We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Visit from Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Murrumba Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick Visit from Australia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We only had a very brief stay prior to boarding our cruise. The room, facilities and service were great which is what we have found and expect from the Fairmont hotels. When we are in this part of the world we would chose Fairmont hotels over others

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Dave T - Thank you for your review. We hope you had a wonderful time on the cruise. Thank you for sharing such great comments with us further to your short visit. We appreciate your loyalty to Fairmont Hotels and hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future for a longer period of time! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    1,204
    545
    224
    114
See reviews for
623
1,051
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

So I can't lie, I had high hopes for this hotel. My husband and I flew in for Grand Prix (which was amazing) We chose this hotel based on 2 things: Fairmont's reputation and the association with F1. The hotel is ok, perhaps a bit dated. The room I found quite disappointing. Very dated in terms of décor. We had a suite, so not even a basic room, and I found it in dire need of refreshment. The lighting in the black marble tiled bathroom so poor I had to do my makeup in the sitting area. As you walk down the hall to get to your room, the white doors are dirty.... Very sloppy paint job in the actual room. I can't say anything was dirty.... but just very dated. Not what I expected for $900/night (even during Grand Prix)

One of my huge pet peeves.... the darn mini bar, Really?$9.00 for a beer? $6 for orange juice? I get it pay for convenience, but that it a bit excessive.

The gentleman at check in was super nice and super friendly. I wish I knew his name. One pro to this hotel is the subway station directly below. Convenient and easy. The Montrealis restaurant served an amazing buffet breakfast service a bit slow but nothing excessive given the weekend. The beds and the linens are very nice.

Although there was nothing drastically wrong with our stay, I would only go back if every other 5 star was unavailable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dishchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Dishchick - Thank you for your candid feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the F1 Grand Prix weekend in Montreal, however we're very sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations in terms of room decor. Please know we have several ongoing and upcoming projects to address the concern you expressed. That said, thank you for recognizing the great service provided by our team members, most particularly upon arrival. We still hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Staying at Fairmont Queen Elizabeth for Montreal Grand Prix weekend and paying more than top $ but that is okay given the event. What is not okay is that the carpet in the room needs badly to be cleaned and when I moved a floor lamp dozens of ants were feasting on whatever crumb had been left by the last guest. I notified the front desk and went out but when I returned the ants were still crawling around the air-conditioning unit. Disappointing and will find some other place to stay in Montreal next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKS1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear TKS1028 - We're deeply sorry to hear about the unfortunate incident that ocurred this past weekend. We completely understand your disappointment and rest assured we take your feedback very seriously. To this end, our Executive Housekeeper will take immediate action and we truly apologize for not addressing the issue as soon as you reported it. This is not in keeping with our high standards and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. That said, we still hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I am not familiar with Fairmont hotels so had no expectations. I arrived by train and the first surprise was that I didn't even leave the station. I wheeled my bags from the station into the lobby which was a wonderful oasis. The hotel is above the station.
A friendly welcome was next and the second surprise was when we opened the curtains in our room for a stunning view of a beautiful old cathedral.
All other aspects of our stay were excellent. It is a very big hotel with a grand history. In 1969, John and Yoko had their Bed In"" there. They wrote "Give peace a Chance" and as it was the anniversary week of that time, a special exhibition was being held which was very interesting, with lots of behind the scenes information. We ate one night in the restaurant which was great and there is also a great steak restaurant across the road. The location was great for many other things including the tourist centre and hop on, hop off buses. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uptightoutasight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear uptightoutasight - We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth and the many surprises during your stay. We're glad you were able to attend the celebrations of the 45th anniversary of the Bed-In. We hope you will visit us again next time you're in Montreal! Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is our first visit to this location, and have to say that the Fairmont Gold is truly Gold in every way, the staff go out of their way to make our stay unique.
We can not complement the people enough and we will be back.
We have stayed at a few Fairmont properties and this one ranks at the top.
Thank you so much and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmountie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear xmountie1 - The entire Fairmont Gold team was thrilled to read the beautiful comments you had to share further to your visit in May. Thank you very much for this wonderful feedback and we do hope to have the pleausre of welcoming you back to our Fairmont Gold floors soon! Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed 8 nights here and I enjoyed it. The hotel is perfectly located and two steps from Montreal old city and St Catherine street. It also provides valet parking service. The rooms are perfectly clean and bed and linen high quality. I would stay again if travelling to Montreal in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Dan U - We greatly appreciate your positive feedback about your overall stay and we're happy to hear you will think of us next time you visit Montreal! Many thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

central location, superb service, friendly staff. The concier was extermely helpful. I took the Hop-on-Hop-off bus as recommended, best value! The bedding was so comfortable, it's hard to get out of bed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Yung P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Yung P - Thank you for your visit in May. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed you stay with us and we're happy you were able to explore our beautiful city! Thank you for the great comments you shared online and we look forward to your return visit. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing