We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough and inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Ranked #89 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good enough and inexpensive”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We got a really good deal for a two-night stay at Espresso. The rooms are big and I liked the wood flooring, comfortable beds, big windows and sizeable rooms. The room had a desktop computer -- a bit unusual, but we were able to research local restaurants and activities using it. Also, the hotel is within walking distance to much of downtown Montreal. I was happy to find the hotel also has a pretty good gym.

However, there are aspects of the room that are a bit run-down: the tub didn't drain well, the ceiling is stained etc. But I've been to hotels that cost more in Montreal that were a lot more run-down. The outside of the hotel and reception are very dated. I was disappointed with the service at the restaurant. We went for breakfast just before 11 and thought the server told us the buffet was closing soon, but the kitchen would stay open to order. We sat down and ordered a coffee -- we were waiting for friends to meet us there before ordering food. The coffees came and the server seemed to be hovering over us. Then he told us we would need to order soon or the kitchen would be closed until later in the day, but that we could stay to eat in the restaurant. We realized there had been a misunderstanding with the server (who was very nice), but because we weren't sure our friends would make it to meet us on time, we told him we would only take the coffee - we wouldn't have breakfast after all, not without our friends. Then, one of the cooks from the back of the restaurant came out and was really confrontational with us, saying the kitchen was closing and we would need to order soon. We explained to him that we understood, we only wanted a coffee now - geez. We ended up finishing our coffee pretty quickly after that and going with our friends to a restaurant elsewhere.

To wrap up, Espresso is a good stay for the cost. If I were to go back, I would probably not go to the restaurant again - but there are plenty of other restaurants within close walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    235
    222
    111
    76
See reviews for
160
227
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The bed we slept in was the only thing clean!!! Room, bathroom and hallway's were dirty - not a three-four star- like a 2 star - cheap motel off the highway type motel!!!! Never again will stay there!!
We woke up early for a early breakfast and the food was cold, old and gross..we tasted one bite of each item and left the table with full plates.....worst ever!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thechoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. They let us check in early, which was so great cause we were exhausted after a long bus ride that started at 5am. The room was spotless and tastefully decorAted. The beds were soft and comfortable and the sheets were luxurious. The location is also excellent, it is so close to everything. I would recommend his to everyone!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We checked in late in the afternoon to this hotel with a reservation made based on an Internet coupon. Front desk staff was courteous but seemed inexperienced and rushed.
The room we had was the Corporate Junior Suite. Bigger than most downtown apartments and equipped with comfy king size bed and a bathroom the size of an extra bedroom.
We had a bottle of champagne but no glasses so we ordered champagne flutes for a 10$ deposit fee and a 3$ delivery fee. (Apparently they have alot of theft staff told me).
Awaiting my glasses, I flipped through the concierge book for restaurant ideas. Front and center were a detailed list of prices should I decide to damage items in the suite. (Shower head:90$, Remote 60$. How informative!)

If you're going to watch a Habs game, there's no better place. Comfortable and large suites for a minimal price. 5 minutes walk brings you to the front doors of the Bell Center. Know what you're buying when you do and don't let the website pictures fool you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

i loved the hotel. The restaurant service was good the bartender was very cool.the food was also ok i enjoyed everything in that hotel. the restaurant bartender slash waiter took really good care of me made me feel special.thank you hotel espresso for once in a life time experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaisar764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The room is clean and comfortable. The hotel is in Downtown Montreal. There is an indoor parking, but there is a $22 fee per day. The wireless internet on 7th floow was broken during the three nights when I was there. The A/C has some noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great hotel, I would recommended it.

They've given me a new room that had very pleasing furniture with a large flat screen TV and the service was very at par. The only draw back is that their internet seems to be very slow and almost not working, otherwise excellent location, an outside parking lot that is great with very low rate ( I think $10 for 24 hours ) - self serve at night, right next to the hotel which made it great and economical.

Friendly staff, clean environment. Ask for an updated room. You really can't go wrong with the rate they offered for location, price and over all value IMO.

Room Tip: ask for an updated room with newer furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary05uc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#71 of 165 in Montreal
656 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#67 of 165 in Montreal
890 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#42 of 165 in Montreal
1,657 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown

Property: Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Address: 1005 Guy Street | Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville / Downtown is located in the heart of the city, 3 blocks from the Bell Centre, a few steps away from the lovely cafés and boutiques of Crescent street, Ste-Catherine and from Old-Montreal. The Hotel offers a warm hospitality in a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and many other services that you will enjoy during your stay.Our features & services description:• 205 rooms / suites - 75% with Laminated flooring• Rooms with soy based eco-foam mattresses• All rooms and suites equipped with a FREE in-room computer and High-speed Internet access (FREE)• Restaurant / Bar (200 seats)• Meeting and banquet rooms (10 to 200 persons)• Club Physique spa• Outdoor swimming pool (seasonal / weather permitting)• Sauna• Fitness centre• Gift shop• Enterprise rental car office($)• Indoor parking ($) & car wash ($)• room service (7 AM to 10 PM)• Business center• Tour desk / reception (24 hrs)• Dry cleaning service ($) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing