We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montreal, Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Ranked #8 of 143 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This small hotel has the potential to be a great find. We just spent 3 nights there and unfortunately we had a room with a terrible mattress, very old. It did affect the quality of our sleep. We mentioned it and were hoping to change room but the hotel was completely full. They did give us a small reduction. So, be aware, the rooms are lovely, there is a 2 1/2 set of stairs to go up, wonderful breakfast included, lousy bed in room 802. Extremely well located downtown, too bad we had a bad sleep and would not go back.

Room Tip: NOT room 802. ask about the quality or age of the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 445 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I first read about Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins B&B from tripadvisor’s Montreal travel forum back in April 2013 while doing preliminary research for a summer trip to Montreal. After visiting Bons Matins’ website, reading other travellers' reviews and checking out its location using google maps, I decided to send an email which was promptly answered. A couple of email exchanges later and I was able to book 2 family suites for my party of 8 (5 adults, 1 teen, 2 kids). I was actually asked to consider the A8 townhouse with its 4 separate bedrooms but since the A8 did not come with breakfast not to mention that it would cost more vs. booking 2 family suites, I declined.

Fast forward to August 2013, we arrived in Montreal’s Gare Centrale by train and, after a short metro ride from Bonaventure, were at Bons Matins at 3PM. Check-in was a breeze. We got our keys and were ready to explore the city in no time. I'm not sure if I was expecting too much but aside from getting the keys and wi-fi access code, the front desk service left much to be desired. There was no welcome drink (bottled water would have been nice) or a complimentary tourist map or even a casual inquiry if we knew how to get around or anything. It was like checking in a hotel, front desk was pleasant but impersonal.

I should say that the email confirmation on room reservation did include a note about the owner inviting us to “a free sparkling pink cider at his new restaurant” located 5 kms away but this is hardly the welcome drink one would expect at a B&B.

The good news… the rooms were exactly as they appear on the website pictures, all visually appealing, each room charmingly furnished with contemporary and antique pieces, with bright splashes of colour from the numerous paintings obviously done by the same artist.

Our suite (706) was on the 2nd floor of the unit immediately to the right of the one which houses the front desk/breakfast room. A big, spacious area with a bedroom, a combination single bed/dining area/living room and a huge bathroom, each of which can be separated from the other by a pair of sliding doors with no locks. A jacuzzi tub dominates the bathroom while to the left are separate cubicles for the toilet (with pocket door) and shower (with curtain). The shower area is TINY but there was ample hot/cold water supply.

My brother and his family on the other hand occupied the whole 3rd floor of the rightmost townhouse (end unit) which can be accessed by a narrow and steep staircase from the 2nd floor. Their suite (801) has 2 queen size beds located on opposite ends of a big open-concept space with living room, dining area and kitchenette. A door leads to the bathroom which has a jacuzzi tub (directly under a skylight), a stall shower and toilet.

On to more good stuff… breakfast was always a pleasant and unhurried affair. First was a choice of coffee or hot chocolate and a glass of orange juice. Next was a choice of waffle or french toast. Finally a choice of eggs (scrambled/sunny side up/etc) with ham (or bacon) and cut fruits OR vegetable omelette (or Spanish omelette) with cut fruits OR eggs benedict. The breakfast ladies were friendly and service was prompt. We always signed up for the 7:45AM seating and it took us a good 45 mins to finish breakfast every time.

Now I have read about other guests being given the option to have breakfast served in their rooms but this was never mentioned to us. I'm not sure if maybe I needed to ask first before they'd say ‘yes, it could be accommodated’ but since we had every intention of using their cheery, sunny breakfast room, this really didn't matter. I just found it strange that it was never mentioned. Or maybe they were afraid we might take them up on their offer?

And if, like me, you tried to read as much as you can about Bons Matins and came upon booking.com’s description about being able to help yourself to complimentary drinks (cocktail, coffee, tea, hot chocolate) and biscuits anytime at the B&B, I regret to say it is NOT TRUE. Maybe they used to offer it but not anymore, in any case they should take that info down from that particular website because it is deceiving. I did ask the breakfast lady, let’s say after getting back from a day of sightseeing, was it possible to get a drink of water and she just said there was no one at the breakfast room after 12PM as they would be busy cleaning the rooms by then. I guess that meant no complimentary drinks, not even water. There appeared to be a kitchen area at the 2nd floor but other than a note on the fridge which said not to touch anything as they were intended for breakfast, there was no note to say if the area was intended for guest use so we kept clear of it.

On to other matters… the beds and sofas were very comfortable. The A/C was super cold. I bet we could have asked the front desk how to adjust it but we decided not to bother. Best to bring slippers as the floor laminates and bathroom tiles could be really icy on bare feet. There were only 3 bath towels provided on our first day (there were 4 of us in our suite) but it was remedied the next day without our asking for it. Housekeeping did a very good job of tidying and cleaning our rooms. Wi-fi worked. We found the recessed lights a bit dim for our taste. The stairs and floorboards creaked and we could hear the other guests climbing up or down the wooden staircase or moving around in the room above ours but that was no big deal. We were not bothered by the occasional train that passed along the tracks across the street.

But if there’s really one thing going for Bons Matins, it is the LOCATION. Lucien-L'Allier station is just steps away from the front door. This was a huge convenience for us since we planned on exploring the city by metro and by foot. We were in Montreal for 4 days so we bought a 1-day 24H pass ($9) and an unlimited weekend pass ($12) and managed to find our way around the city despite being first-time Montreal tourists.

On our last day we checked out before 10AM and left our luggages with the front desk for safekeeping. Again, we were not informed of this but I have read about other travellers doing it so I verified with front desk after breakfast and was told yes. So it seemed at Bons Matins, it paid off that I did my research or we would have been kept in the dark since the staff seemed intent to share info only when asked. Haven’t they thought of putting house rules in each suite?

Pros: Location, breakfast, unique décor, bilingual staff, free wi-fi, kids under 12 free, luggage safekeeping after check-out
Cons: Info doled out on a need-to-know basis, no free drinks as advertised

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Weve stayed here twice..I love everything about our experience. From the friendly staff while booking over the phone, to the check in, Loved our rooms both times, and the breakfast service second to none!!! We will definitely stay again. We especially loved our waitress each morning!! Lovely lady ! I just cant say enough!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had! The location is awesome - not too far from the train station, right beside a subway station, close to Crescent street restaurants and bars, as well as all the shopping on Rue St. Catherine. Old Quebec is about a 15min walk away. Mont Royal is either a short subway ride or nice walk away. Rooms are very clean and really cute. Staff are friendly and really helpful if you need directions or recommendations for places to go. There is a kitchen downstairs for those who want to make some of their meals. Breakfast is incredible here! Glass of orange juice, great coffee, a little waffle as an appetizer, and then your choice of eggs - a few different omelettes, eggs benedict or a classic egg breakfast. The food was so fresh and so delicious. Amazing that it is included in the reasonable cost to stay here. What a great start to the day. We will most definitely be back

Room Tip: We had the room with the bathroom that is down the hall. It is private, and a good size compared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The good: This is a nice, cute cozy little B & B. It's away from the touristy areas, but still close enough to walk to Saint Catherine Street and next to the Metro to get to Old Montreal area and other touristy places. Staff are very friendly and morning breakfasts were really good!

The Not so Good: It's an older building with hard wood floors, so you can hear people stomping around ..our room was under the kitchen area, so there was quite a bit of noise early in the morning. This might be different in a room on a higher level.
Parking was $12 per day, which for a small B&B I think is steep. We ended up paying about $150 including tax and parking for a comfort room which was in the basement without a proper window, so it was pretty dark, plus the noise.
There are only stairs, this place isn't wheelchair accessible and does not have an elevator.

Overall, this place is good if you want to stay somewhere other than the traditional, mainstream hotels. I would try this place again, but get a room on a higher level next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucky1ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I booked this hotel through the internet and wasn't sure what it would be like....... well let me tell you it was perfect! First the owner spoke English which was a big help as we knew very little French, we actually learned some new words from him. He was very accommodating and answered our simplest questions. We stayed here for 3 days and would definitely go back. The room was spotless and had a fun French décor....very artsy! We also had a Jacuzzi in the room which was very nice after a day walking around Old Montreal. Breakfast in the morning was great and offered hot dishes as well as continental fare. Oh and we were about 40 steps from the metro, but if you are up to it walking around is easy due to the location. The hotel is tucked away from the city but still close enough to reach all. Some people complain about the stairs but for the quality of the place they shouldn't . Also they have parking there for $12 a day which is less than other places if they have it at all. Great place! Merci . A bientot

Room Tip: We had a basement one but I feel all the rooms here are unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great time, although for only 2 days. Very nice room, quite good breakfast, internet had some issues! Because of my late arrival there was an envelop with information and the key of the room! The stuff is very friendly and kind!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis7Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,521 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 143 in Montreal
370 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#15 of 143 in Montreal
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins

Address: 1401 Argyle, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: $99 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming inn is located in a magnificent early 20th century residence and offers guests the utmost comfort and service. Attention to the tiniest of details and unparalleled comfort bear witness to the perfect union of know-how and quality, providing guests with an unforgettable stay in a unique and charming establishment. Guests can enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of the inn, while making the most of its excellent location at the heart of downtown Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing