We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff but hotel/restaurants are average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing staff but hotel/restaurants are average”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've stayed at the Fairmont several times in the last few years. The location is perfect, the hotel is clean and has all the amenities you may need and want during your stay. But several things make this hotel a "decent/good/average" option while staying in Montreal (as opposed to a great/very good option): the rooms are small, the furniture is dated, bathrooms are also small and need to be updated (ie bath stains/chips), no HD TV (big screen with analog) ... I ate at the 3 available restaurants. The Beaver Club is good (service not up to the food quality though) but there are much better restaurants around the hotel for the same price. The food I had at the Voyageur Lounge was below standard and I found the wine to be very expensive (11-16$ for a 5oz glass). I love eating and having a drink at the bar/lounge area of an hotel when I travel alone and I would not do so again here (as opposed to the lounge area at the Toronto Downtown Marriott for example ...)
I do have to say that staff is amazing: the front desk checked me in early, I was able to switch rooms during my stay after an unpleasant neighbours moved in beside my room, housekeeping is more than courteous, bar staff were friendly ... everyone has a smile and goes out of your way to help out.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear smallfamily - We truly appreciate your loyalty and thank you for your several visits in the past few years. Thank you very much for recognizing the friendliness and efficiency of our colleagues and most particularly the bar staff, front desk and housekeeping attendants. We are currently working on a renovation plan and we hope to address the issues you expressed in the near future. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    1,204
    544
    224
    114
See reviews for
622
1,051
169
1,073
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The place is starting to look just a tad worn but its clean and being above the train and shopping is awesome. Also, the hotel is very quiet at night and I got great sleep on my stay. The only negative was the concierge. Both I talked to we're awful so be sure to do some research about where you might want to eat dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBradz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear TBradz - Thank you for sharing some feedback about your recent stay. We're glad your visit was pleasant and comfortable. However we're concerned about the interaction you had with the concierge desk. If you had a moment to email us directly at qeh.hotel@fairmont.com, we would be very interested in learning more about your unfortunate experience so that we can address the issue encountered and follow-up with the individuals concerned as we want our guests to be provided with the highest level of service. Many thanks for bringing this to our attention and kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Montreal for one night. It was a decent hotel - the rooms were clean, somewhat old fashioned, food good and service satisfactory. It seems to be a landmark hotel for all those who live and work in Montreal and the surrounding areas. I would saty here again as it is just above the central station (good food court) and next to the business district. The old quarter of Montreal is 25 minutes walk or 10 minutes by cab.

Room Tip: Higher Floors are better and do not use any rooms where smokers have been
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LITHIUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear LITHIUM - Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate feedback from our guests. We're glad you enjoyed the great location of the hotel and the overall cleanliness. We definitely hope to make your next visit most memorable. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

You can't beat the location of this hotel. The train station ends underneath it. It's attached to an underground shopping area. You can walk to most things easily, even if you are towing kids with you as we were. But after the spacious lobby, things get small. The pool is small and shallow with only three families needed to fill it up (but it's a fine, small pool). And the rooms are tight too. Our group were too adults and two pre-teens and we were bumping into each other in the hallway area and bathroom, in the room. You couldn't upon the closet door and the bathroom at the same time for example, without them hitting each other. As a single or couple booking, the rooms would be fine and the beds are very comfy (hey after all, John and Yoko used this hotel for their bed-in-for-peace). We had the breakfast buffet one morning and it was excellent. A notch above the typical big North American hotel selection of items - more of a European feel.

Room Tip: If you like hockey, this place is close to the Bell Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear myounder - We're happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel. As for the guest room, we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We encourage you to visit fairmont.com as we often have promotional rates to upgrade to a junior suite, and this way enjoy a more spacious accommodation. Thank you for your great comments about the breakfast buffet at Le Montréalais restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location, esp. for those that want to easily access the subway and the underground mall/food court and train station! It is very close to St. Catherine Street and other spots for nightlife and pub-hopping.
On a side note, my friend and I were exhausted from travel (and late to our conference) and so wanted to get to our room immediately, so we "lazily" chose to take an available room in the smoking section of the hotel... BAD choice! (our fault, the hotel fully let us know of our option to wait for non-smoking section rooms). The halls smelled VERY much, but the rooms were fine.
Just a warning for those that do not smoke, wait for a non-smoking room to open up.
The place is huge and elevators and halls somewhat confusing (for a conference) but the staff was exceptionally friendly and make us feel at home, even making evening event suggestions for us!

Great price during winter months!

Room Tip: Another note, my room on one side of the hotel had an unappealing view, however, my colleague had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunbeamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear SunbeamTraveler - Thank you for your visit. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and most particularly the location of the hotel. Thank you also for recognizing the friendliness of our staff members, as this type of recognition is very important to them. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were really looking forward to staying at the Queen Elizabeth because we have had some great stays at other Fairmont properties. However, this hotel was a total disappointment. We used one of our room upgrade certificates and figured it would put us in a nice room. We were quite incorrect in that assumption and ended up in the worst room we've ever had at a Fairmont.

The room had a view of the roof and heating/cooling stacks at eye level - so looking out the window meant looking at roof gravel and metal boxes spewing steam. The room itself was one of the strangest layouts I've seen with a large bulkhead taking up a lot of the ceiling height. It was sort of a suite - if you divided a normal hotel room into two parts and added an extra bathroom and a bunch of extra furniture. It was so tiny there was no place to even set out a suitcase. I don't mind small hotel rooms - as long as they are well appointed. In this case however the room was very small and filled with tired, over-sized furniture that made the space uncomfortable and unpleasant.

The highlight of the stay was dinner in Le Montrealais - great meal and attentive service. The lowest point was when the valet failed to retrieve our car after we called down for it several minutes ahead of time. When we arrived down stairs we had to find someone to go get the car and they completely ignored the fact that we had called in advance.

We had planned to stay for 5 days and use one of our other certificates for our 3rd night free but we checked out after the second night and moved to another hotel. That's right... even a free night wasn't enticement enough to stay in that ugly room any longer.

Bottom line is there are some wonderful hotels in the Fairmont line but this one completely failed to meet expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artistseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Artistseye - We're very sorry to hear about the details of your recent experience with us. We apologize for not providing you with a comfortable and pleasant stay. That said, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Le Montréalais restaurant. With regards to the valet service, please rest assured we will follow-up with the outside company that owns and operates the said service, as we want our guests to have an enjoyable arrival and departure experience. We appreciate your loyalty and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

As on many previous visits to Montreal, it is a pleasure to stay at this hotel. I once forgot something in my room. When I called them about it, they were so helpful in shipping my clothes back to the US to me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mwasu - Thank you very much for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're delighted to hear that you always enjoy staying with us. The entire team looks forward to your next visit. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#54 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth has closed its doors to undergo a $140 million transformation project to become once again Montreal's leading choice hotel for travelers, special events and business conventions. The hotel will reopen in summer 2017. The common areas and approximately 500 out of our 950 guest rooms will be ready in time to celebrate Montreal's 375th Anniversary and the 150th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Following the completion of the transformation project, Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, one of Montreal’s most iconic landmarks, will offer: A brand new design blending a contemporary decor with a vintage flair reminiscent of Montreal’s golden years. The authenticity of our building, a historic heritage monument, will be preserved. An innovative business campus that will be among the most modern in the world. The campus will include a set of interconnected and accessible public meeting and multi-functional spaces where business people will be able to engage in creative, collaborative and innovative experiences. A new restaurant, bar and coffee lounge introducing innovative culinary and experiential concepts brought to life thanks to the expertise of Baptiste Peupion, Culinary Director, and Nader Chabaane, Director of Mixology. An urban market, a revolutionary concept in the hospitality world, offering seasonal products and supporting local producers and artisans while fostering a community spirit in the heart of downtown Montreal. The Agora, a multi-purpose venue with dynamic programming, pop-up shops and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing