We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Ranked #93 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel looked questionable when we first arrived- there were a lot of people hanging around outside smoking, it looked a little run down and dated.
Hotel staff were friendly, check in was a breeze- was pleasantly surprised with our room- very clean and recently updated. There is a small fridge. We had a king sized bed and it was super comfy
Very close proximity to St. Catherine Street
I would probably stay in a different hotel next time- there were a few that looked really nice in other areas and Espresso was not cheap- parking is $22/ night- there is a parking lot directly beside the hotel for $10.00
Didn’t use the gym or pool, but both looked decent

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d-ray-toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, General Manager at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

I want to thank you for having taken the time to write a review on our hotel.

I have attempted to address your concerns with regards to our smoking area which may be too close to our front doors. Our hotel has chosen to be a 100% non-smoking facility with the exception of a smoking area outside to the left of our front door. We are examining ways we can move this smoking area to a more remote location. As for the $22 overnight parking fee, this is a competitive rate in the downtown area for an underground parking lot with surveillance. Furthermore if you compare with other downtown hotels with similar parking facilities you will notice that we are slightly cheaper. The neighboring outdoor parking lot offers an overnight rate of $15 but is now allow unlimited in and out privileges as we do.

We hope to see you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Stefano De Vito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 771 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed 3 nights last week, and for the first 2 nights I was very pleased. The rooms were pleasant, and recently updated. Nothing was fancy or luxurious, but for the location of the hotel, I thought it was an excellent value. However, the last night was miserable. Our entire floor was booked by an after-prom party. It was utterly ridiculous. We called down to the front desk at least 7 times to no avail. There were several fights in the hall, and the noise went on all night (not to mention hs kids smoking weed in the hall). They did agree to waive our parking fee and give us free breakfast before checking out. However, their lack of concern during the night left me with a really bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamofthe90s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, General Manager at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Firstly, I want to apologize for the terrible last of your three nights that you spent with us during your stay. Prom season is usually two weekends in this period of the year. We attempt not to rent rooms for this purpose but when individuals make bookings online it is difficult for us to filter this out. Notwithstanding I think that our security was more tolerant than usual on that particular evening. Nevertheless I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay at the Hotel Espresso Montréal.

We appreciate your comments and will use them to help improve our service to all guests.

Kind regards,

Stefano De Vito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

From the outside it looked terrible, an ugly rectangular block, and the corridor on the 7th floor reflected the exterior with a definite 1970s Eastern European vibe. The staff were friendly and our room was spacious but the air con noise was brutal. However the worst part of the experience was the wild party which played up and down the corridor for two long hours through the night. Despite three calls to reception and assurances security would "deal" with it, it was to no avail. Eventually reception stopped answering the phone at all.
So people continued to scream and be sick, empty bottles and cigarette ends were left lying in the corridor and it seemed too dangerous to venture out of the room to check out even at 2am.
Everyone else leaving in the morning had come to the same conclusion as us - they wouldn't be going back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuthieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed Sunday night on Quebec Holiday weekend. Having been to Montreal many times and there are many choices but based on loacation , value, service and a very comfortable room I would highly recommended this Hotel. Staff very friendly, parking ideal and the walking distance to most what Montreal has to offer makes this very convenient. As a fellow Hotellier in USA we have seen and stayed at a lot of hotels this one definitly meets our expectations in regards to sleep comfort and friendliness...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As the old saying goes, if you expect nothing, you will never be disappointed. After I booked four nights here (via the Travelocity Secret Hotel Witness Protection Program TM) for an obscenely low rate (after all, the Francofollies were in town!), and after reading all of the horrendous reviews from various sources, I had girded myself for an experience straight out of Fawlty Towers. Or a crack den in West Chicago. Given the mere pittance I was paying for the room, I was fully expecting to be on some floor undergoing renovation in a room right by the elevator on the second floor across from a streetlamp where working ladies would pose the question "Voulez vous...?" all night. Indeed, upon first walking through the front door, I noticed that the place smelled like coffee. A good sign, I hoped. But my hopes were dashed by the monster who worked behind the counter. I'm sure she's quite a lovely person in her personal life, but she had a voice and demeanor that would make Charlie Sheen reach for the Viagra.

After waiting in the lobby for about 15 minutes until the official 3pm check-in time, I lined up to accept my fate. The gentleman checked me in quickly and assigned me a room on the top floor. Uh oh. I figured this must be where they dumped the bodies. I took the elevator to my floor and found that my room was all the way at the end of the hall (no foot traffic!). I cautiously opened the door and found, much to my surprise, that it was... quite wonderful! It looks like everything was new and in pristine condition. The room was huge and modern with Pergo flooring, a huge king bed with a firm but plushy memory foam mattress, a large flat screen HDTV, a mini-fridge and various couches and chairs. And the icing on the cake was a lovely view of the city and some hills way off in the distance. And the little metallic sugar pebbles on top of the icing on the cake was the free WIFI, which was faster than my home cable internet. I was watching YouTube videos while downloading podcasts to my iPod. I could have moved in.

The room was a dream, but the common areas were, um... a bit beat up. I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but I was already sufficiently spooked by the online reviews and pictures, so I gave it a wide berth. Plus, being only 1.5 blocks from all of the restaurants on rue St. Catherine, it made no sense to eat at the hotel. Oh, in case you are looking for a scene, look elsewhere. Either Montreal was hosting a fat and unattractive people convention, or it was just par for the course for the Hotel Espresso.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 7th (top) floor. Oh, and f*** the valet parking. Park for free on the street dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hejiranyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, General Manager at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

I want to thank you for having taken the time to write your review. Although I found your comments to be somewhat sarcastic nevertheless the underlying message was understood. I want to apologize for the attitude of one our female front desk employees upon your arrival at the hotel. We met individually with each person who may have served you in order to prevent a similar situation to reoccur.

We hope you return to see us soon.

Kind regards,

Stefano De Vito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend of the Grand Prix and, as we booked late, expected to pay a premium price.

The outside of the hotel doesn't look all that inviting, but once inside it improves dramatically. Reception is OK with very friendly and attentive staff and the car parking was easy enough to sort out.

The rooms had undergone a recent refurb and were spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was OK with an excellent shower and the range of complimentary toiletries also good.
Air con appears to be centrally controlled, which made the room a little stuffy as the night wore on.

Breakfast wasn't in with our booking, but we charged this to the room without fuss and it set us up nicely for a day at the track. Restaurant staff also very good. It did look like the food on the waiter service breakfast was the same as the buffet, just cooked to order and served to the table. All the buffet breakfast was hot, unlike a previous reviewer's experience.

One note of caution. We booked through a third party website and someting was lost in translation as our two rooms on the confirmation, was one when I called the hotel to check. This was rectified by the reservations people and all was good when we checked in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Espresso from June 9 to June 10. I got a deal through Expedia "mystery hotel" promotion. At 158$ for Grand Prix Week-end, it was quite reasonable. I was in Montreal for the Rolling Stones concert and this hotel is located pretty close to the Bell Centre, where the show was taking place. After reading some reviews, I was expecting a real [--], but was pleasantly surprised! My room was big, modern, nicely furnished and relatively clean (there was a funny-looking hair in the ice bucket, though). The front desk staff was polite and there were free bottles of water for guests in the lobby. The only thing that really bothered me is that I had requested a non-smoking room and my room reeked of cigarette smoke. Also, the pool was closed. It was undergoing maintenance or renovation and the free WI-FI was not that reliable. Despite everything, I would stay here again. My experience was mostly pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissBelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel
Le Nouvel Hotel
#66 of 165 in Montreal
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#69 of 165 in Montreal
706 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#39 of 165 in Montreal
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown

Address: 1005 Guy Street | Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $89 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville / Downtown is located in the heart of the city, 3 blocks from the Bell Centre, a few steps away from the lovely cafés and boutiques of Crescent street, Ste-Catherine and from Old-Montreal. The Hotel offers a warm hospitality in a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and many other services that you will enjoy during your stay.Our features & services description:• 205 rooms / suites - 75% with Laminated flooring• Rooms with soy based eco-foam mattresses• All rooms and suites equipped with a FREE in-room computer and High-speed Internet access (FREE)• Restaurant / Bar (200 seats)• Meeting and banquet rooms (10 to 200 persons)• Club Physique spa• Outdoor swimming pool (seasonal / weather permitting)• Sauna• Fitness centre• Gift shop• Enterprise rental car office($)• Indoor parking ($) & car wash ($)• room service (7 AM to 10 PM)• Business center• Tour desk / reception (24 hrs)• Dry cleaning service ($) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing