We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Ranked #86 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Bed bugs. 2 separate rooms we went into. One had baby larvae bed bugs, the second room (a dormitory with a bunk bed and another single bed...great for a couple) was infested with full on bed bugs, all over the box springs crawling around and everything.

Staff were useless, didn't seem to care in the slightest that we found BED BUGS...where is that acceptable?! Supervisor on duty on the evening shift said we had 10 minutes before he leaves or we have to pay. So we had no choice. We PAID to stay 5 minutes in a bed bug infested hotel room.

We were refunded the following day, but the manager was like "whoops, sorry" and didn't offer anything in consolation other than financial return. We wasted our ENTIRE night with the craziness they put us through from the first room to the second room. We deserved more than what we would've had to pay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaRG, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please be advised that we have taken this feedback very seriously and have addressed your concern internally.

We apologize for the inconvenience this problem might have caused. We strive ourselves to give our costumers the best quality of services.


We appreciate your feedback and are continuously working to improve our services.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    337
    344
    172
    174
See reviews for
212
314
127
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

First of all, the location is very good, short walk to the old town, port, etc. Very small room, and very tiny shower in the bathroom. Rooms are clean. Staff very friendly. They do not have enough parking places for all the guests. You might be asked to park across the street in the shopping center. But in the end it was cheaper ( $10 for 24 hrs) than parking in the hotel. In overall good hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvetaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaRG, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest;

We would like to thank you for your taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the fact that you are sharing your comments with the community on trip advisor.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for four nights while attending a conference near McGill U. Room was small but tidy and comfortable. Shower is quite small, as on a cruise ship. Complimentary breakfast was fine, if high on carbohydrates (no eggs and bacon, unfortunately). Location is EXCELLENT- the airport 747 bus ($8) stops in front, and nearest metro station is three blocks. A large IGA supermarket is across the street, and a bit farther is a shopping complex- Desjardins- with a huge food court. Hotel is right next to Montreal's small Chinatown. Many attractions such as museums, theaters, historic churches, etc. within one mile.There was a huge nighttime street festival going on a few blocks away during my stay with vendors, performers, etc., and many, many sidewalk restaurants and cafes throughout downtown. What a great, low-crime city- I hope to return with my wife for a vacation next spring or summer and would certainly stay at this Travelodge. Also enjoyed cooler temperatures than northern Virginia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skg1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaRG, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to highlight all of our stronger points for other visitors to see. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate very much that you are sharing your thoughts and comments with the trip advisor community .
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family or friends back in the near future.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tiny shower in small bathroom, good bedding in adequate room. On the edge of Chinatown where there are many reasonably priced restaurants. Also close to some very seedy parts.
Within walking distance of of historic old Port of Montreal.
Airport Bus (747) stops almost outside. Adequate breakfast.
If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room could be a good reasonably priced option.
Want $100 room deposit (for one night) - if you sign a credit card slip you won't get any proof on check out that it has been cancelled.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schemers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the fact that you are sharing your thoughts with the community on trip advisor.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My Wife and I booked 2 nights at the Hotel Travelodge as we would be in Montreal for the 2012 Jazz Festival.When we checked the address we realised that the hotel was located within walking distance from St Catherines St where the Jazz Festival was.I checked out the hotel on their website and the rooms looked ok in the photos and it came with a complimentary breakfast. [WHICH WAS NOT EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED EITHER]Since we would only be there for 2 nights how bad could it be ?
The nightmare began on arrival.Even though we had reservations we still had a 20 minute wait to check in.I had indicated in my on line reservation that i would like an onsite parking spot for the 2 nights. We were almost not allowed to park on site as we heard the desk staff was advising guests that they would have to park blocks away.If it was not for the guest ahead of us who demanded that she park on site as she said she had reserved a spot we would not have been given a parking spot either.Well it gets worse, we were assigned to a room on the 7th floor facing the street.After parking our car and heading up to our "room"we found the smallest hotel room in North America.
When we opened the room door it swung in and came to a stop against the bed frame.This room could not be more than a large broom closet.The stand up shower was so small that you could not turn around in it,definitely not for any average sized North American to use.The bed had about 12 inches of space between it and the wall on one side.The rack to hang your clothes was about 24 inches wide with 6 hangers.The A/C was loud and kept us up at night.The worst part of this was we paid $126.00 plus local taxes per night.This place should not be clasified as a HOTEL.May it should be classed as a HOSTEL or Student Dorm.
One of the worst hotels i've stayed at so far.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GUY-CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that our European style hotel rooms did not meet your expectations .We certainly regret the fact that you did not advise us of any problems during your stay. Please, note that we take great pride and work very hard to maintain our standards of cleanliness, and service.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is very strategically located in downtown montreal and is very accessible. It boasts of being near very many ancient tourist attractions. It is in a quiet environment, with very many Chinese restaurants in the vicinity. The continental breakfast is not so perfect but will definitely do. The rooms are small but cozy and also very clean. The staff are very welcoming and are helpful in every professional way. Looking for a hotel, Hotel Travelodge is one you should check out

Room Tip: Rooms on the eleventh floor are probably the best, being new and also a little more spacious. Any l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjokwalinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your great review. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the fact that you are sharing your thoughts and comments with the community on trip advisor.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location to visit Montreal's main attractions by foot. We stayed there, because my brother has a dog and there they allow pets in the rooms.
The breakfast was quite nice, with several pastries and juices in the buffet table. It was quite difficult (but not impossible) to get a table in the restaurant area, because in the hotel stayed one big group of students.
The reception area looked very modern and even luxurious, nothing in comparison with the rooms. Our room for three people was quite small, but enough space to sleep everyone in their bed ;) The bathroom was tiny, but again enough space to have a nice shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you indeed for sharing your opinion with the public on trip advisor. We are really looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#74 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Chinatown
Holiday Inn Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#71 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#49 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Quality Hotel & Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre

Property: Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Address: 50 Boul Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Montreal Center is located in the heart of the downtown area, and and just steps away from: Place des Arts Complexe, Desjardins shopping mall, Quartier des Spectacles, Chinatown, Quartier international (business district), Convention center, Old Montreal Restaurants and boutiques in Saint Laurent boulevard and St Catherine street, BIXI network (self-serve bicycle service), Place des Arts, Metro station. Easy access to highways. The hotel features 244 small European styles rooms but clean to perfection. We offer free continental buffet breakfast and WIFI. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Our front desk staff is on hand around the clock to help you get the most out of your Montreal vacation. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Montreal Centre Hotel Montreal
Montreal Travel Lodge
Montreal Travelodge
Travel Lodge Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing