We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great views but not 4-star and needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #39 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great views but not 4-star and needs work”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in mid-November and it is conveniently located a block and a half from the central train station (Gare Central) and an easy walk to the Bell Centre, bars, the Metro and Restaurants. For my business meetings, food was good, views on floor 36 were amazing and the variety of convention functions it can hold is impressive. However, this is a dated property that could use a retrofit from top to bottom including the banquet rooms, accommodations and gym just to name a few. Would stay here again for Marriott points if a work function was being held but for pleasure, would look for other downtown Montreal properties at similar price points but with newer looks and amenities. Yes, I'm a bit of a hotel snob to be fair.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the city/Mont Royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello WJR-041
I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. As you note, our location is indeed very practical . We are working on renovation plans for our public areas now and I hope to be able to share them soon. I hope your business travels do bring you back our way soon. A bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    865
    288
    87
    38
See reviews for
428
553
104
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Having traveled internationally quite extensively the last few years and staying at Marriott properties during this time, I have to say that the Chateau Champlain is unfortunately below par for its given category on the Marriott website. The first thing you notice is that the hotel needs some serious refurbishing. The lobby looked old as did the hallways and rooms. Check-in went fine and we were assigned a city view room on the 33rd floor, which was nice, but the size of the room was small in comparison to other Marriott's I've stayed at. Management could also pay a little but more attention to detail like making sure the bathroom robes in the room are matching or that the TV is actually broadcast in HD (it's not). It's irritating when hotels broadcast in standard definition and change the screen to stretch format and call it HD.

The location of the hotel is a convenient walking distance to the major tourist areas and restaurants in downtown Montreal (Notre Dame cathedral, Crescent St., St. Catherine St., Old Montreal) but that is about the only redeeming attribute. Another contributor here said the exact opposite, so I guess it's all relative. For me, a quarter mile does not warrant the need for a taxi... just saying. There is also a metro station accessible right from the hotel lobby so that was an added convenience as well. Basically, if you're doing a lot of sightseeing in the city and you're not planning on spending much time in your hotel room, then this place is fine. But if you're expecting to be wowed then don't hold your breath. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere and get a better hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello sway76
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to read your overall experience was less than you expected. We are looking forward to renovation plans that will include our public areas - I hope to be able to share more details soon. Our guest rooms were completely renovated in 2011 with very positive feedback - though our size of room remained the same. You are correct, we do not have HD signal as of yet - I will review our collateral to ensure we are not suggesting otherwise. Merci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Chateau Champlain is the kind of hotel I love — built in the 1960s, it's old enough to have mid-century character, but it's been completely updated to provide the comfort and amenities you'd expect to find in a top-tier hotel today. My room was huge and quiet, with two very comfortable beds (with fabulous pillows) and a lovely bathroom. It was perfectly located, within an easy walk of both the downtown shopping district and Old Montreal, and just across the park from the 747 express bus to the airport. Ask for a room on a high floor facing downtown and Mount Royal — the view at night is stunning. I would stay here again in a heartbeat next time I'm in Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheWrites_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear SheWrites_ca,
Merci beaucoup - for your wonderful review of our hotel.
We look forward to your next "heart beat" visit to Montreal and our hotel.
A bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My friend is a platinum Marriott member so she used her points for the stay. We were given a king suite on the 35th floor with a spectacular view. The living room area had a sofabed. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were nice. The windows are curved and very large. It started to snow in the evening and the wind blew the snow sideways making it seem like we were in a snowglobe. We could see the river and all the nearby buildings. The staff is very nice. They will exchange US dollars for Canadian dollars for you so you don't have to go to the ATM. The metro station is right there at the hotel but we found it easier to take a taxi. We had breakfast in the hotel and the server was very good. Although not brand new, everything was well kept and we enjoyed our stay. The only downside is there really isn't too much within walking distance but it didn't matter with the metro station right there. There's also an underground parking garage. I'd stay here again. The view was really great.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a higher floor and be sure to ask for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasKalBrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hi JasKalBrn
Thank you for the complimentary review of our hotel and your stay with us. Your feedback means a great deal to us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

nice place that is close to everything. it has declined a bit over the years though. this place was really nice 10 years ago. could use an update. stayed on the executive level with lounge access. service is great.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandramE731PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for your feedback. I hope to be able to share plans for some updating soon.

Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

On a recent visit to Montreal, we booked the Marriot Chateau Champlain and specifically requested a room on an upper floor, facing McGill. Our room had a huge window that looked out over a park and the northern city. At night it was really beautiful. The room had the usual Marriott décor and amenities. The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing, but perhaps was limited due to the hotel not being full that weekend. They did have gluten free bread when asked.
Parking is tricky (as it is in most big cities) as it is $22.00 per day, but if you take it out and return it you could be charged twice for the same day. Parking on the side street is free from 9 PM to 9AM. The hotel was in excellent condition and the staff friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Carollee H,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel. I appreciate your feedback. As you note, the day and night views of our city from our unique guest room windows - are indeed worth noting.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stay at this Marriot two nights a year. This year it took us 25 minutes to check in (with no line). Not sure why, we always use three rooms and normally check-in is a breeze. Rooms were ready.

All the Marriot Hotels have great beds. Very comfortable, plenty of pillows. Shower is nice - good pressure and holds your temperature well. Rooms have standard amenities, hair dryer, safe, iron and ironing board.

Nice breakfast buffet -coming out of elevators on the GH floor take a right another right near the gift shops and it's on the right.

I would recommend the Marriot Chateau Champlain based on our stays the last ten years.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEDR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello NEDR2013,
Thank you for your many years of patronage - this means a great deal to us. I am sorry to read your check in this visit took longer than expected. I truly appreciate your recommendation and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year.
A bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 165 in Montreal
2,615 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#51 of 165 in Montreal
2,176 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
885 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing