We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very satisfied!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I had the corporate room for three nights there. It was very clean, spacious and comfortable with great location (3 mins from metro station). Staff were just fine. 3 star hotel for 4 star rooms. I would definitly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    235
    222
    111
    76
See reviews for
160
227
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location. Two blocks away from popular St. Catherines street and close to the subway. easily accessible by transit from the airport. Staff were super friendly and very helpful. The wood floor in the room was a nice touch and overall quite clean. As a hockey fan, it was awesome to have a view of the Bell Centre out the window. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubleuohoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel only to find that they had no record of our reservation. Because we had a confirmation # from hotels.com the very helpful front desk manager was able to track down our reservation. The bad news was that the king room we had booked was not available. The good news was that we were upgraded to a junior suite at no additional cost. We were about a 15 minute walk from the train station and even closer to our restaurants of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel Espresso lives up to its name, at least at the front desk. There you can get a fresh ground espresso any time you want.

That and the solid hardwood floor are probably the nicest touches in the joint. Another reviewer put it perfectly when describing a "definite 1970s Eastern European vibe." The lobby is a little worn around the edges and there are some unusual characters hanging around the front smoking and in the lobby--no one was threatening or obnoxious, just unusual, and with a steady stream of less remarkable international clientele consisting of mostly budget to mid-range travelers.

Our two queen room was nicely furnished but with a few stray problems. To wit: The air conditioning unit had a loose panel that was taped or wedged in place. One of the electrical outlets would not hold a plug, and the cover plate was loose. All minor distractions, but enough to remind you that's you're trying to save money. The bathroom was clean with a nice towel supply, and the hardwood floors were a nice change from hotel carpet and all the mystery that would is typically left behind and embedded by previous guests. I wouldn't eat off the floors, but I did not mind walking barefoot. There were dusty spots on furnishings, particularly lampshades, that probably had not seen a vacuum in some time.

I saw no evidence of insect infestation.

A lavishly intoxicated man repeatedly knocked on our door attempting to get in, and had some apparent difficulty comprehending my directive to go find the correct room. After a couple of verbal exchanges from behind the door at 04:30 or so, I called the front desk. The man did not return.

The location was convenient to downtown and McGill. We were riding public transit, and the bus stop from the airport was convenient to the hotel. We did not patronize the restaurant or the parking garage.

I liked this property well enough to book a second set of nights for an upcoming trip to McGill. I will post another review following that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wistlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The room I ended up with in the end was acceptable. But it took a lot of work on my end. I made the reservation over the phone and called back twice more in an attempt to have an email confirmation. These attempts were unsuccessful, when I arrived at the hotel with my wife. We were checked into a room with two queen beds when I specifically had requested one king. I called down to the desk and asked if there were any rooms with king size beds available to move us to and that it is what I had reserved over the phone. I was told no on the phone that there were no kings but I felt like there was a possibility of something else being available. So I decided to head down to the front desk and speak with the gentleman whom checked me in. Although he was very pleasant at check in he did make it quite difficult for me to switch to the eventual room I was moved into. He said the room smell of paint because of renovations but upon entering the room it's not perfectly fine. The room even had a nice whirlpool bath. The first room was not the most clean. The new room was spotless. In the end I left happy but it should have been more relaxing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmmr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

After reviewing mixed reviews i braced myself for a so so experience ....upon puling up to the front of the hotel i was not impressed but then again i think its that section of guy street that is a bit dodgy ...i think if it would be on a different street it would look better as the outside is very industrial looking and the street is pretty much deserted and across a police station.

Upon check in the girl behind the desk was friendly but not overly friendly and was efficient....(i am not looking for a friend so this does not bother me ) just give me a polite person with efficiency and im happy. I made my way to the elevator and they are ok.....they are spacious but you can tell they have been there for quite a while.

the corridor are a bit dated but you can tell they have been re-carpeted but that is fine...then i entered my room and was def very pleased...it is spacious clean and modern! The floor are made out of laminate wood flooring and that is just fine id rather this than some carpet that has been there for some years....The bed was very comfy and very big. the window treatments are a bit odd,its only those vinyls pull down and just a bit of curtains at each end that you can not pull at all ......so in the morning if your a light sleeper your out of luck!

My only complaint are the maids that obviously had zero training on being quiet and professional
please stop screaming because you wanna call out to each other.....very tacky! think about the people that are sleeping or just hanging out trying to enjoy some peace!

In conclusion being a regular reviewer and having experienced many hotels some good some bad and everything in the middle i would probably stay here again but will not be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontogirl6910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dont judge the book by its cover! Impressive place to stay at,,,, ironic how we came to the hotel to use there parking facility and ended up staying a couple of days. CAA rate was $99 for the Sunday, and $77 for the Monday. Initially it was $99 / day. Sunday evening, i was looking for a review of this place and came across a lower rate. Front desk honoured the lower rate.

Great location to stay at, close to public transportation, restaurants, hospital (if required), walk in clinic, and pharmacy.

Right across the street,,,,, 2 great things to mention #1 SAFETY,,,,, Police Station,,,, who in their right mind is going to cause problems when response time is practically zero minutes. And if your not satisfied by their response time,just run across the street,,,, lol

# 2. Had a long day? Book an appointment for some personal maintenance at "Les Element", once again right across the street.
Manicures, pedicures, personal hygiene. Our interaction with Chung, Mou, and Denise was absolutely great! Well Worth the extra pampering one deserves after a day of shopping and adds a little extra bonus while on vacation.

Great family trip for a family of five, economical and super location. We will definitely come back for a visit.

Room Tip: Spa,,,, right across the street Les Element,,,, ask for Chung biggest smile you ever see in your lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#71 of 165 in Montreal
656 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#67 of 165 in Montreal
892 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#42 of 165 in Montreal
1,657 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown

Property: Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Address: 1005 Guy Street | Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville / Downtown is located in the heart of the city, 3 blocks from the Bell Centre, a few steps away from the lovely cafés and boutiques of Crescent street, Ste-Catherine and from Old-Montreal. The Hotel offers a warm hospitality in a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and many other services that you will enjoy during your stay.Our features & services description:• 205 rooms / suites - 75% with Laminated flooring• Rooms with soy based eco-foam mattresses• All rooms and suites equipped with a FREE in-room computer and High-speed Internet access (FREE)• Restaurant / Bar (200 seats)• Meeting and banquet rooms (10 to 200 persons)• Club Physique spa• Outdoor swimming pool (seasonal / weather permitting)• Sauna• Fitness centre• Gift shop• Enterprise rental car office($)• Indoor parking ($) & car wash ($)• room service (7 AM to 10 PM)• Business center• Tour desk / reception (24 hrs)• Dry cleaning service ($) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing