We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Notre-Dame Basilica

Notre-Dame Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.15*
and up
Old Montreal Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Montreal's oldest Catholic church, built in 1656, is known for its intricately designed interior, which includes stained glass chronicling the history of the city.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Definitely worth seeing, and compared to some of the prices of the other attractions, it's worth stopping by here. Just remember, if you want to seek a blessing or stop and light a candle, it will cost you a dollar!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,711
    2,665
    488
    92
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A must see in Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Located in Old Montreal, very easy to get by subway, this is a location that everyone should attend while in Montreal. Unfortunately, you will have to pay to enter the site, but we need to understand that this is the main income for the church... The cost is about 5$ per person.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MontrealDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“See the basilica, skip the light show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I highly recommend touring the Notre Dame Basilica. It is truly beautiful. The staff members are very friendly, which you would hope for at a church! My family attended the light show in the evening, too. After we were seated in our pew (they are reserved seats), another family came and had the same seats. As it turned out, the woman in the gift shop from whom we'd bought our tickets gave us tickets to the wrong show time. We'd asked for 8:30, she gave us 6:30, and we hadn't noticed the error. Rather than make us leave, the attendant told us to simply sit in the back and when everyone was seated she would move us closer to the front. The seats in the back would have been fine, but when she saw empty seats near the front, she moved us up... Better seats than we had originally had! The show is okay, at best. You put head phones on to hear the show in your own language, but this was a pretty low budget production. "Cheesy" is how my daughters described it. I agree. But, it was only 30 minutes long and you do learn some of the church's history. The content was fine. The acting and filming... meh... not so great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic, but skip the "show"...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Notre Dame Basilica is surely one of the greatest churches I've ever been in. It really is incredible to see all the detail and someone could spend hours there. We opted to go to the 6:30 "show" which I felt a bit awkward about, because it is a church. My recommendation is to skip this show - it was hot (the AC was not strong and the headsets they give you don't always work very well) and honestly it was a bit boring, especially for the children. It lasted about 30 minutes and then we were able to walk around for another 15 min. and take photos. If I had to do it again I would go early in the morning and just pay the fee to get in and take my time walking around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Badscooter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of this World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

When you step inside, it takes your breath away. One of the nicest churches or basilicas that we have been to. Not particularly large but very impressive and the lighting on the the high alter is just amazing.
Worth the $5 to go in!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank grahamdlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre-Dame Basilica also viewed

 

Been to Notre-Dame Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing