We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Really great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambrose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambrose
Ranked #71 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stay there yesterday,
Overall its a good hotel mostly if you take the superior room (private bathroom with even little stairs kinda cute).Really beautifull room with some stuff on the wall from the origin of the building.It was clean and well set.

In the room i was,i didnt have to climb the stairway and even if you need to do that its not so hard.The staff are helpful and friendly,but the guy at the reception had a bit difficulty speaking french but that's allright (i dont care really) i think he was new so i speaked english.The location is great near to subway station and the redpath museum.

The only thing i could say is that in the bathroom when you open the light the sound of the fan can break the ambiance.So if you want to take romantic trip so idk maybe find candle or thing like thats.The hotel should have light with control set (but in other way its not a big deal).

Breakfast is good,eggs bread yogurt orange juice good coffee etc...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam333lion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    98
    46
    15
    9
See reviews for
31
103
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Convenient location, extremely nice, helpful staff. Very quiet, even though Rue Stanley is only half a block from busy, noisy streets. Property is two conjoined, converted houses. Rooms are slightly seedy, not high quality renovation, ugly furniture. Bathroom and sheets/pillowcases are clean, but top quilt and pillow shams on both my visits smelled like they had not been washed for quite a while. No elevator and no porters, but desk staff were kind enough to carry my heavy suitcase up and down the stairs for me. For the price, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraC67860713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was asked to research boutique hotels in Montreal and decided on this hotel due to location of our meeting. It was a very good choice. 12 foot ceilings, clean and oh so quiet. I had the feeling I was there by myself at night although there were other guests. Loved the location. I like to photograph old buildings and this was perfect location-wise. Hope to come back trip or next personal trip.

Room Tip: No pool, the system wouldn't let me deselect. There weren't any elevators so if you have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineFindGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Realy nice old building within 10 minutes of Bell center and only 5 minutes from St-Catherine. A few trees at the front realy complete this older residence. Nice room with realy high ceilings (perfect for basketball players lollll) We enjoyed the continental breakfast and the freindly employees of the hotel. Reserve your parking when you book.

Room Tip: Book a room by the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobino666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great location, 2 blocks from the Peel Metro station provides easy access to Old Montreal and everything else. Nice continental breakfast, friendly service. We had a 3rd floor room - including the front step it was 58 stairs to our room, most up a small spiral staircase, pretty tough some days. My only beef was little tiny ants in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Try to get 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My first impression of the hotel was not very positive.
When I arrived to the hotel it was early August and the weather was very hot with high % of humidity. My room had no fresh air, it was extremely hot and fusty.

Second issue is that the room (37) was placed close to the Security stairs where you have an easy access to the window therefore to the room. This was not convenient for me as I brought expensive devices with me (my mistake?).
So I needed to either take them with me or hide in the language on the key.

Those are the issues that disturbed me the most during my visit. There were of course small things that could be not right to some of you but we need to be realistic – the price is VERY attractive, we can not demand Hilton standards.

Other things are just positive: close to the center, nice personnel, breakfast in the morning (always something to eat from 7.30 to 11am, which was not the case for somebody in previous comments), all the day coffee/water/juice.

You save lot of money especially during summer time. For short period it’s ok/standable.

For the price I think it is a good deal. Just don’t expect big thing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggy_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a charming hotel in a quiet neighborhood in the downtown area. It's more like a bed and breakfast, set in a 1900s Victorian. The beds are comfy, rooms and bathrooms clean, and a nice breakfast that includes chocolate croissants! It's also only a short walk to the metro station. They also have about 3 parking spaces that you can reserve for your stay at $15 a night, with in/out privileges. Overall, a nice place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 66 that had a private bath and a bay window overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#22 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#61 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambrose

Property: Hotel Ambrose
Address: 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambrose is a charming 21 room hotel in the heart of Montreal. Each of our rooms are comfortable and unique. Offering a truly European experience in North America, we pride ourselves in offering the basics of a great hotel: Amazing Location, Exceptional Service, and Clean Impeccable Rooms. On top of that, we strive to make your stay here as value friendly as possible, offering free amenities: Continental Breakfast, WiFi Internet, Cable TV, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ambrose Montreal
Manoir Ambrose Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing