We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible architecture”

Notre-Dame Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.09*
and up
Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal
More Info
$6.83*
and up
Montreal Paddleboat Rental
More Info
$45.04*
and up
Montreal City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #1 of 408 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Montreal's oldest Catholic church, built in 1656, is known for its intricately designed interior, which includes stained glass chronicling the history of the city.
Ajax
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible architecture”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Incredible stained glass and carvings. I liked that the cathedral is still a place of prayer for those that wish it. I lit a candle for my mother, and there is a closed off room only for prayer. This cathedral really displays the opulance and excess of the church.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,667
    2,873
    529
    105
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sunday Mass at 11 AM”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The mass was wonderful. Even though it was said in French which we don't speak, the music was glorious. Perfect for people of any religion. The basilica is stunning.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merlin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Big and gorgeous”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I attended the light show at night in the basilica which is a good use of large churches not doing anything at night. Show was amazing and well done.

Basilica is beautiful, but a little too much of Celine Dion around it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolkSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jump up and get photos at the end”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The "Spectacular" was good - although we didn't enjoy the conversations at the end. The raredos is amazing, but the lights were turned off about 2 minutes after the show ended. Thank goodness my daughter is quick on her feet - and obtained a stunning photo. We were told we could see it in the daytime for an additional fee. So, if you want a picture, stay alert and get up as soon as the program is over.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank marineanimallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Basilica is definitely worth seeing. There is a $5 admission charge, but if you go at mass time, to attend mass, there is no charge.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre-Dame Basilica also viewed

 

Been to Notre-Dame Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing