We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Hotel Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambrose
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our stay was brief (one night), but pleasant. The room was relatively small, but for the price and length of stay, it was totally fine. The private bath was quite large and very clean. The location is great-- walking distance to Mont Royal, St. Catherine Street, and the Old City. The hotel itself is on a quiet side- street, surrounded by what seems to be private residences and apartment buildings. The building itself was also quiet, even at night.
The gentleman who checked us in was very pleasant and even helped my boyfriend find a (free!) parking spot on the street. I can't say that such a spot always exists, but I have read a similiar post from at least one other person. It was really nice of him to do so, rather than insist we pay for the hotel's spot or a garage (which we were prepared and willing to do).
The one downside is the lack of elevator. Be prepared for a climb if you're on the top floor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elle032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansning, Owner at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Hi Elle032,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. From the sound of your review, it seems like you had a fairly pleasant stay with us. I couldn`t help to notice that despite your kind words, you only rated the hotel a 60%, something we consider just a passing mark. What could we have done better to earn that extra 40%? Was there something in particular we missed or could have done better? We would really appreciate any additional comments, and hope that the next time you are in Montreal, we have the opportunity to earn those extra marks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambrose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We only stayed one night at the Manoir Ambrose but we really enjoyed our stay. We got a very reasonable price for such a great central location too.

The location of the hotel is probably it's best feature, however, the customer service was also exceptional. I was especially impressed when the hotel receptionist found me a free parking spot on the street which was good for 4 days! Going that extra mile really impressed me.

We climbed to the top of Mount Royal for the stunning views and shopped on St Catherine st, both very close to the hotel.

We also enjoyed the continental breakfast which was included, the croissants and pain au chocolat were fresh and excellent.

This hotel is not ideal if you're older and allocated a room upstairs as there are a lot of stairs, but this does not detract from what is a cute, comfortable, friendly and cost effective place to stay in the heart of downtown Montreal. We will stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joebrown28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This lovely mansion-turned boarding house-turned boutique hotel was a true find! It retained all of its original architectural charm (moldings, lay-out, cathedral ceilings & winding staircases). We loved staying here. You cannot get a better location, the rooms are comparable to any major chain regarding amenities, and the staff were very helpful and kind, in particular the manager "Tony" (female)! That said, be advised - there are no porters nor elevators so you are responsible for hauling your luggage to your room (even the lobby/entry is up a flight of stairs), and there is no valet/parking although we never had a problem "ever" finding a spot very near the hotel. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Call re: location of room as there are multiple stories & whether the room shares a bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laudy-di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Cute Victorian style hotel, odd layout, great location. Complimentary continental breakfast a plus. Newer (private) bathrooms, clean enough. Wifi worked intermittently. Staff seemed quiet so we didn't really ask them for much...Overall we were satisfied with our stay. I would mention that this hotel is more in the range of $100 per night than the $130+ we paid, so shop around for rates.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misscrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansning, Owner at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for your review!

I wish you had asked us for anything, as you would have found all our staff to be helpful and friendly. For future reference, we try to keep all our rates the same, and will honour any rate that you find. Just let us know.

Safe travels, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Manoir Ambrose in February 2011. We are both from South Carolina and didn't know what to expect as it was our first visit to Canada. What we found was a sweet bed & breakfast with loads of character, conveniently located (walkable everywhere & near an easy metro stop), and a welcome host in the Hotel Manoir Ambrose. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, recommending restaurants and providing directions.

As mentioned in some of the previous posts, this hotel is in the process of undergoing some renovations. Soon the breakfast room (which is currently in a cozy ground floor room) will be moved to a prime location on the second floor right by the front desk. Oh and a word on the breakfast -- the cinnamon raisin bread is delicious toasted! Aside from that, you have many choices of hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, bagels, orange juice, coffee, etc. The guest rooms are also getting upgrades. Ours had been freshly painted.

Overall, this is a warm and cozy bed & breakfast, a perfect escape from the piles of snow outside.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hotel is on a quiet one-way side street in busy Montreal downtown. It is not quite visible from the corner of Stanley and Sherbrook. It is 5 minutes from subway station and here is taxi stand in front of the hotel. Some nice restaurant near-by and the famost Crescent street night life is within 10 minutes on foot. Perfect.
Note: This hotel was converted from 2 old 3-story Victoria styled houses. Bathroom is a bit unusaul. Each room is different. The staircase joining 2 buildings is also strange. No Elevator

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed here on a recent trip to Montreal for four nights. We received really lovely service, in three languages, no less! The building is clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable and the included breakfasts were amply laid out. While the internet access is free, you must retrieve a new login & password each day from the front desk.

I wish I'd asked more about the building itself (my guess is mid-1800s). Our room had been reconfigured, like the rest of the hotel, remodeled so that new construction is mixed in with elements of the original architecture. Laying in bed, I tried to puzzle out the mix of molding on the ceiling to figure what the room had been like before. The same goes for trying to guess the meaning behind all of the different sets of stairs - they're everywhere! It's a neat old building.

Location is convenient to downtown and just a block from the McGill campus.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alammana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
#63 of 165 in Montreal
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#71 of 165 in Montreal
673 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#85 of 165 in Montreal
581 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 165 in Montreal
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambrose

Address: 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $107 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambrose 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambrose is a charming 21 room hotel in the heart of Montreal. Each of our rooms are comfortable and unique. Offering a truly European experience in North America, we pride ourselves in offering the basics of a great hotel: Amazing Location, Exceptional Service, and Clean Impeccable Rooms. Also available is a newly opened cafe serving locally roasted specialty coffee drinks, as well as breakfast options for guests starting at $5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ambrose Montreal
Manoir Ambrose Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing