there was quite a bit of horn honking at night. In their defence, it is Saturday in the city. I am usually very sensitive to this and it was not a major issue. I expected it going in.
- The heat was on high but never seemed to max out. This could be an issue in the heart of Winter. I can't say for sure. The bedding is very comfortable and they supply a great duvet to keep you toasty warm. Again, no real problem.

Go ahead, you'll have fun!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior view and away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My fiance and I just returned from Montreal, where we spent three nights at Hotel Chez Swann. The primary highlight of this hotel is how great the front desk staff are. On our first night the music from the restaurant downstairs was loud in our room so they changed our room, after asking the restaurant to lower the music to little avail. The next day the manager said he was going to speak with the restaurant, so hopefully that will not continue. Additionally, they had suggestions for restaurants and activities, and when my fiance became ill, they assisted with finding a nice clean hospital (he's fine now!). They were also genuinely concerned about him, and inquired about his health afterwards. I was very glad that we stayed at such a small place where the staff actually knew who we were, what room we were in, and what we needed.

The decor is funky, the double shower is a neat feature, although on one of the two we couldn't adjust the temperature control, the location is central and within two blocks of the metro, and although in our second room our window only looked into the foyer, the room was very quiet. Who goes to Montreal to look out the window anyway? We also enjoyed the breakfast each morning, which was a nice selection of fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt and juice. It was just right to get us going and allow us to enjoy the truly wonderful restaurants the city has to offer. A big thank you to the staff, they made our stay quite pleasant and enjoyable despite a day spent at Royal Victoria Hospital.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Maissoneuve have a little street noise, and as mentioned, we heard the music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

It is a great compliment that you found our staff thoughtful and attentive - it is definitely one of the key advantages of a boutique hotel and we are happy we could be of assistance to you and your fiancé during your stay regarding different matters. We are also glad that you liked the room you had been moved to and we do hope to see you soon again at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at Hotel Chez Swann for a weekend getaway. We like to stay in different hotels everywhere we travel. We have not stayed in a " boutique " hotel before so we have nothing to compare it to. However, I'm still not sure how anyone could give this hotel a 5 star rating. Check in was quick and the staff were friendly, but when we arrived we were highly disappointed in the size of the room. It was very tiny, but we had no control over that considering we booked through hotels.com. We were in room 201, it is on the second floor. There was a lot of construction at the time so it was very noisy. There is also an air conditioning duct behind one of the walls that made loud rumbling noises our whole trip. We weren't completely aware of what a boutique hotel was until after it was booked. There are only about 23 rooms in this hotel, some of which are very small. There are no amenities like a regular hotel ( no mini bar, fridge, coffee maker, swimming pool, lounge, etc. ) There is a restaurant next door, but we didn't bother trying it. It is in a good location, very close to St. Catherine street but we will not stay at this hotel again or another boutique for that matter. It's definitely not our style.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your first experience in a Boutique hotel was unsatisfactory. We do welcome any of our guests' questions or inquiries so if you aren't sure about features or services in the hotel you may call the Front Desk at any time before or after reserving through your agent. The size of the rooms in the hotel differs according to a person's needs as well as the purpose of their stay. We are truly sorry about the construction noise, unfortunately we do not get a notice if there is work to be done in our area and we regret that it disrupted your stay. As for the air-conditioning, we understand that the noise may be uncomfortable and we try our best to resolve any complaint that is brought to our attention during your stay to make our guests more comfortable. As Hotel Chez Swann is still considerably young, about 2 years, we are still working on improving the room amenities such as mini-bar fridge, coffee maker and others. We offer the services of our French Brasserie le Pois Penché and its lovely bar for the lounge purposes, we hope that even if you don't wish to return to the hotel you may still try their cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in The Swann in November, for one night. From the minute we walked into the lobby, we knew this hotel was going to be different from anything we've experienced before. The entrance itself is very unpretentious, the lighting is subdued, the furniture is minimal and the front desk is made out of tree trunks. It's really different.
We had a wonderful room with very large windows looking out onto Rue Drummond. One of the windows had a window seat that had to be about 7 feet long. It was really amazing! The decor in the room is also minimal, but it has everything you would need...flat screen t.v., ipod dock, desk, reading chair, great bed with nice linens and comfy pillows. The bathroom is great and the double shower was really nice! Everything is very up to date in terms of high tech amenities.
You can tell that this is a newer hotel.
You really can't beat the location of this hotel. It is right downtown and Montreal is an incredible walking city, so this puts you right in the middle of everything. You are close to great shopping, great restaurants and many museums.
It's a great starting point!
If you stay in the room that we stayed in or any room facing Drummond, I'm sure you will be very happy with your decision.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 209 and I would highly recommend this room. The huge windows look out onto Drummo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKEVERYDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne N, General Manager at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We are very content that you found the room visually pleasant and that it suited all your needs. All our Suites (Mondaine) have the same features and amenities but their location in the hotel is slightly different and if you would rather not have the steps that separate the living area from the bathroom you may advise us upon reserving and we will gladly advise you a Suite that will not have any. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#11 of 165 in Montreal
727 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Renaissance Montreal Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Mount Stephen
Le Mount Stephen
#49 of 165 in Montreal
56 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $155 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Swann 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing