We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, good hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were in Montreal for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay here. Right next to Mary Queen of the World cathedral, the hotel is very close to both downtown and Old Montreal. The rooms are good sized and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dated but still elegant. The Bistro is overpriced but no complaints about the food or service. I had a great time here except that the concierge was not very helpful and rushed us even though there was no one waiting behind us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfuel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Silverfuel1 - Thank you so much for sharing some details regarding your recent hotel experience. We're happy you enjoyed the location of the hotel and comfort of our guest rooms, however please accept our apologies for the service provided at the concierge desk. We always strive to offer the best service and rest assured the situation described has been addressed with the team. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,204
    543
    224
    114
See reviews for
619
1,051
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have recently enjoyed another magnificent experience at a Fairmont Hotel- Gold Floor.
The Queen Elizabeth Fairmont is very centrally located and walking distance to all the must sees in Montreal. It is close to the very trendy Crescent Street (pubs and night life) and Rue St Catherine (shopping), close to old Montreal and the port, right on the subway station to go to The Olympic Park attractions.

The hotel is grand. I stayed on the Gold Floor on the 18-19 and my room was spacious and very cozy, with a view of the Mount Royal. To get to the Gold floor there is a private panoramic elevator.
Service on this floor is always outstanding, staff is super friendly and will really do anything to make your feel at home away from home. The lounge is always a nice spot to relax after a day of sightseeing and walking, with breakfast being served in the morning and snacks and beverages available during the day.
When you book make sure to notify the hotel of any particular diet requirements and they will always make sure they have what you need. In my case, it was Gluten free bread. I forgot to mention that I cannot have beer but only cider or GF beer and they told me that the next time they will have them for me!

The bed comfort was outstanding as usual. Turn down service always on time and very discreet. Fresh towels and ice for drinks always waiting for me!

In room service was excellent: we dined in one night and the food was delicious and brought in in a very timely manner.

I will certainly go back to the Fairmont QE next time I visit Montreal. This hotel has a great history of famous people staying there for a reason!

Room Tip: Gold Floor Rooms are always the best choice. Even if on the main street, they are on the 18 and 19 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk8rmom4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear sk8rmom4ever - What a pleasure it was to read your recent review. The entire team was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Fairmont Gold amenities, the service provided by our housekeeping team as well as the great in-room dining experience. We most definitely look forward to your next visit and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Queen Elizabeth hotel is in a great location. You don't need a taxi once you're here. Plus, you have direct access to the underground mall which is very convenient. We stayed here during the Montreal Jazz fest. The room was fine, but I found the bathroom to be a little small. I would recommend this hotel, but it's not the most modern of hotels in my opinion. I was expecting a little more in terms of the decor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyinparis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear lovelyinparis76 - Thank you for staying with us during the Jazz Festival last year. We're glad you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. With regards to the decor, we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations however please know we are currently working on a renovation plan and we hope to address the concern you expressed in the near future. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Fairmont QE Hotel was very nice in terms of overall appearances and feel... room was not huge, but enough room to comfortably walk around... the 19th floor lounge was very nice with a good selection for breakfast.... The room could have had another once over... some cobwebs on the walls and a little dusty on some surfaces.... the heating unit was pretty noisy... the "extra's" were ridiculously expensive... $4.00 chocolate bars, $8.00 water, and horrible selection of movies for $15.99 each!!! Overall a good stay, staff very friendly and helpful... Best part was the central location to EVERYTHING in downtown Montreal (trainstation, shopping, etc)

Room Tip: definitely recommend a east or north facing room since the south side faces ugly old buildings and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjh4255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear sjh4255 - Thank your for sharing some feedback further to your recent visit to Montreal. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us, however we do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured our Executive Housekeeper has been made aware for immediate action. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Queen Elizabeth while he attended a conference for work. The staff was very friendly and professional. After a long flight we were able to check in early and quickly. The rooms were nice, and had a nice view of Montreal. The Bistro's bar was very polite and went out of their way to make us comfortable when we visited it. It is in a great location and was easy to get everywhere we wanted to go. There was a boil order for drinking water after a line broke and they placed bottled water on every floor. If I am back in Montreal, I would definitely consider staying at The Queen Elizabeth again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Meaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear 7Meaghan - Thank you for your recent visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're thrilled to hear that our colleagues made your stay very comfortable and enjoyable. That said, despite having an issue with the city water system, we're glad our proactive staff members made it easy and safe for you. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the heart of the business district of Montreal. Famous because John and Yoko One had their "bed in" at this hotel and wrote Give Peace a Chance - there is a plaque commemorating this in the lobby. It has one of the best restaurants in Montreal. Stayed a couple of nights on a trip of Canada - the beds were incredibly comfortable and the room very smart indeed. The breakfast bar in the morning was delicious and there was something for everyone from all kinds of fruit to hot dishes - all in a very smart restaurant, with excellent service.

It is possible to use the lift or escalators to get to the underground shops and cafes without even have to cross a road or brave the rain!

The Queen and other dignitaries have stayed at the hotel and I can understand why,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear DorothyT - Such a delight indeed to read your recent review. We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast restaurant, the central location of the hotel as well as our comfortable beds. We hope to have the honour of welcoming you again to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth! Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Admittedly my stay was enhanced by being upgraded to the Gold floor (19th) which had it's own lounge and breakfast area, free soft drinks and an honesty bar, which made for an excellent stay. The most delightful feature was to be served morning tea & juice by the floor "Butler".

Nonetheless, the Hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming, the bar area pleasant and the rooms of a very high standard.

I shall definitely use this hotel again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 19th floor are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johndwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear johndwilson - The entire Fairmont Gold team was very happy to read the details you shared regarding your recent stay on Fairmont Gold in Montreal. We're glad you were able to experience the Gold floors and we also look forward to seeing you again in the private Gold lounge! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#54 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Renaissance Montreal Downtown Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing