We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au GitAnn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au GitAnn B&B
Ranked #22 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland, ohio, u.s.a.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you've read most other reviews, you've gotten the idea that this is a far better than average B&B. The location is great, within 10-20 min. walk of most of the main attractions. A Metro station is at the end of the block, making the entire city easily accessible.

Anne is a very friendly and helpful hostess who starts every day by suggesting things to do and places to see (and avoid). We had a lovely stay and would stay again if we return to Montreal.

After the first day we chose the "free stay", which means room only, no breakfast. This will save you money if you prefer to make your own breakfast. We found, though, that breakfast for two at even an ordinary restaurant like Cora's (think Denny's with a pile of fresh fruit on your pancakes) costs $25 for two. I think next time we'll opt for Anne's very nice continental breakfast.

Any finally, about the neighborhood. One reviewer mentioned that because it's in "The Village", Montreal's LGBT-friendly section, you might have to explain a few things to your kids. If you're a straight person and that made you a tiny bit apprehensive, let me reassure you that at no time during our many walks around the area did my wife and I feel the least bit out of place. I'm not sure we would have noticed a difference from other nearby areas, aside from a canopy of pink ornaments over the main walking street.

So, go to Montreal, stay at Au GitAnn, tell Anne we said hello.

Al & Joanne, Cleveland

Room Tip: We stayed in the Picasso suite, which had a lovely little balcony. The street is quiet, so no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank interactive_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    40
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
136
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Montreal for the first time as a family, We had Unit 54 and went for the no breakfast option which worked very well for us. We had our own bathroom and access to a kitchen where we could prepare simple meals making this a very cost effective option. The beds were comfortable and the location was quiet but very close to amenities for shopping, etc and a five minute walk to the nearest metro station although as many attractions are in easy walking distance from Au Gitann we only used public transport on our last day to go further afield.
Ann was extremely helpful, assisting us with parking the car and with planning our time so we could get the best out of our stay with the limited time we had.She told us about events taking place that we attended and enjoyed but would otherwise have not known about and her recommendations for eating out were spot on. We were very pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

First, Anne is lovely and helpful. She gave us good advises. We came very late but she was there to give us the room. It is not so easy to find a B&B when you know you will be late.
So yes this is the pefect place if you are coming to visit Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benoit_02445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We loved our stay at GitAnn, we had a big, comfy room with private bathroom (it was one of the most expensive, though).
We are always looking for advice when visiting a place and got plenty of it from Anne. She also helped us find parking spaces every day, which is a very useful help in Montreal.
The house is well located, within walking distance of many activities, the street is dirty but feels safe.
The only con is the breakfast: no fresh fruit, no cooked meal. We had enough to eat but, compared with other B&B, the breakfast was poor.
We would recommend to stay at GitAnn but have your breakfast elsewhere (Anne will normally reduce the price if you tell her that).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

First and foremost, Anne is so lovely and helpful that she really makes you feel at home and also ensures you are informed of whatever you need to know to make the most of your stay.
The location is perfect - on the edge of the Latin Quarter, which is one of nicest part of the city. It is still only 15 or so mins walk across town.
The property itself is beautiful and furnished to a high standard with everything you need.
Travel from the airport is easy - 747 shuttle bus and last stop, then 5 minutes walk.
I would like to re-visit with my fiancée some time - even if just to visit Anne!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We decided to stay with Anne for our anniversary based on these wonderful reviews, and were glad we did so! Anne is a wonderful host; we came in several hours late after having a last-minute train change and she was still gracious and totally helpful. The rooms are lovely and the location is ideal, on a small side street just steps from wonderful restaurants, walking distance to other great downtown sights, and a very central Metro stop just blocks away. We decided to forgo the breakfast option and ate at a different fantastic bakery within walking distance every morning. Montreal is so European and so much fun, and we felt that Au GitAnn made our stay perfect!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

The first thing you notice when you enter Au GitAnn are the colors: deep golds, purples, greens, and reds. The whole place feels vibrant and playful. And when you meet Anne, she embodies that same spirit. She is totally present to your every need, happy to expound on her beloved Montreal, but also very respectful of your privacy. Everything is done well at Au GitAnn, from the bathroom tiles to the breakfast pastries. We feel like we now have a second home in Montreal.
[----]

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Maison Des Jardins
Maison Des Jardins
#13 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
The Village (Gay Village)
Sir Montcalm
Sir Montcalm
#27 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Alexandre Logan (1870)
Alexandre Logan (1870)
#18 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Angelica Blue Bed & Breakfast
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au GitAnn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au GitAnn B&B

Property: Au GitAnn B&B
Address: 1806 Saint-Christophe, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3W8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Au GitAnn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban B&B in the heart of downtown Montreal; the pampered comfort of a warm home with attention on the details will make yours a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Au Gitann Bed And Breakfast
Au Gitann Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing