We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar
Ranked #117 of 5,682 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: Popular Espresso Bar, serves up freshly baked croissants, chocolatines etc, breakfast egg sandwiches, good selection of panini and salad combos, and of course the best espresso around!
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

What a great cafe! It's small, but not only was everything we tried first class, but the people were very nice as well. We did not realize we needed to pay when ordering, they never said a word. In the end, when I went to pay, there was no place for an electronic tip. I was told not to worry, as long as I was happy with their food. Absolutely gracious hosts, from beginning till end.

The sandwiches were excellent. The toasted bread was perfectly done, the salad was simple but fresh and tasty. My tea was so good it was the first time I did not feel the need to put sugar in it. My wife also enjoyed her cappuccino.

We hope to return. They close at 4 instead of 5 on Sundays, so we missed them today.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Twain_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    61
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Italian coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

If you are in the old town of Montreal and you want a real espresso, this is the place! The menu looks like Starbuck's but it's the real thing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent little spot to eat lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly people and clean. The ciabatta with prosciutto was really good and tasty . All sorts of coffee we opted for cappuccino and it did not disappoint. Go to this little cafe very good

Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ideal Lunch Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stopped here for a lunch one afternoon while in Montreal – and we were not disappointed. Located just off a busy tourist area of Old Montreal, the café is quiet and welcoming! The staff was very friendly and we all enjoyed our lunch of tasty sandwiches, tuna wraps and salads. The place was busy with locals coming for take outs. After finishing our meal, we also ordered more wraps to take back with us to our apartment for dinner – it is not easy to find a good, reasonably prices place to eat while staying in the Old Montreal area.

Next time in Montreal, we will definitely be back for another wonderful lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank opgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Terrific lattes and hot chocolate; we went back for sandwiches, which were also very good. Lovely indie space (esp. Compared with Starbucks and the like).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMark967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Espace Cafe & Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing