We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and laid back area”
Review of Castel Durocher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castel Durocher
Ranked #20 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in the Suite Victoria for 11 days and found the apartment to be very comfortable and spacious. The video does not indicate how much space there is particularly in the living room/dining room. Vincent and Sandrine were charming hosts. We have stayed in a number of apartments in European cities and very few owners provide bathroom toiletries or stock fridges before arrival. This was appreciated as we had travelled from England and arrived late at night. The regular deliveries of home made chocolates and flowers were most welcome.

McGill is laid back and bohemian due to the student population. Pack plenty of shorts in the summer - knee length - and catch the sun by sitting on the front steps. Veggies must go to cafe Lola Rosa across the road. Be sure to try the ice cider. Local cherries are the best ever tasted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are greeted with welcoming flowers and very friendly, accommodating hosts that will cater to your every need. If it's not there,.simply ask and you shall receive. It is located downtown close to metro, shopping, major hotels and McGill University. Le Castel is much more comfortable than a hotel as you also have the convenience of a full kitchen, living room along with a wonderful coziness that makes it feel like home.The rooms are spotless. A special treat are the local croissants ...and by the way, the home made truffles are to die for. You can definitely find the long, lost art of hospitality and friendship at Le Castel where for Sandrine and Vincent, it is all about the traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Lovely, spacious apartment; reasonably priced; terrific location near McGill; and very nice hosts. We couldn't have found a better place for our family (couple with teenager). So much better than hotel rooms. The next time we visit Montreal, we will definitely stay again at the Castel Durocher.

Room Tip: Top suite is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ithaca561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I can see how this place would be ideal for some travelers for a short stay, but we stayed over a week and were very uncomfortable. Before you book, you should see if any of the following issues will trouble you:

The primary difficulty during our stay was heat. It was summer and temps were in the 80s. The front room and the bedroom were each fitted with a window air conditioner; one was old and one relatively new, but both were noisy and in a state of neglect. We ourselves opened the front parts of them and removed thick layers of filth from their primary filters and cleaned them as best we could, with a small improvement in efficiency. There is no A/C in the tiny galley kitchen or bathroom, both of which were sweltering in the afternoons and overnight. There is no way to open up the apartment for natural cross ventilation.

The amenities were to include a washer and dryer, but one of them was not in working order so we still had to go to a laundromat. Along with the A/C problems, the evidence shows that the regular maintenance and repair of utilities is neglected.

There was housekeeping service during our stay, but flowers in vases were in place throughout and never removed. Was it ignorant of us to think a housekeeper would remove dying flowers? We finally realized, as they died and the water was getting ugly quickly in the heat, that we must be expected to do that, and to wash the vases we suppose--and to water the plants in hanging baskets on the balcony as well (which nearly died during our stay, provoking a reprimand). If you stay here and don't want to be "reminded", pay attention to what your responsibilities are with respect to housekeeping. For example, if you rush out for the day leaving your morning coffee cups and pastry plates in the sink on a day when the housekeeper comes through, you will get a note.

The windows were very dirty. The mattresses on the bed and sofa bed lacked any support and there wasn't a comfortable chair in the place.

For what it's worth, we suspect this is not a licensed establishment. The charge goes under the name of their candy company and our credit card company called us to confirm that we ourselves had truly paid a candy company such a large sum. This could create a problem for business travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amateuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casteldurocher, Owner at Castel Durocher, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Hi,

we were quite surprise to see this review. We contacted the author right away through the TripAdvisor site to explain to her that we felt extremely sad about this. We didn't hear back from her, unfortunately. I hope she will get back to us at some point. Why didn't she say anything during her stay? Why did she wait almost a year to write this review? If we had known, we would have tried our best to fix any problem that she may have encountered. Some of our apartments do get warm during a heat wave, others stay quite fresh (such as our Stained Glass Suite). So, we can always do our best to accommodate our guests. Also, we are definitely not a candy shop with a hidden sideline business on the side, we are officially registered. The reason why both names Chic Choc and Castel Durocher appeared on her creditcard statement is because we did start by making chocolate (we are originally from Belgium). A couple of years, we opened Castel Durocher. so the name was added to our merchant account. Again, why didn't she tell us anything? We could have explained this to her. And yes, the water of the flowers may not have been changed during her stay. But do you know of many places who put flowers for people's arrival in their apartment suite?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Our visit at Castel Durocher was outstanding from beginning to end. Vincent is a charming host. The apartment was immaculate and well appointed. Every detail is looked after. We came prepared but didn't need to be - there was food in the fridge, bakery items for breakfast and flowers. On top of it all the apartment is steps from McGill and the downtown of Montreal. We will not have to shop for a hotel the next time we go to Montreal. We have found the perfect spot.

B&L

Room Tip: We were in top suite - has a balcony which would be ideal in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We cancelled our Holiday Inn reservation after finding this Gem; stayed in the "top suite" 2 bedroom apartment for an extended weekend visit.
My friends daughter, a student at McGill was able to stay with us in the suite and It was a very nice get together place for everyone.
Lots of room, great balconies, fantastic location in the middle of the hustle and bustel of fun Montreal evenings, close to the metro and great shopping.
A fully stocked kitchen cutlery, plates, cups, glasses, pots/pans.
The local fare is great to test out if you dont feel like cooking - the oven came in handy for reheating leftovers.
The room had essentials in the fridge for a nice breakfast selection with coffee and coffee maker, cream, milk, cereal selection, crackers, fruits, cheese and chocolates.
Close walk to absolutley everything, fantastic host and hotstess who were very thoughtful and accommodating and kind.
I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I was attending a conference in Montreal in June 2011, and decided against booking a room in the conference hotel. I've spent too many nights in anonymous hotel rooms in different parts of the country, and on this trip, I decided to try something different. Castel Durocher is near McGill University, and is within very easy walking distance of downtown Montreal, and the Plateau neighbourhood. Furthermore, there is a good range of restaurants and grocery stores nearby, along with a delectable Belgian patisserie.
When I arrived on Monday evening, I was shown to the Suite Victoria - this was a one bedroom suite with a large and bright sitting/dining room, lovely bathroom, bedroom with queen sized bed, fully stocked kitchen and a covered balcony. The high ceilings and mouldings gave the place a classy air, and the art was great! As promised, the big fridge was stocked with food - grapefruit, milk, cheese, jam, coffee, juice and the all important chocolate. Sandrine had also provided bread, pastries, cereal, fruit and tea. One could not ask for better service. Each morning, fresh pastries appeared as if by magic! All in all, this was a great stay, and I would definitely hope to get back to Montreal and Castel Durocher again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Etowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Durocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Durocher

Address: 3488 Durocher, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2E1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $175 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castel Durocher 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments with character located right in downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castel Durocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing