We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #40 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Colton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I'm here for a conference with colleagues! As we are giving up a weekend in December, we were treated to a hotel in town so we could explore. This is such a beautiful place. We have a room on the 8th floor with a view, a comfortable bed.... it is just a beautiful room! We had dinner in the restaurant which was delicious. We ordered from the 'menu' land had a lovely three course meal. It was very quiet in our room. The shower was hot and plentiful this morning. The location is ideal and easy to find from the 720. The only thing is that the sign for the parking garage was rather obscured so we ended up at the front door. As there was construction nearby and there was no valet parking, it would have been nice to know where the garage was before we has to take a detour to get back around. But this is such a minor thing in comparison to the lovely experience we are having!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommyto2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi Mommyto2boys
Very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our services. My apologies for the parking challenge. We are hoping to have our regular parking access back before the holidays. I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    851
    284
    87
    37
See reviews for
418
545
103
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed in Montreal. Great view from the room. Comfortable beds and courteous staff.Great location for business and tourist. walking distance from St Catharine street and Bell Center.

Room Tip: rooms facing th Church...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinay_grover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hello Vinay_grover
A big thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel is perfectly located - close to the shopping area, and with a metro stop in the hotel to access places to far to walk. Our room had a beautiful view of downtown Montreal. The food in the concierge lounge was very good! As was the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ellen907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
HI Ellen 907
Thanks for reviewing our hotel - hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Chateau Champlain after debating whether it or the Springhill Suites was the better choice. I can't comment on the Springhill Suites, but the CC was an excellent choice for us, mostly, I think, because of my Marriott Gold status. Because of it we were upgraded to a concierge floor (29) with a great view and a large room. As well we had access to the concierge room for breakfast and Sunday night hors d"oeuvres. Because the room was closed on Sunday morning, we were offered a choice of a free cold buffet or a $9.95 full breakfast in the restaurant. We chose the full breakfast and it was a great deal. The Sunday night hors d'oeuvres of chicken curry, samosas, and salad were excellent and the concierge room was a quiet and pleasant place. They have an excellent coffee/cappuccino brewer in the room and we took full advantage of it. There was security at the desk and no sign of anyone sneaking in.

One advantage we saw when booking was easy access to the train station and to the Metro, and this proved true, though it was very difficult to find our way to the hotel from the train station underground. They need better hotel signage underground. Going from the hotel to the underground or the train station, the signs were clear and easy to follow. My daughter tells me that locals call this hotel the "cheese grater" because of the windows. Its distinctive design makes it easy to find from the street. In spite of the hockey game and the many cases of beer we saw carried up to rooms, there was no overnight noise or disturbance from within the hotel, and a few emergency sirens headed down Peel weren't too loud or disturbing.

The staff clearly did everything they could to make our stay pleasant, immediately switching to English when we showed any hesitation with our French. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor rooms get less street noise. heating and air is fairly quiet and iscontrolled by an effic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi TourerOntario
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay overall - especially the Marriott reward benefits. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the end of November on the 31st floor in room 3106...The view is magnificent, a spectacular view of downtown Montreal....The breakfast was indeed a feast, but very costly...The staff particularly on reception were polite and friendly, and the nearest metro station is directly underneath the property...It's well situated for everything to do and visit...By cab it's a 40 dollar flat fare....The only thing that I found I had a problem with was the pillows, not hard or soft just uncomfortable....All in all though a lovely hotel for business and leisure travellers alike...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi Dan B - thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback. Very happy to read you enjoyed the view. Sorry to read the pillows were not what you preferred. If you should return to our hotel we do have a few alternatives that might have been better. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Good hotel for a Montreal business stay. Central location in downtown results in walking distance to the Bell Centre and many nearby restaurants. Rooms are fine; somewhat small by current standards. Service was good throughout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glftrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello tdl 119
Thank you for the review. Hope to be able to welcome yo back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Walking distance to Bell Centre and downtown, what more could you ask! Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Did meetings on the 36th floor which has some amazing views of the city. Rooms are quite and comfortable but are in need of some renovations. Food at hotel, both restaurant and meeting room catering are outstanding.

Room Tip: Go high floors on the city view side. Amazing view. Junior suites are a good size for the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powerjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Powerjay
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. The views of the city from our hotel are indeed memorable - as is the food our culinary team offer. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your room. All of our guest rooms were completely renovated in 2011. I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 164 in Montreal
2,129 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,551 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
865 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing