We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suggestive”

Notre-Dame Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.81*
and up
Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal
More Info
$6.81*
and up
Montreal Paddleboat Rental
More Info
$44.91*
and up
Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #1 of 407 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Montreal's oldest Catholic church, built in 1656, is known for its intricately designed interior, which includes stained glass chronicling the history of the city.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Suggestive”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Located in the Old Montreal, this neo-gotic Cathedral has a suggestive blue ceiling with gold stars and some beautiful stained glass windows.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FMS_Giulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,639
    2,857
    526
    105
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coventry uk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

if you visit montreal then the basillica is a must,it is one of the most beautiful church,s i have and that includes some that are in rome,it is hard to describe so the best thing to do is visit you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Nice cathedral”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very pretty cathedral that reminded me of ones I have seen in France & Spain. We had a coupon for buy one, get one free admission which was nice, but it was relatively cheap to get in anyway. We did not get a guide. Definitely worth a visit while you are in Montreal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank majesty318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If there is a word better than stunning, then that is what describes this church!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

You will be shockey at the architecture that lies within the walls of the basilica. We paid our $5 fee to get in the doors and were marveled by the site. It's hard to believe that this was built so long ago. The woodwork is better than anyone can do today. This is a must see location while touring Montreal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We are somewhat reluctant visitors to cathedrals because around the world there are many great examples and not many stand out. This Basilica is quite different and takes your breath away with its colour and ambience

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtrams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre-Dame Basilica also viewed

 

Been to Notre-Dame Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing