We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montreal History at glance”

Centre d'Histoire de Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.91*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
Ranked #62 of 396 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a former fire station, this museum explores Montreal's history from the 1600s to the present.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Montreal History at glance”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had no plans to visit this place and get their by a chance. We were pleasantly surprised to discover how interesting and informative this place is. Pictures, media-presentations, artifacts and reconstructions starting from per-European settlements followed histories of different waves of migrants - French, English, Italian,etc. Very interesting expo about massive re-planning and re-build of Montreal after the WWII which explains very unique architecture of picturesque neighborhoods with quiet leafy streets and unusual houses. The whole floor is dedicated to migration to Montreal during last 20-30years. Highly recommend to visit this place before anything else in Montreal to set up the right scene for better understanding and enjoyment of your stay in beautiful Montreal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    54
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wow! Did not expect that!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We wanted to do a family outing and I have been wanting to visit the "Quartiers disparus" exhibit, so we took the whole family to Centre d'Histoire.

We were all impressed with the amount of information and artefacts that were available to the public. And we LOVED the "Quartiers disparus" exhibit on the 2nd floor.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tangomamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Montreal history in a nutshell”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

In a beautiful historic firehouse. Have been there once as a visitor (very interesting photo exhibit) and twice with my grade 6 students (fun, hands-on overview of Mtl's history) and enjoyed both. Not as serious and dry as other historical museums I've seen that just exhibit a bunch of artifacts. I recommend this to tourists as an introduction to their stay in the city.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank one-day-the-maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A excellent display of past eras in Montreal”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I was interested in going to this museum because of a particular exhibit. It seems to me that the exhibit was ending in early to mid 2012. So if anyone is interested in that exhibit(described later) they should check the website.
The exhibit that I was interested in was about neighbourhoods that had been torn down to build things such as Expo 67. In a separate case, a building had been torn down despite efforts of the citizens. The building had been historically significant. As a result, the drive began to retain the "Old Montreal' area. So, thank goodness or we may not have 'Old Montreal" to visit and enjoy.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank pnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cool building, interesting museum”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The building was really cool and the museum itself was informative. Found the staff to be slightly unpleasant. It's a good museum to go to on your first day in Montreal to learn about the history of the city.

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarynowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centre d'Histoire de Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Centre d'Histoire de Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing