We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for a short visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville
Ranked #115 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Lewiston, Maine, USA
1 review
“A great place for a short visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2007

Although my wife and I were a bit hesitant to book at this hotel because of some of the reviews, we wanted to be able to spend more money in the city than on lodgings so we booked two nights. It was economical, close to both the Old City and the Latin Quarter where we had tickets to a special concert, and easy to find (we are not yet well-acclimated to Montreal). We DID choose to park inside and to upgrade the room to a suite with King bed and microwave due to the safety factor and our own needs.

First of all, we found the staff helpful, gracious, prompt and very forthcoming with information and tips on how to enjoy Montreal to its fullest. Second, the hotel truly was amazingly easy to get to from Route 10 (coming from New England) - take 10 to the end in the center of the city, find Boulevard Rene Levesque, take a right, go down 12 blocks and it's right there! Third, walking toward the water gets you to the Old City and the Old Port in about 10 minutes; ditto for the Latin Quarter north and several other advantageous attractions. And finally the rooms! We somehow got a conference room attached to our suite, fine for stretching out and I can imagine conducting a small conference comfortably there. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the bathroom was immaculate and spectacular in every way, air conditioner units kept our rooms exceptionally comfortable and the location of our room, close to but not ON Rene Levesque, allowed for a little traffic noise but not enough to disturb us. The room was one of the refurbished suites and soundproofing and comfort level overall was amazing - and the chambermaid cleaned up the room well into the afternoon for us.

For $300CAN total, we were extremely satisfied and will stay there again for every one of the above reasons. The next time, though, we'll be staying for an entire week!

  • Liked — Economical, easy to get to and convenient central location.
  • Disliked — Section of town is a bit dicey.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dcd4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    261
    267
    110
    95
See reviews for
176
248
76
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

I stayed here Sept. '03, and once was enough for me... The hotel was clean, that's were the good qualities end...

The staff was, not-so-much rude, just blank would be the best way to describe them. The rooms, and hotel itself, was very small. The room had 2 beds and a TV stand which left enough room for 1 person to walk around the room. The doors around the hotel all lock behind you, meaning (and I found out the hard way) you can't take the stairs... If you go into the stairwell you have to go all the way to the ground level, go outside (it was raining that night), walk around the building back to the front, and if it's past a certain hour you have to wait for the Front Desk clerk to buzz you in. The parking's the other thing... This is more a personal thing for me, I like to have my car parked in a garage when I'm on vacation. They have an outdoors parking lot up the block (which some might not think is in the greatest of neighborhoods). And you have to get a new parking pass for your car every day it's in the lot, just kind of a pain because if you do it in the morning you have to deal with the Check In wait.

All in all I personally had a horrible experience in this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone... The only reason we stayed here was because we decided to take the trip late and all our other choices were booked up.

  • Liked — Down the street from a strip club I like
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING ELSE!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Québec
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

I just return from this hotel. First, the girl at the reception vas very nice and the lobby was very clean. Even though it was around 6:00 p.m., the hotel's restaurant was empty. Strange... I didn't try it but reading the previous commentaries, I understand why there was no one there... The room was good, relatively clean BUT there was something I couldn't identify almost everywhere, on the furnitures, the tv, even the bed, something really greasy, something like oil, only on some spots. Each time we touched something, we were disgusted. Maybe it was the product used to polish but ... well... If you go there, which is not totally a bad idea if your budget is limited, please ask for a room that is not in front of the boulevard. At around 6:00 in the morning, you'll hear buses, trucks, motors, horns... because there's a lot of traffic ! You can easily walk to many attractions but don't expect a calm, quiet and beautiful street. It is not ! Once you are aware and are ready to accept those conditions, then you won't be diasappointed and your stay can even be good.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Picouline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

I stayed at the Days Inn for just over a week and had a hassle free stay. The staff were lovely and the rooms were decent size. Had a huge bed and all the necessary facilites. Bathrooms were clean. Only problem I had was there was no wireless access in the hotel room, so I had to go down to the lobby to use internet. Location was good about 7 blocks from the Eaton center and close to restuarants and shops. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SSK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

Stayed here in October, 2006. The hotel wasn't a total disaster; the rooms were clean enough, albeit a bit run-down. The place had a distinct musty odor. The shower and water pressure/hot water was good. The staff was friendly. The wireless internet access worked sometime, sometimes not. The vending machines are a joke (they only take CAD dollar coins).
The neighborhood isn't the best, but more non-descript than dangerous. Close to the University and Metro, but pretty far away (a mile) from shopping; the hotel parallels the seediest stretch of St. Catherine Street. Some bums, drunks, and of homeless folks around, but nobody that would rob you.
If you are on a tight budget, this is probably the the cheapest "brand name" downtown hotel. Just don't expect great things.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank dfword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of meridian
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

absolutely awful....
Do not eat in the little dining area on the ground floor, it's the worst kind of bland, microwaved rubbish I've ever eaten. No matter how cheap or easy it seems, avoid it. Take a walk instead. Sadly we were so tired after arriving from the UK that we coul'nt be bothered to go out.

Conversely, breakfast was good. Room was fine, staff most helpful. Location made getting down on foot to the old port easy. Just be aware that there are a fair number of (basically harmless) down & outs in the area and that some of them use parts of the nearest Metro station (champ-de-mars) as a living area.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank leodamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2006

Booked a last minute rate on the Days Inn website for 2 nights in the middle of September and got a huge suite for $100 a night!

Bed was big and lovely - shower was a bit dribbly - two HUGE tvs, free wireless Internet plus conference room!!

The staff were polite and friendly but I felt the restaurant was a little 'pokey'.

Other people here have mentioned about the location - I did see more tramps and sex shops that one would normally care for but then if you're using it as a base for Montreal it shouldn't really matter.

Overall - a positive stay for my first visit to a Days Inn.

. . . as for the guy below who had his backpack robbed from the backseat of the rental car - I would say if you left your backpack on the back of a car in any city anywhere in the world - chances are it would get robbed!!!!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#74 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Quality Hotel & Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#71 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville

Property: Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville
Address: 215 Rene-Levesque Blvd. East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1N7, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Montreal Downtown)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montreal Downtown Hotel Montreal
Montreal Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing