We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambrose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambrose
Ranked #70 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Winchester, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the Family Suite and found the room clean and comfortable. Close to downtown. Easy access to Metro. It was great that breakfast was included. We wished there'd been more fruit but the croissants were delicious and the coffee was good too. We really liked that we could come in after a day out and enjoy a hot cup of tea at any time. The Hotel staff always had a welcoming smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesAura-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    102
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
106
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I was able to score this hotel last minute deal from their website. For two nights it was only $115 all in but with no refunds on cancellation. For my purpose (last minute trip to Montreal) it was well worth the value.

Location is perfect. Walking distance to eaton centre, st. Catherine's and a variety of restaurants as well as close to the Metro.

Check in was fast and easy. I was on the third floor so those who have problems with stairs this might not be an ideal hotel. However, the stairs are a beautiful touch to this hotel. I am one who can appreciate the old charm that Montreal has to offer and it's nice to see that there is an effort to retain it.

My room was small, but clean and had a phone, clean washroom with towels, soap and shampoo, clock, iPod docking station, clock and tv. No coffee maker for those who like that amenity, however you do get continental breakfast every morning that included coffee, juice, water, bread, fruit, boiled egg. Just enough to get you started for the day.

For the price, location and cleanliness this little charming hotel is worth a couple nights stay over. If you are looking for fancy and luxury, spend the money and go elsewhere.

Check out was also fast and easy. Very friendly staff including the cleaning lady who greeted me with a smile when I was leaving one morning and she happened to be outside my door.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank butterf1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel. It is easy to find, in terms of location it is just outside the main downtown area of the city. One block from the Peel metro station, and a few blocks down from the Peel walking entrance to go up Mont Royal. There is also a private parking garage one block away for a reasonable rate. The complimentary breakfast was nice, muffins, croissants, cereal, toast, coffee, and juices, just what you would expect. The room was neat and the bathroom was clean, nothing fancy, but just what you need for visiting. One thing to mention is that when people were walking by in the hallway, it was a bit noisy, but we didnt have any problems at night, so it wasn't a bit issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiNi-0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Everyone at the front desk is wonderful but we got the most help from Francios-Xavier because he seems to always be there. He was patient, multi lingual, responsive and sincere--a real nice guy. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have slept in. The room itself could use some caulk and touch up paint but if that was really important I could have paid 3 times as much at the Sofitel at the end of the block. The location is a few blocks from Peel metro, McGill University, Mount Royal, Musee des Beaux Arts, great dining, Hurleys Irish bar, and some 24-hour fast food. The airport bus, the 747, is walkable as well at about 7 blocks.

Helpful?
Thank traveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Ambrose two nights, and had to check in and out at absurdly early times (5am). The staff accommodated me without a problem. The room was lovely; I went with the economy room, so it was small, with a single bed, but lacked none of the amenities that would come with a larger room - huge flat screen tv, very nice private bathroom & shower, desk, reading lamp, sky light etc. The bed was nice, and everything was clean with excellent presentation. In the hotel, there's also a beautiful dining room right next to the entrance with an extensive continental breakfast. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend, so when I had to accommodate some guests for an event taking place in Montreal, I reserved the entire hotel ! Not only it is very well located, in the heart of Montreal, but also the personal was really nice, helpful and professional.

The rooms are clean, comfortable with an old world charm ! The price is also very attractive. All the guests, more than 20, were really really happy... I would highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
236 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here in room 11 on the night of 3rd Oct enroute to New York on Amtrak. Huge comfortable room, clean and quiet, adequate breakfast. We walked to the station on the morning of the 4th in about 15 minutes, suitcases on tow. Friendly staff. Not the Ritz but a nice good value hotel.Bonus was we walked to a place called "Joe's Panini" for tea (supper), well worth the walk.

Room Tip: Try for a ground floor room out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#17 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#36 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#76 of 165 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
#67 of 165 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambrose

Property: Hotel Ambrose
Address: 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambrose is a charming 21 room hotel in the heart of Montreal. Each of our rooms are comfortable and unique. Offering a truly European experience in North America, we pride ourselves in offering the basics of a great hotel: Amazing Location, Exceptional Service, and Clean Impeccable Rooms. On top of that, we strive to make your stay here as value friendly as possible, offering free amenities: Continental Breakfast, WiFi Internet, Cable TV, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ambrose Montreal
Manoir Ambrose Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing