We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Granada Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Most Fairmont hotels I have stayed in have been outstanding. The Queen Elizabeth is fine, but lacks character and good management. We arrived in Montreal from a cruise and arrived to a chaotic scene in the lobby. We were 8 people, two to a room, and each check in took 20 minutes to half an hour. In my view, since our rooms had been pre booked, and secured with a credit card, each check in should have been a matter of a few minutes. Altogether it took two hours for all of us to receive our room keys. Ridiculous. The room itself was large, clean and comfortable, but had no charm whatsoever. In a hotel like the Queen Elizabeth, the room should delight you. This did not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oban100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Oban100 - Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback regarding your stay in October. We apologize for not offering you a seamless arrival experience. Our team works very hard at accommodating early check-in requests even though our guaranteed check-in time is 4pm. That being said we're sorry there was a waiting time for our team to have the rooms ready for your stay. We encourage you to contact us directly at qeh.hotel@fairmont.com and we will gladly look further into the matter to try to avoid these types of situations from happening again in the future. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,204
    543
    224
    114
See reviews for
619
1,051
169
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I had looked forward to staying at the Queen Elizabeth and while I know it is an older property I was hoping for something a bit more. We used our suite upgrade which gave us two spacious rooms. Frankly the roooms looked old and tired and really in need of an overhaul. The heating/cooling system was noisy and one of the TVs did not work wiht the remote.

This was my impression of the lobby area as well. It needs to be redone. The staff are polite but almost indifferent. There is something lacking here that problably requires a new management team to fix.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scapaflow40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear scapaflow40 - We're deeply sorry to hear you stay didn't live up to your expectations. We have shared your comments with our Chief Engineer for immediate attention. Please rest assured we take your comments very seriously and please know we have several projects to upgrade our guest rooms. We would have loved to offer you the hotel experience you expected and we hope to have an opportunity some day to redeem ourselves and show you a true Fairmont experience in Montreal. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for over a week for work and I enjoyed every minute of my stay. After the first night, I asked if I could get a room with the better view as I am staying for more than a week. They ended up upgrading me to a corner room and the view was absolutely amazing. The room was always clean and I get my daily news paper on time. The staff was very helpful to answer any questions in regards to directions and recommendations of good restaurants in the city. The location was also perfect! close to the station and close to everything in the city. I highly recommend this place!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank xtiiineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear xtiiineee - On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for choosing Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your week with us. We most definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Fairmont was the host hotel for my business conference and I stayed for 2 nights. It was my first visit to Montreal and I was pleased with the city and the property. Thank heavens for the underground shops and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable, clean and all of my expectations were met. However, nothing exceeded my expecations considering it is a luxury property. Thanks to the other reviewers who recommend joining their rewards program to receive complimentary internet.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cokosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear cokosmomma - We're glad to now have you as a member of our Fairmont President's Club loyalty program. Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the comfort and cleanliness of our guest rooms as well as the convenience of being connected to the underground city. We hope to welcome you back for another conference or for pleasure in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is not one of those grande dame Fairmonts with turrets and giant chandeliers; it's a modern bit of brutalist architecture on Blvd. Rene Levesque. Taxis drop guests, for some reason I don't understand, at the side entrance where you may or may not find a doorman who may or may not help you up the stairs and through the manual doors with your luggage. If you will need help, make them drive you to the real entrance where there's a doorman.

The rooms are nice, mostly spacious and typically well-appointed, as are all things Fairmont. The staff are friendly and the food, well, you're in Montreal so why eat in?

If you can pop for the extra few dollars, stay on the Gold floors. You get your own fun elevator, helpful desk staff and a lounge with a terrifice view North and West. They serve a nice breakfast in there, but be prepared for an intimate meal. This lounge is tiny given the number of guests it serves and is usually standing room only for breakfast. They will offer guests a voucher for Montrealais, but don't take it. That is a nasty bit of news with dreadful food and resentful service.

Room service is good but the chowder, usually a good choice at a Fairmont, tasted like warm cream with pepper and a glob of butter.

Still, this is my favourtie place to stay in Montreal and it's underground to Place Ville Marie and the train station.

The fitness centre is standard Fairmont: Too many machines in an afterthought of a space but probably ok if you aren't hard core.

Room Tip: Gold Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Montreal. The train station is underneath the hotel, where there's an underground pathway with shops and restaurant. On the ground level, you have great shopping and restaurants around you. The hotel is fairly outdated, but its clean and spacious and not mention the free WI-FI service is super fast :) The price is more on the expensive end, however you're paying for the convenience, and if you only have a day or so in Montreal, you won't want to spend it on travelling :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear kaylee30 - We're glad to hear you truly enjoyed the location of the hotel and the speed of our internet access. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Montreal! Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked the room through the fairmont president's club number and got a great corporate rate because of my employer. The room was ready when we arrived at the hotel, about noon. The view was lovely and the room was a standard size and layout. No complaints about cleanliness. The bed was maybe the most comfortable we had ever slept in. We only stayed one night as we were taking the train to New York the next day. The Hotel sits on top of the train station - very convienient. The hotel is well located and connected underground to shopping, dining and the two metro lines. Not a long walk to old Montreal either. Will definitely stay again when in Montreal.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NfldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear NfldTripper - We truly appreciate you taking the time to share such wonderful feedback regarding your recent visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Even though your stay was very short, we're delighted to hear it was most pleasant and comfortable. We've recently changed all of our mattresses and we're glad you enjoyed the comfort of our new beds. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#56 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Renaissance Montreal Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Property: Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing