We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very strange place”

Alacoque Bed & Breakfast Revolution
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alacoque Bed & Breakfast Revolution
Ranked #94 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2007

This place looked good from the website ,location and price were right but it was a very strange place. The whole place looks very shabby and rundown The sheets were very worn and had not been good quality even when new. Access was by a very steep set of stairs from the street and our room was in the basement so it was down an even steeper set of stairs. The breakfast room, kitchen and laundry were two flights up. The basement room was over heated and dank - it definitely smelt of damp. The whole house looked like a second-hand shop - it was crammed full of objects, some were very nice pieces but the overall effect was of a junk shop. The double bed in our room was too large for the size of the room and it was very difficult to get into my side of it.
We were told we could use the washing-machine and dryer but the second time I did so I was chided by the host who told me that the washing-machine was for the use of the guests! However, because his English was not strong, it is possible that he meant that we were not supposed that particular washing-machine but only the one downstairs.
Breakfast was appaling - the same croissants and muffins appeared each morning for 3 days -after the second day they were inedible. You could have an egg or cereal if the host was present. Others have commented on the hosts manner - suffice to say I felt that he had never stayed in a B&B himself. Definitely not one to recommend

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Sydney_traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolutionMontreal, owner at Alacoque Bed & Breakfast Revolution, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2010

Alacoque B&B Revolution is full of antiques pieces, the major compliment we have years after years is:''They are so much things to see in your place, this is so different from the others hotels and B&B'' unfortunatly we don,t care about the value on the market about all this pieces we prefer follow the suggestions of our guest and try to put things who touch their hearth. This an old residential house from 1830 not built to become a B&B they are narrow stairs, very old floors and others thing like this, that why this is charming,and not very easy for the housekeepers. And the best way for us to keep a reasonnable price is to apply our cancellations policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2007

We booked to stay in this B&B this summer.
As soon as we entered the place, we were absolutely shocked.
Dust, cockroaches, bugs, spiders everywhere, brrrrrr…
We couldn’t risk our lives for even one night and ran away immediately!
There are so many less expensive places around. Many hotels offer better service for less money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank namysto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolutionMontreal, owner at Alacoque Bed & Breakfast Revolution, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2010

Since we built a real ''cancelation policies'' for to keep affordable prices for real guest we got some stange comments sometimes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed at Alacoque (Revolution BB) on our trip to Montreal in late July 2007.

Price and location were the biggest draws to the place, but as it turns out this has easily been the most expensive hotel stay we've ever experienced.

We had several items stolen from our room at Alacoque while we were out one afternoon. On our return, we learned that the building had been empty and the main entrance was unlocked for several hours that afternoon. On the security camera, we saw someone walk into the building empty-handed and leave a few minutes later with a filled shopping bag.

It was the owner's subsequent behavior that truly astonished us. He took no responsibility, did not offer any compensation/refund, and in fact even refused to call the police when we asked him to (rather he handed us a map of Montreal indicating the nearest police station and told us to walk over and report it).

We hope the owner will be willing to come to some agreement on how to address the situation. We'll let you know how it turns out.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
25  Thank miniapple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolutionMontreal, owner at Alacoque Bed & Breakfast Revolution, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2010

By the law your room is your privacy,your room door was not broken:You don,t lock it. You refuse to provide to me and my insurance companie any receipts or proof of property of the articles stolen:You just ask for cash money: $ 200.00 for a computer, a digital camera and a IPod:Very stange, you are not expensive.We provide a small safe in each room; you never use it. It is a down town location in a major city: We have a video camera system at the front and in the common area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

This B&B was a place to stay and not much more than that. The place was clean but generally looked unkept. The floor was dusty, the mattresses and pillows were old, the towels were worn out, etc. The temperature inside went from humid to chilly, and the room thermostat didn't really work. Breakfast was unimpressive and consisted mostly of croissants (fresh 2 of 4 days) and generic muffins and rolls. The host was less than warm and didn't really make himself available, however the staff serving breakfast was friendly and helpful. The location and free wireless access were the only positives. There are many other B&Bs in Montreal and I will not stay at Alacoque again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank AjaxNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2004

This is a basic B&B in a good central location. It's definitely not a luxury inn, but is clean and cozy. In response to the previous reviewer, the owner isn't particularly warm, but he was courteous, efficient, and helpful.
Pluses: Location (it's not in an amazing area, but within walking distances to everything), parking, interesting antiques, breakfast on the terrace (weather permitting), clean, a/c.
Minuses: Noisy (ie. you can hear footsteps throughout the house), kind of rundown, no cable TV.

Overall, a good value at $100 for 2. We'll go again.

2  Thank Eboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2004

The owner of this business was extremely rude on the phone and refused to take a message for one of his guests who was waiting for my call, even when it was explained to him it was extremely important. He published his phone number on the web but pretended it was his personal phone number. I have never stayed at this establishment but would certainly not recommend his "hospitality". He hung up on me twice. He does not seem to care very much about his customers..

alas...

12  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revolutionMontreal, owner at Alacoque Bed & Breakfast Revolution, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2010

Infortunatly our rooms are no enough expensive to provide an efficient telephone service, they are no telephone in each room and over 100 telephon calls in 4 days for the same guest is to much for the poor man who take all ''those very importants'' telephon calls on a 24 hours clock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,545 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 166 in Montreal
705 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 166 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alacoque Bed & Breakfast Revolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alacoque Bed & Breakfast Revolution

Address: 2091 St. Urban Street | Near Sherbrooke, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: $40 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing