We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge de la Place Royale
Ranked #5 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful old world charm, clean, and comfy! Bed was comfy, and lovely linen. Location is amazing! I would definitely return, but would request room facing water, as alley can be quite loud early in the am.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Notadumbblond64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    105
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
191
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and homey. We like to stay at boutique hotels when we travel outside the U.S.and this was definitely a quaint place. We stayed on the second floor and like the last reviewer our room faced the alley which meant we heard trash trucks or something early every morning. Since we were traveling with no itinerary it didn't bother us much however we would recommend requesting a 3rd floor room as we could hear loud footsteps above us which seemed like much of the night. Again for us it was not a deal breaker and would stay again but with a room on a higher level and facing the water.
Although not much to do in winter but A LOT of walking and city exploring, the hotel does seem to be in a good location for summer travel. We also def. recommend Pub St. Patrick's for a drink and for the views of the water.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

The inn is great. It felt like home. I liked the fact that the room had a toaster oven. The staff was friendly but a little too casual. Almost to the point that everything was self serve. Stayed a few nights during the winter so there was no breakfast for some reason. Little did I know that old montreal was closed during the winter. I mean almost everything except for hotels and fancy restaurants. We had to go pretty far just to get breakfast. In the winter this location is not the best. But I can hardly fault the inn for it being winter. I would come again but only when old montreal is open for business. Our room was facing the back alley so it got pretty noisy around 7AM because of garbage trucks or something.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. It was spacious, the room had exposed brick wall and was nicely decorated. There is no staff on hand and everything is done by envelope at the door and key pad which was different and unique. Your name is placed on the door of your room which was different as well. Old building, beautifully restored and well kept. Some stains on the couch furniture, little over used. The bathroom products are poor quality but for the price didnt expect high. The bathroom and room overall was cleaned very well. The bed wasn't comfortable at all, very firm and the pillows were very poor quality. The sheets were crisp and
clean. I think the look of the room and place overall and the warm feeling was what made us enjoy regardless of the uncomfy bed. Noise was included, it is an older building so walls thin and we could hear other guests during their intimate moments that lasted over an hour. The location is right in front of the water. Smack down in old montreal and with lots to do during the day. The walk at night around here is beautiful. Would we return? Yes. But not the same room and hopefully with a better bed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed only 1 night, booked for 2. But due to the cold, we cut our trip early. We stayed in room 304. We loved the place. Right in the center of OLD Montreal. the only issue we had was due the the record cold temps, our room was a bit cooler then we liked even though the thermostat was maxed.

We are planning on returning in summer and staying here again. Staff was nice and room was excellent. Well worth the $$$ I spent. Parking does suck, but it does all over this town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

To me this place is just flawless....it has everything a traveler like me was looking for:

- Downtown, not only convenient, but also a very picturesque location (right by the old port!)
- Uber-clean and beautiful rooms
- Super spacious rooms and washroom
- Helpful staff
- It's a very tiny hotel, with about 4 rooms per floor, so it's very quiet (no slamming of doors in the middle of the night, which we know so well )
- I stayed there during a really cold weather (-30'C and snow storm). The room was unbelievably cozy and warm, while all the winter mayhem was happening just outside. For summer months they have AC in every room and a nice breeze from the river if you prefer to keep windows open.

If I am back to Montreal, I will not imagine staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had one night in Montreal ahead of joining a cruise. Auberge de la Place Royale was an inspired choice. It is a boutique hotel, full of old world charm and warmth. The rooms are large ,comfortable and full of character. It is located on the harbour in Old Montreal and must be the closest hotel to the cruise terminal - maybe 200-300 metres. It is in easy walking distance of the attractions of Old Montreal. Make sure you ask about the superb patisserie around the corner for breakfast or a coffee break.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so lower floors are definitely best if you have heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtrams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Place Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Place Royale

Property: Auberge de la Place Royale
Address: 115 rue de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2C7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge de la Place Royale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A twelve rooms luxury hotel facing the Old Port of Montreal. Stay in Old Montreal, a location where the ambiance is authentic and historic. Science and history museums are just beside as well as the skating rink and the ice fishing spot. There are six suites facing the waterfront and six rooms in the back. Free wireless internet. Minibar. Free calls in North America. Free business center with unlimited printing. All bookings are pre-registered and express check-out is the standard. There is a guitar for you to play. Some of the rooms could confortably accomodate six! 24h check-in system and service. There is no elevator but the doctor say it is good to exercise, and yes, the reception is narrow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge de la Place Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Place Royale Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing