We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff, beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff, beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay. Staff were amazing, best I have experienced in years. Stayed on the Gold floor, 1906 which included the lounge. Breakfast in the lounge was above average including poached and hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, and a really great bread with syrup. Can't wait for our next trip to Montreal to stay at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lllllll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear lllllll99 - Thank you very much for your recent visit to our Fairmont Gold floors in Montreal! We're delighted to read about your wonderful stay with us. The entire Fairmont Gold team would be thrilled to welcome you back in 2014! Best wishes for the new year and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    1,204
    544
    224
    114
See reviews for
622
1,051
169
1,073
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My stay at The Fairmont was very comfortable and enjoyable. To start off, I had a great view of the city on the 14th floor and check-in was very smooth. I had a comfortable, updated room that was clean and warm when I walked in.

The concierge in this hotel is AWESOME! Ms. Stephanie and the other ladies give great recommendations, are very friendly, and give clear directions which is key when you do not know where places are located. They do not rush you away from their desk, they make sure you are comfortable with the information they gave you before you leave and I was able to get around comfortably in Montreal.

Next, housekeeping is wonderful here. I got another great restaurant recommendation from a lovely woman in housekeeping there and had a great dinner. It was nice to come back to a room that was clean and organized even though I try to leave it as clean as I found it in the first place. The Bed! Oh my goodness, the bed! The bed feels like it engulfs your aching body from walking around all over the place and you wake up like you have a new body, at least that is how I felt after walking around in the -22C temperature. The bed is soft but supportive and I really wish they could send me the bed home. **Fingers crossed** :-)

The location of the hotel is pretty great! If you go down to S1 that will lead you to the health club and the four shopping centers underground which is nice. You can also access The Keg which is a decent steak house that sits across the street from the hotel via underground. If you go to S2, that takes you to shops and restaurants, VIA Rail, and another layer of shops and restaurants and then to the Metro station.

Lastly, it is just nice to come back and forth in the hotel and regardless of where you are at, everyone acknowledges you and makes you feel like you are truly welcomed there. We all look for different things when it comes to vacation, but being comfortable in your surroundings is key and you will get that at The Fairmont Queen Elizabeth.

When I return next year during the summer and fall, I will be staying here. I know people on here have said that the rooms are this and that, but my room was clean and modern and those are the only two things I need, clean being the most important part. If a hotel is clean and there is great customer service, what more can you ask for? And I felt safe travelling in the area by myself as a woman as I only travel by myself if that says anything for other single women.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear MsTravel27 - How wonderful it was to read your recent review. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to Montreal and your stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Thank you for your kind words about the fantastic service you received. Rest assured your beautiful comments will be shared with our concierge Stephanie and her team as well as the housekeeping team on the 14th floor. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the summer. Our very best wishes for a great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I got a very fair price and had no idea that it would be so conveniently located. However, not only are the carpets in poor condition, they were not layed properly to begin with. Is Quebec short of qualified carpet layers? The seams showed everywhere. The bathroom in my room was very very small and the towel rack blocked the door from opening fully. That said, the staff was fantastic, the atmosphere of the hotel was relaxing, the location terrific. I would definitely stay there again, but if traveling in winter months, wait a bit to make your reservation since the price drops quite a bit.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing Rue Rene Levesque for a better view, but the cheaper rooms probably ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Kurt M - We're happy to hear your stay back in November was an pleasant one. Thank you for your feedback regarding the carpet, which will be shared with our Chief Engineer as we're currently changing the carpet in several guest rooms. Thank you also for recognizing the great service provided by our dedicated staff members. We hope to see you again in the future should your travel plans bring you back to Montreal. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very compact room. Updated but not renovated. Comfortable bed, but pillows, not so much. Very small bathroom (also updated, except for the bathtub, unfortunately). A few very apparent stains on the carpet. Location is exceptional. Downtown Montreal, close to the Bell Center, easy indoor access to all major shopping centers in the area (you can do it all without going outside). WiFi isn't free, which is often the case in major hotel chains (come on, it's the 21st Century...)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madenjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Bed was comfortable.....pillows were decent. Great city view from the 10th floor facing towards the hill and rue st Catherine. Lots of restaurants on site, gym, pay movies, mini bar and snacks in room at ok prices. Tall bit of coors light was 6.50. Nice stay for a quick business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLionRampant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear TheLionRampant - We're glad to hear your recent business trip in December was a pleasant one. The entire team at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth hopes to welcome you back again soon. Wishing you all the very best for a beautiful 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Since I take the train from Toronto to Montreal, it is real convenience to arrive at a hotel that sits on top of the train station. Beyond this convenience, The Queen Elizabeth is well situated within Montreal, clean, modern and welcoming. After many stays, I can attest to the value and consistent guest satisfaction. As a result, I have not stayed anywhere else in Montreal in the last ten years!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear DiscerningAdvisor - Thank you very much for your loyalty over the past 10 years! We're thrilled to hear how the team makes your visits most enjoyable. We hope to see you again in 2014! Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Seemingly just steps away from the ice at Centre Bell, a short walk from the old city, Mont Royal within sight, and a short trek to the thrum of Mile End... Fairmont QE delivers. Excellent staff and great rooms. A perfect place to stage a bed-in for peace or for sleep!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear GarethKeenan - Thank you for your review. We're delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit, from the great service to our guest rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Peace and all the best for a great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#55 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth has closed its doors to undergo a $140 million transformation project to become once again Montreal's leading choice hotel for travelers, special events and business conventions. The hotel will reopen in summer 2017. The common areas and approximately 500 out of our 950 guest rooms will be ready in time to celebrate Montreal's 375th Anniversary and the 150th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Following the completion of the transformation project, Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, one of Montreal’s most iconic landmarks, will offer: A brand new design blending a contemporary decor with a vintage flair reminiscent of Montreal’s golden years. The authenticity of our building, a historic heritage monument, will be preserved. An innovative business campus that will be among the most modern in the world. The campus will include a set of interconnected and accessible public meeting and multi-functional spaces where business people will be able to engage in creative, collaborative and innovative experiences. A new restaurant, bar and coffee lounge introducing innovative culinary and experiential concepts brought to life thanks to the expertise of Baptiste Peupion, Culinary Director, and Nader Chabaane, Director of Mixology. An urban market, a revolutionary concept in the hospitality world, offering seasonal products and supporting local producers and artisans while fostering a community spirit in the heart of downtown Montreal. The Agora, a multi-purpose venue with dynamic programming, pop-up shops and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing