We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth to your Saves list
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Back again for a night at the QE on a working visit to Montreal. Great location in the heart of the city and right upstairs from the train station. The QE rooms have been updated in recent years but are rather small, and this would be the only negative in an otherwise great hotel. The staff and service were excellent. The club lounge is an excellent place for a meeting or breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Rene Levesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Rupak C - We're glad you decided to stay once again with us in Montreal. Thank you for your great comments about the location of the hotel as well as the Fairmont Gold lounge and amenities offered. The team looks forward to your next business trip! If there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    1,198
    539
    223
    114
See reviews for
616
1,045
168
1,066
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very relaxing hotel and an amazing place to stay, especially for the weekend.

However, i would recommend this place for older people since it has an old and historical theme.

All in all, wonderful staff, especially at the reception, our rooms were given to us in no time and all went well. No doubt a perfect location in Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear TheBKY - We were thrilled to read your feedback and hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth last December. We do hope to welcome you and your family back again when you next visit Montreal! Many thanks and warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our stay at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth was Fantastic. The staff was wonderful to work with, the accomomodations were very comfortable and felt like they had rolled at the "Red Carpet" for us. Dining in the main resturant was wonderful for the breakfast. Hotel is located not far from the "Old Town" Montreal and the underground tunnel access to the other buildings in the downtown area, subway and train station was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear John M - Thank you very much for sharing such fantastic comments further to your visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. From the accommodation to the breakfast, we're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The entire team would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Good:
Room was fine
Location
Service
Ambience
Breakfast in the restaurant.

Bad:
Expensive parking at a difficult garage
Price of internet
I've had much better experiences at hotel bars. With better prices!


Overall the hotel was nice, but I would consider somewhere else too in the same area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahlynn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sarahlynn6 - Thank you for your recent visit. We're sorry we didn't exceed your expectations in October. With regards to the internet, there are indeed charges, however the said charges are waived for the members of our complimentary loyalty program Fairmont President's Club. We encourage you to sign up by visiting fairmont.com/fpc. Once you enroll, you'll be able to enjoy benefits such as complimentary internet access on your future stays at any Fairmont hotel. Thank you again for your feedback. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Small rooms, shoddy showers that sputter, and a small and cramped pool. This is what I've come to expect from Fairmont hotels located in big cities in Canada; and Montreal stayed true. The hotels in Banff, Lake Louise and Jasper are really exceptional, but the inner city hotels are all in desperate need of renovation and modernization. I would stay at a more modern hotel in the future in any major city in Canada (except maybe Quebec City b.c of the beauty of the hotel).

I also had access to Fairmont Gold Lounge, the breakfast was really exceptional. I enjoyed the great views, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere and attentive service. I was annoyed that they were ripping us off with exorbitantly priced drinks from their honour bar. Come on guys, you can't give people free drinks when they're spending $300/night to stay on your Gold floors?

Room Tip: Go high or go home, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear William C - We're very sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. Even though you enjoyed the attentive service provided, we're sorry we didn't make your stay memorable. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I went to the Queen Elizabeth Hotel several times over the past year.
The staff provides amazing service, but most of the rooms require renovations and improvements. The bathrooms are old.
I recommend this hotel only for the privileged position it near the train station and extraordinary service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zara1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear zara1213 - Thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're delighted to read your kind words regarding the amazing service provided by our dedicated team members. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip, the room was small, but very comfortable, the view was good and the location was excellent. Everything was within walking distance, this is a perfectly placed hotel with lots of history in it and around it. The staff was very focused on provided a high level of customer service.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better, the view is breah taking, plus there is a lot of noise from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Gordupnorth - We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for recognizing the high level of customer service provided during your visit in September. This type of recognition is very important to our colleagues. Until next time, we're sending you our very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#47 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing