We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed...”
Review of Komiko

Komiko
Ranked #3,787 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Quartier des Spectacles
Description: Komiko serves both traditional and creative Japanese food, provides a calm, refreshing ambiance for customers to enjoy a quality evening with friends and families.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed...”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I had 'All you can eat' dinner with my family. Just walked in the restaurant, dining area was very smoky. It seems there's problem with venting system in the kitchen. the dining experience was very painful. my eyes were so itchy and my son didn't stop rubbing his eyes. Food was average. Service was not really friendly. We had to rush to finish and get out of the restaurant because of the smoke and smell. I'm not going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sesame480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    7
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Food average. Very noisy. Service is poor and disorganized. Toilets dirty. Not hard to find better elsewhere...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dangil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very good sushi, good service, just got nickle and dimed”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

the service at this all you can eat sushi is very good, also I found that the sushi tasted very good, it was all a very good experience except for the checkout. ill explain later. I just wanted to add that even though we didn't write some of the things on the paper we just asked the waiter or waitress and they brought it out at the same time. the restaurant itself was very nice and lots of room, the only thing I could knock on is the trip to the bathroom, it does look kind of ghetto.

now to the checkout, I bought a groupon which stated that it was 20$ for two people for all you can eat sushi, then they said that it is only a credit of 40$ and that night the price was 26 or 27$ each. I wasn't the only one that brought this up other clients also mentioned this. I would have to say that this little action at the end really killed the rating for this, or else it would have been a 4 or even a 5.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndonville, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, interesting presentation”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Not a huge selection, but what they do have is consistently good. They get creative with the rolls, but do try some of the sashimi... the white tuna is excellent.
If you order the large sake, make sure you have a designated driver. Sure looked like a 2L bottle! :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So many better sushi places in the city”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We went for dinner with a friend who bought a groupon or living social coupon .I am not sure either way it was still not worth it. The rice was under cooked ,the specialty items such as sushi pizza was not even slightly warm,as well all of the tempura items were ice cold!(leaving a heavy greasy taste)
Sashimi smelled fishy (concerned about freshness)
Service was friendly and polite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael_cruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komiko also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Komiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing