We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B in Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castel Durocher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castel Durocher
North Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best B&B in Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

We have stayed at several places in Montreal, hotels and B&B, by far the Castel Durocher is the best. It’s centrally located to shopping, museums and the subway. It’s in walking distance to the nightlife on Peel, the craziness of St Catherine and the great food on St Laurent.

Vincent and Sandrine treated us more like family than guests and wouldn’t hesitate to do anything to make your stay even more enjoyable. They know the best places to eat and always filled the room with chocolates and the best pastry we have ever had.

We go to Montreal almost every summer. We enjoy the life, the vibrancy of the city and its people. The city is bi-lingual and we have never had trouble communicating with anyone. All summer long its one festival after another. The International Jazz and Comedy Festivals are just a few we have attended. All, by the way, within walking distance as well.

We will never stay anywhere else while visiting Montreal. We whole heartedly recommend it for a family vacation or a romantic escape. .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The raccoons that invited themselve to our pastry
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ncahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
12
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed for 3 days this past February in the downstairs apartment. The apartment is very tidy and looks like it was remodeled, with hardwood floors and tiled kitchen and bathroom. The bathroom looks very modern. Kitchen was outfitted with crackers, cheese, spices, OJ, milk, cereal, chocolate samples, and fresh fruits (although the coffee in the cupboard was expired).

Plusses: Hosts are very friendly and conversational. Good location within walking distance to Metro and Mount Royal and several restaurants. A small grocery store is located about 100 feet from the front door.

Minuses: Sofa is small (actually a loveseat with a slipcover) and dining room chairs are not very comfortable. The advertised internet access did not work (it's a 10 year old computer running a French version of Windows 98). TV (13"), VCR, and DVD are old and the DVD does not have the proper cabling. Extra charges - $25/day for a mattress on the living room floor, $10/day for parking. Walkway from the apartment to the parking spot behind the house was not shoveled.

Neutral: Hosts did not know or had difficulty describing how to get to places we wanted to go (Mount Tremblant, tubing and ice skating on Mount Royal, airport car rental return). Make sure you research before you come!

Overall our stay was OK and the hosts are very friendly, but I have stayed in better B&Bs. If you don't plan on spending much time in the apartment, it should be OK.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SamSpayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2006

I stayed here quite a while ago but it was a great time. It was four of us and we rented out the entire place so it was two bedrooms, a bathroom room, living room area and kitchen/dining area. Everymorning, the owners -- who were very nice -- brought down chocolate croissants.

It was in a great location--walking distance to everything and I personally like inns or b&bs better than hotels. It was very reasonably priced, especially split between four people. I think when we went, it ended up being $40 per person per night.

  • Stayed June 2002
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank punkissodead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2006

This is a lovely, personable bed and breakfast operated by Sandrine and Vincent, a Belgian couple who immigrated about 14 years ago to Montreal and are raising their family there. The bed and breakfast is in a historic Victorian mansion, with an additional upstairs suite in a building around the corner. My son and I stayed in this accommodation during the last part of February and this was a highlight of our trip. My son was auditioning for the music school at McGill University and the Castel is across the street, making it very convenient as Montreal winter weather is about five degrees above zero. Sandrine and Vincent could not have been kinder. My son forgot his coat, they loaned him one. Sandrine gave me a very good price on the suite, which was recently remodeled with two bedrooms, a kitchen, bath and living room, and left a variety of fresh, delicious foodstuffs for us in the fridge. Our luggage was lost for the entire three days we were there, but Sandrine offered to loan me some of her clothes and Vincent was very helpful in trying to get in touch with someone at the airline. And, Vincent is a chocolatier (!) so delicious chocolate is always there! If we return to Montreal I would definitely stay at the Castel again, great price, good location, a pretty, clean room and charming owners.

Helpful?
5 Thank phkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2005

Lovely guest rooms in converted adjacent Victorian homes on a quiet street 2 blocks from McGill. Many are suites with modern kitchenettes, a seating area and dining tables. All are recently renovated and very clean. Proprietors are very friendly and make wonderful Belgian chocolate confections (made to order).

We enjoyed being able to have our college aged daughters come for breakfast and tea in our suite, and made good use of this charming, comfortable and spacious accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fernhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
L'Appartement Hotel
L'Appartement Hotel
#41 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#19 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Durocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Durocher

Property: Castel Durocher
Address: 3488 Durocher, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2E1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castel Durocher 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments with character located right in downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castel Durocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing