We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$493
$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$316
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal(Montreal)
$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$717
$532
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$323
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$224
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
264
141
33
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
141
33
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationrow houseswaffles and french toastlucien l'allierworking fireplacebell centremain buildinggreat bed and breakfastjacuzzi tubb and bmake teamade to order breakfastfresh fruiteach morningfamily suitetop floorbreakfast staff
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 460 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Bon Matins for 2 nights at the start of May. This was our first time in Montreal.
The location of this B&B was excellent. It was close to downtown Montreal and better yet, within crawling distance of half a dozen pubs. The entrance to the Metro was a half block away, so it made access to Old Montreal quite easy. It was a one block walk to the bus stop where we caught the 747 bus to the airport. No need to rent a car if you are staying here.
The breakfast each morning was very nice. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for things to do.
The bed could have been more comfortable, but aside from that no complaints with the room.
We would definitely stay her again on our next trip to Montreal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Montreal is a big city. Worse, they are going through their own Big Dig experience, half the streets are dug up the traffic is jammed on a grand scale.
So, moving around city center isn't fun. and a central location is a must. Only problem is - hotels at the center are either atrociously expensive or cheap and shabby.
Enter the Petie Auberge les Bons Matins. The truth is, we reserved it for the amazing price, and didn't expect much. The feeling of 'ah well' intensified when we had trouble to find the hotel amid business offices in a little run down street.
But the place is a gem! The room was a veritable suite, furnished in classic European style. A huge four-poster bed so soft it was hard to get out off, a sitting area and a great flush bath tub.
Air condition worked well, the staff was friendly and easy going, bi-lingual so French retards like me felt comfortable. You have a free coffee and soda fridge, and their personal version of happy hour, where the reception clerk gravely offers you a glass from an astonishing selection of single malts and XO brandies.
We walked to the restaurant, we walked all over the city, and back to that friendly haven in city center.
The place hosts a mixed crowd of backpackers and middle-aged couples.
the only drawback is you have to get to some of the rooms though a spiral external staircase, as the hotel is a curious mash-up of several former flats and suites. The staff will tote your begs for you, so it's not that big a deal.
We had a great stay, will definitely come back whenever we are in Montreal, and highly recommend it, both for the good price and the surprising quality of the room and service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We recently stayed at le Bons Matins, a place we had also stayed with great delight 7 years ago.
Unfortunately, this time we had a VERY noisy neighbor who played his TV until 2 a.m. and began again at 6 a.m. The TV could have been in our own room, it was that loud. The walls must be quite thin, and there was a vent in our room that seemed directly connected to the adjoining room. The desk did not respond to our request for some help with the problem, and so we had three most unrestful nights.

We really love the inn -- the colorful rooms and art, the location to the train, the whirlpool tubs, and the great breakfasts. So we are very sorry to think that we can't return until this problem is solved!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

During the last dozen years, my wife and I have stayed at les Bons Matins about 6 times. We have watched it grow in size and (well deserved) success. I have been meaning to write a review for quite a while. As an overall comment, at this unique boutique hotel, everything – service, comfort, ambience, wonderful breakfasts and location – comes together to make this a perfect pied-à-terre in Montréal. We have never been disappointed and in fact, we have re-arranged our travel dates in order to be able to stay here rather than elsewhere. Les Bons Matins is built from adjacent original 150-year old brownstones, brought up to current comfort standards without losing the charm and elegance of the buildings themselves. The floors are a bit creaky but that too is part of the ambience. Decoration is unique by room, but is always very warm with pleasing pastel colors. This is accented by the vibrant, colorful, and original artwork of one of the proprietor-brothers, Benoît, which hangs everywhere and provides a special signature feel and beauty. Les Bons Matins is obviously not a big corporate hotel with a concierge and 24 hour desk, but for those who prefer a smaller more intimate experience, you will find that the staff will meet all your needs. Now, what would a B&B be without the breakfasts? Well, the breakfasts are not only delicious and perfectly prepared to your tastes from a variety of choices but they are copious. The staff at les Bons Matins freshly squeezes their own orange juice and it perfumes the breakfast room each morning. You will leave breakfast happily satiated, and if you are like us, with a latte in a to-go cup. If all that isn’t enough, Bons Matins is perfectly situated, just at the edge centre-ville (downtown) about 50 meters from the Lucien-l’Allier metro station. Anglophone nightlife on Crescent Street is just a 10 minute walk and francophone nightlife is a half-dozen metro stops on the orange line (no change of lines required). For those who appreciate a very small hotel experience and enjoy being surrounded by art and people who appreciate the same, les Bons Matins should be your choice.

Room Tip: The hotel's room descriptions are highly accurate and are the best guide to choosing a room that suites you
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

we stayed one night here based on the price and proximity to our daughters dorm. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms, the quaint and comfortable ambiance. We were initially offput by the surrounding neighborhood which isn't particularly inviting for walking alone at night, but it is so close to downtown, and the metro, and after half a block your in busy Montreal. The breakfasts are truly worth staying for. We would definitely come back again, and the parking in the back was very helpful for our big truck.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AniaKx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews