We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #40 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old but comfy”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Location is very central.
We were lucky our room was not on the city side (noisy) and high floor so very quiet. This location is quite old and request an upgrade. Nevertheless the room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: avoid city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halibut47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Hallibut47,

Thank you for your positive comments. Looking forward to hosting you soon,

Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    851
    284
    87
    37
See reviews for
418
545
103
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went to Montreal for a competition and after looking at different hotels, we decided on this Marriott Property, and we are glad we did! We were a 10-minute walk from the Convention Center and Old Montreal and three blocks from St. Catherine Street, where all of the shops and restaurants are located. The hotel also has direct access to the Metro (very clean, easy to use), which was very convenient and made getting around even easier. We purchased the three day unlimited use card and getting around Montreal was a breeze and inexpensive. There are also nearby bike stations on the sidewalks where you can also rent bikes for sightseeing.

The hotel itself is very nice. Our room was on the 31st Floor and fairly spacious, nicely appointed and was VERY clean - a must for our family. Although some aspects of the decor could have used a little updating, the room was a nice and had a decent size closet, bar area, and plenty of storage space. The bath was nice and was completely updated. Being a Marriott gold gave us free access to the Wi-Fi daily and to the concierge lounge, which had a good and healthy selection of food for breakfast, although variety of items day-to-day was minimal.

Although we did get off to a rocky start - had to switch rooms due to noisy neighbors, most of the the staff was very helpful and service in general was very good. The hotel restaurant was fairly good as was the room service meal that we ordered. The Concierge desk was helpful and very knowledgeable. They recommended a Sushi restaurant called Kyo (see our review) near the Notre Dame Cathedral that was superb, and were great at giving walking and metro directions. The hotel is a block or two from a beautiful park and is definitely great to walk.

The most important thing for us was the location. We were near everything and having the Metro station at the hotel was incredibly convenient - it made everything a short Metro ride away. Having visited New York frequently, we were amazed at how clean and organized the Montreal Metro is. While in town, we visited St. Catherine Street several times and found a great Italian restaurant called Ferrari cafe that hand makes their pasta (see our review) and every shop imaginable. We visited the beautiful St. Joseph Oratory ( a 15 -20 minute ride on the Metro) and found a wonderful bakery and cafe around the corner from there called Duc de Lorraine where we had a fantastic lunch, people watched, and had the best Mille Feuille ever! We also watched the parades for Canada Day. On our next visit to Montreal, we would definitely return to the Marriott Chateau Champlain!

Room Tip: We had a room with a beautiful view overlooking the city and the river, and were close to the elevat...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel has recycling bins in the room, which was nice. There is also a water conservation program with the sheets/towels to conserve water.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Anna S,

Thank you for your review and positive comments. They mean so much to us. Happy to read that you and your family enjoyed our services.

Looking forward to host you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have begun to get very disappointed with full service Marriott's as of late. I ALWAYS stay in Marriott and several times the full service big older hotels just feel dated and in need of repair, etc. This was a GREAT location and the Executive Level lounge was very nice. The hotel just seemed tired and older.
Not old as in grand old dame, just older.
Again, the location was great, the lounge was really nice, the staff was friendly enough... just not a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sean F,

Thank you for comments. Glad to read that you enjoyed our concierge lounge and location. Plans are been considered by our owners. Should you visit our hotel in the future, hopefully you will notice some changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I just returned from Montreal after enjoying the Just for Laughs Festival. We stayed at the Marriott and we were very happy with our choice. The staff is superb! Anything we needed or needed to know was supplied. The hotel is situated a short walk of about 20 minutes to the festival venues and very close to shops and restaurants. You can rent a bike just outside the hotel and make your way throughout the area and there are drop off areas for the bikes throughout the city. Great way to see Old Montreal! The rooms are not overly large but comfortable. We were on the 17th floor and had a great view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Michael G ... thank you for posting your review of our hotel - much appreciated. Glad to read your stay was a pleasant one. Indeed getting around our city is even easier with the Bixie bike option. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Full service hotel within walking distance to everything. Airport express bus stops 2 blocks away. Hotel is attached to underground shopping/restaurants. 10-15 min walk to old town and the port. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Check in/out was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Dlreynolds - thank you for your review of our hotel. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband stays here regularly - more recently we have been staying at the renovated Ritz which perhaps is why the Marriott looked more dated than I remembered but it was impeccably clean. Our view was not great and I was surprised we weren't on a higher floor as we are gold elite members. That being said, the room size was adequate, very quiet and the bed was comfortable. We had a great sleep. The concierge lounge is good for breakfast & snacks. Had I been traveling alone, it would have been enough for dinner: salad, veg chile, sausage, rolls.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi jac Virginia - appreciate you taking the time to post your review. A comfortable sleep does make all the difference when travelling. Happy to read you enjoyed our lounge offering as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stay there about 10 nights a year because of our corporate rate. If it was my choice, i would go somewhere else. The rooms are warned out. Very warn, very little control on the temperature and the bed is very static in the winter.
The only good thing about this hotel is the great staff.
Its very well situated if you are going to a hockey game.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CeeBee130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi CeeBee130 - I appreciate your feedback and your patronage. It means a great deal to us that or staff have had a positive impact on your stays. As for physical changes to our hotel, I hope future plans from our owners will make a difference for you and our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 164 in Montreal
2,129 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,551 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
865 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing