We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown Charm in Montreal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #46 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Downtown Charm in Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The rooms are clean and just the right size. The bed is quite comfortable. The bathroom has the right amenities and smells really nice. The location is just minutes away from Saint Catherine and all the shopping and restaurants. The reception area could be better as it can get busy easily but the staff is friendly. The lounge offers limited breakfast variety but stunning city views. I would definitely go back again

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room then make sure it's at the end of the hallway and away from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hello Mason 2012 - we appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Glad to read you enjoy our hotel and the service we offer. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    821
    270
    83
    36
See reviews for
392
519
102
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Marriott Chateau Champlain is right in the heart of Montreal. It is within walking distance to many of the city sites and exciting dining and entertainment locations. If you like hockey you are mere steps away from the Belle Center and the famed Montreal Canadians Hockey Team. This is a round hotel with sweeping views from all rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Matthew L - thank you for posting your comments on our hotel. Location does make a difference - safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed 2 nights for business in winter. Clean, comfortable, friendly helpful concierge and staff...would stay again. But I admit: I really HATED the gratis toiletries: to my nose intensely scented sandalwood products, made me regret not bringing my own. Seriously. Seems a silly thing to harp on about, but its my most vivid memory of my actual stay that was bothersome. If my stay was any longer, I'd have found a shop to buy something (anything) else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shappych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Shappych - thank for your comments on your recent stay - glad to read our staff were helpful and friendly to you. It will be a pleasure to share your feedback. I apologize that the new collection of THANN products introduced across the Marriott brand was not to your liking. Should you return to our hotel and need an alternative, please let us know and we will do all we can to assist you. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

After staying in another Marriott property and checking into this property what a blessing.This property is a bit older and needs a bit of updating but the atmosphere and the employees make it. The hotel upon check in was very pleasant and very accomodating.If your room was not ready they will allow you to store your bags.

The hotel is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and many exciting features and buildings in Montreal.Bell Center is very close and so is he train station making it excellent if you are taking the Via or Amtrak at any time.

We ate at the restaurant in Chateau Champlain for dinner.It was very pleasant and the portions were generous and great tasting. We did not go to breakfast as we are not too big on breakfast and chose to go to the Starbucks that is in the lobby near the hotel.

Later in the evening we ordered a cheese platter.It was 3 cheeses and a few crackers.I was a bit disappointed that for $20 that this was not as we had before.Small variety:(

The hotel was very sweet and sent up a nice gift for my husband and I knowing we had a poor experience int eh other hotel and were there to celebrate alone.I have to say it was very unexpected and very nice touch.

I would recommend that if you stay here to ask for a city view if given the choice and they also have allergy free floors:)

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathynfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi kathyfnmom
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your recent stay. I am very happy to read that your impressions of our service was so positive. Hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Best location for a Leaf fan or anyone hoping to see a hockey game or concert at the Bell Center..Service is impeccable both room service and front desk .Manager Joseph Klein is a prince of a am and the buffet breakfast is excellent . Yes the hotel is dated and old school but much more welcoming and free of the attitude you get at those trendy boutique places.. I would probably give the hotel a 4 except the service bumped it up to a 4.6 so I rounded up..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Anthony M
Great post on your recent stay - thank you very much for taking the time. Location and service do make a difference and we are glad we left you with a positive impressions - look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for business. Excellent location, very central and close to everything. Excellent rooms with very nice views of the city and downtown. Very good service and great value! It's actually not very expensive, except for the very high parking fee. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Montreal. Had a great time and very clean, comfortable room in an excellent location!

Room Tip: Nicer views the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello Matt K
Thank you for taking the time to share your post - affordable, with great service and great location says it all. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great staff and walking distance to the train station and major downtown attractions as well a a direct connection to the metro.
Rooms a nice size and well appointed. City/mountain view is the nicest if you have a choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hi Tim V - thank you for your post. Glad to read you enjoy the convenience of our hotel offerings and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#53 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#33 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing