We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm stopping just short of calling it dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville
Ranked #115 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'm stopping just short of calling it dirty”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The room was adequate, but not the cleanest I've seen. Nothing terrible, but little things that make you want to wash your hands every five minutes just in case. There was a stain on one towel and a huge spider-web in the top corner of the room that had somehow gone unnoticed. Good location, no noise, no trouble. A nice uneventful stay, but a little more effort would go a long way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMontreal, Manager at Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We do appreciate the comments concerning the cleanliness of the rooms. We understand that it is very important to dust the rooms properly and to provide linen without any stains. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and we will make sure to address this issue with the housekeeping and the maintenance department.

Thank you

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    261
    270
    111
    98
See reviews for
180
250
76
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We've stayed here several times, when going to concerts in the city. The location is very good, with Saint Catherine Street only steps away, and Old Montreal a ten minute stroll in the opposite direction. The Metro (Berri-UQAM) is about a five minute walk too.
On this visit we arrived early but were given a seventh floor room with no delay. Parking in the basement cost $20, a bit pricey but I knew where the car was. A tight squeeze getting it down the ramp! You check in first and your room key opens the car park door.
The room was quite large, clean, well lit. A new 42" LCD TV, placed in a central position between the sofa and bed. The bathroom was large with nice lighting and good shower pressure. No shower mat, but lots of towels. The room was quiet, no corridor noise. HVAC unit ran quietly, wouldn't know it was on except for the fluttering curtains above it. Fridge could be heard but wasn't a nuisance. Corridor trim was being painted in the morning, a sign of continual maintenance of this hotel.
Breakfast in the restaurant was good, not too expensive, and nice coffee served by two very nice waitresses.
Check out was a breeze, sign the credit card slip, drop off keys and away.
We'll be back to stay ready for the next concert!

Room Tip: Rooms x03 look out onto the adjacent building so no traffic noise. We have been given corner rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMontreal, Manager at Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking some time to write such a nice and detailed review on our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay as well as our restaurant.

We hope to see you again if you come back to Montreal!

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dirty room, smell bad ...horrible service ! I went with one of my friend and we really had a bad time.. We saw strange stain everywhere in the room.. On the wall, on the curtain and on the carpet.. The smell was so bad that I had an headache all night long! At least the bed was comfortable ..

They used to tell us that they will be four star rated .. !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank En_maudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMontreal, Manager at Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. We want to remind you that if you are not happy with the room in which you are are checked-in, there is always the option to call at the frontesk and ask to be switched. This could have been an option here since you were not happy with the room. We take the comments on the cleanliness of the room very seriously. If you could provide us with the room number you were in, it would allow us to go in the room and make a check-up in it.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and once again, we are sorry for the invonveniences you encountered during your stay with us.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here with a colleague for a conference. I had booked a room with two beds but upon check in the room they gave me only had one bed and a sofa bed. my friend was stuck sleeping on the uncomfortable sofa bed. When i asked to change rooms I was told they were booked. When I asked for the sofa bed to be made up, the house keeping staff only put sheets on the bed. No blanket and only one pillow. We needed to call down for a blanket. It is October in Montreal, blankets are a requirement...
Cleanliness was an issue, there were long black hairs all over the bath tub and sink and there were these yellow plastic wristbands hanging off the sprinkler taps in the room. I was in Montreal for the Osheaga music festival in August and those wrist bands are from then. How clean can the room be if they cant even remove 2 month old garbage???

The walls and doors are paper thin and you can hear every little sound from the hallway or adjacent rooms. The hallway on the 4th floor looks shabby and dingy.

The location of the hotel is good, it is walking distance to old Montreal, shopping ,Metro, art galleries and the Palais de Congress. The desk staff were pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I try to stay at this hotel with my husband, the place was a dump! i'm from Montreal and decide to go out late at night so not to disturb my family i decide to rent a room for the night, we were told this was the last room so we said no problem we will take it.I went and had a bath then pull the blanket the get in bed and the sheet had a big big blood stain and there i no way a housekeeper woud have not see that, so i thing this room was use by others then they check out and the staff try to clean it themself and rent it again, that is my guess, but anyway my experiences with the days inn are over, i had a bad experince at a days inn before in Tofino at Weigh West so i will never never never rent again when i see a days inn sign

Room Tip: don't go there, there is better hotel with better location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachmama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysMontreal, Manager at Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take your comments concerning the stain on your sheets very seriously and the issue has been addressed with the head of Housekeeping. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we just want to address the fact that we never give a room that has already been used by another customer without being cleaned by the housekeeping staff. However, the fact that you found a stain on your sheets should have never happened and we should have been more careful.

Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience and we thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#56 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Quality Hotel & Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville

Property: Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville
Address: 215 Rene-Levesque Blvd. East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1N7, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Montreal Downtown)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chrome Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montreal Downtown Hotel Montreal
Montreal Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing