We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to Chinatown & Airport bus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Ranked #84 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient to Chinatown & Airport bus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Tiny shower in small bathroom, good bedding in adequate room. On the edge of Chinatown where there are many reasonably priced restaurants. Also close to some very seedy parts.
Within walking distance of of historic old Port of Montreal.
Airport Bus (747) stops almost outside. Adequate breakfast.
If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room could be a good reasonably priced option.
Want $100 room deposit (for one night) - if you sign a credit card slip you won't get any proof on check out that it has been cancelled.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schemers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the fact that you are sharing your thoughts with the community on trip advisor.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    338
    346
    172
    175
See reviews for
212
315
128
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My Wife and I booked 2 nights at the Hotel Travelodge as we would be in Montreal for the 2012 Jazz Festival.When we checked the address we realised that the hotel was located within walking distance from St Catherines St where the Jazz Festival was.I checked out the hotel on their website and the rooms looked ok in the photos and it came with a complimentary breakfast. [WHICH WAS NOT EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED EITHER]Since we would only be there for 2 nights how bad could it be ?
The nightmare began on arrival.Even though we had reservations we still had a 20 minute wait to check in.I had indicated in my on line reservation that i would like an onsite parking spot for the 2 nights. We were almost not allowed to park on site as we heard the desk staff was advising guests that they would have to park blocks away.If it was not for the guest ahead of us who demanded that she park on site as she said she had reserved a spot we would not have been given a parking spot either.Well it gets worse, we were assigned to a room on the 7th floor facing the street.After parking our car and heading up to our "room"we found the smallest hotel room in North America.
When we opened the room door it swung in and came to a stop against the bed frame.This room could not be more than a large broom closet.The stand up shower was so small that you could not turn around in it,definitely not for any average sized North American to use.The bed had about 12 inches of space between it and the wall on one side.The rack to hang your clothes was about 24 inches wide with 6 hangers.The A/C was loud and kept us up at night.The worst part of this was we paid $126.00 plus local taxes per night.This place should not be clasified as a HOTEL.May it should be classed as a HOSTEL or Student Dorm.
One of the worst hotels i've stayed at so far.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GUY-CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that our European style hotel rooms did not meet your expectations .We certainly regret the fact that you did not advise us of any problems during your stay. Please, note that we take great pride and work very hard to maintain our standards of cleanliness, and service.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is very strategically located in downtown montreal and is very accessible. It boasts of being near very many ancient tourist attractions. It is in a quiet environment, with very many Chinese restaurants in the vicinity. The continental breakfast is not so perfect but will definitely do. The rooms are small but cozy and also very clean. The staff are very welcoming and are helpful in every professional way. Looking for a hotel, Hotel Travelodge is one you should check out

Room Tip: Rooms on the eleventh floor are probably the best, being new and also a little more spacious. Any l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjokwalinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your great review. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the fact that you are sharing your thoughts and comments with the community on trip advisor.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location to visit Montreal's main attractions by foot. We stayed there, because my brother has a dog and there they allow pets in the rooms.
The breakfast was quite nice, with several pastries and juices in the buffet table. It was quite difficult (but not impossible) to get a table in the restaurant area, because in the hotel stayed one big group of students.
The reception area looked very modern and even luxurious, nothing in comparison with the rooms. Our room for three people was quite small, but enough space to sleep everyone in their bed ;) The bathroom was tiny, but again enough space to have a nice shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you indeed for sharing your opinion with the public on trip advisor. We are really looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito, Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very conveniently located and is a good option if you are in town on business and wish to avoid the very high prices as the other nearby hotels charge. The rooms are small, yes, so keep this in mind as some may prefer larger rooms. To us, they were "cozy" and no complaints here. There are many places within walking distance and if you are flying in, you can catch a bus at the airport which has a stop practically in front of the hotel. Take the 747 bus, which is clearly marked in the airport ( but buy your bus ticket at a vending machine *before* you board ) and get off at "Stop # 8". The convention center is very close, and the waterfront and Bascilica just a short walk. We stayed 5 nights and because of the lower cost, we were able to stay longer than planned and got to spend more time exploring this very beautiful city and interact with its very friendly people. First impression wasn't the greatest, but we're glad we chose to stay here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the fact that you are sharing your thoughts with the community on trip advisor.

We are really looking forward to welcome you back .Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is situated next to Chinatown, and a short walk to Notre Dame Basilica Ste-Catherine's and the Village. My room, for which I paid a slightly higher premium, had a double and a sofa bed and was on the small side but very clean and comfortable. Most of the rooms only have twin beds and bunks. The bathroom was also small and the shower may present problems for bigger individuals. I was very satisfied with the WIFI in the room. The complimentary breakfast was European style. I happened to go when many of the guests were there and one had difficulty finding dishes and cups. The young staff appeared overwhelmed but worked feverously to clean tables and satisfy the guests.
I like the location, amenities and comfort of this property and have already reserved for a return in two months.

Room Tip: There are numerous restaurants in the area and a grocery store directly across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the fact that you are sharing your thoughts with the community on trip advisor.
We are really looking forward to welcome you back .Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

purchased one dealfind voucher of $69. for a room which originally is $138. However if I had a redo wouldn't even pay a penny for the room we got, First and most important, it was 38degree celcius outside and we had a room with broken air conditionner, the room smelled of mildew, no operating windows to open. When we checked in, the gentleman asked if we wanted one double bed or two single beds. My husband advised him that we were a couple and would appreciate one bed, but we got a room which was maximum 12'x8', two single beds not even side by side. We assume once he noticed that it was a deal find purchase we were given a room equal value to the price of the deal. When we advised them about the broken air conditionner, they sent a gentleman but no real progress was made, then when we asked to change room we were told they had nothing else available... I do not recommend this hotel as a dealfind and would definitely not pay full price for one of their rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nodealfound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We are certainly disappointed that our hotel did not meet your expectations . Please, note that we take great pride to maintain our standards of cleanliness, and great service.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Chinatown
Holiday Inn Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#52 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre

Property: Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Address: 50 Boul Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Montreal Center is located in the heart of the downtown area, and and just steps away from: Place des Arts Complexe, Desjardins shopping mall, Quartier des Spectacles, Chinatown, Quartier international (business district), Convention center, Old Montreal Restaurants and boutiques in Saint Laurent boulevard and St Catherine street, BIXI network (self-serve bicycle service), Place des Arts, Metro station. Easy access to highways. The hotel features 244 small European styles rooms but clean to perfection. We offer free continental buffet breakfast and WIFI. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Our front desk staff is on hand around the clock to help you get the most out of your Montreal vacation. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Montreal Centre Hotel Montreal
Montreal Travel Lodge
Montreal Travelodge
Travel Lodge Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing