We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A central location to all the action.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #39 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A central location to all the action.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were pleased with our stay. When we arrived at the airport, we found a very inexpensive airport bus, line 747, which shuttled into the city and gave you 2 days travel on the metro/bus system for 18 Canadian dollars. The bus stop was a block and half to the hotel on Rene Lenesque and Peel streets.

The hotel seats right over a subway line. The subway is great to get around town, though most of Montreal is very walkable. There is a beautiful park just north of the hotel.

The lobby was impressive with an old world charm. The bell, the front desk and concierge were all outstanding. Service and consideration was their primay concern which showed in their interactions. We Americans could take some lessons from our brothers and sister up north on how to really treat customers.

The room was a typical Marriott room. The bed was comfortable. Internet was free since I am a member of their program. The bathroom had adequate pressure in the shower. The in-room safe was broken and i asked repeatedly to have it fixed, that was the only dropping the ball incident that I experienced. I used the gym, it was well equiped with lots of machines. The hotel has an indoor heated pool which was a plus,

i did not eat at any of the restaurants at the hotel, though I understand that it had some excellent dining. The hotel sits over a mall complex and there are several quick breakfast places. If you are looking for a hearty, inexpensive breakfast go to Dunn's up the street. For Starbuck fanatics, there is one in the hotel lobby.

We walked to old Montreal, the Old port, China town, St Catherine's shopping and over to the Latin Quarter from the hotel. We were taking a cruise and the port is only 10 minutes from the hotel by taxi.

The Botanical Gardens is well worth a day trip to see the maginifacent topiaries. A hike up to Royal Mount Park was also a great morning adventure. We spent an afternoon at the Grand Casino. There is a free shuttle to the casino which leave on the hour and half a block from the hotel at the tourist office. You must try a bagel and poutine, otherwise you have not experienced Montreal. Chinatown had some excellent Dim Sum restaurants.

The Marriott was always excellent to return to as the rooms were always clean. I felt very safe in the hotel. All of Montreal had a safe feeling, it is worth a two- three day stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Escapefromthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Escapefromthedesert,

Thank you very much for your feed-back. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our fair city and the great "breakfast options" that you found.

We are pleased to read that you felt very safe in our hotel.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    744
    229
    70
    33
See reviews for
340
448
95
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the 4th of July weekend, this is definitely an old hotel, but they did a nice job of updating the rooms, cute layout, I stayed in a king sized room, and it had a separate little bar area next to the bathroom.

We wanted to grab a quick bite, but the menu at the bar/restaurant was generic at best, so we got a good recommendation from the concierge for Alexandre's just down the street. There's also a great patisserie/boulangerie up on Peel, since you are in Montreal getting croissants, good French wine and food is a must over generic hotel food.

We also took a jog to Mont-Royal, it's very close, and the Metro is right below the building. The self service parking was super convenient, we walked and took the metro for our stay so it was not necessary to use the car at all during our trip.

The wifi was surprisingly fast, and very nice touch that it is included in the room price!!!!!

Good value and convenient location, I would definitely stay here on my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gochal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Gochal,

It is quite nice to read your great comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our fair City, as well as our location and facilities.

Looking forward to have you stay here again with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel in center city. Within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. Also, train entrance from hotel was on the 21st floor with a great view of the lovely city. Shops and places to snack available without leaving the building.

Room Tip: Higher floors have fantastic view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ellen C,

Thank you for your kind words, We too are very proud of our location and the beautiful view that our rooms provide.

Looking forward to your next visit to Montréal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stay in Marriott properties 100+ nights a year. This was one of my worse experiences at Marriott. They are either under-staffed, poorly managed, or poorly trained. The valet/doormen were unhelpful, the concierge lounge was over-crowded and poorly serviced (tables not cleared, bar not staffed, etc.). The bellmen were almost always not at their stations.

Room Tip: Get a north-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rantall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Rantall,

On behalf of all of us here at the Marriott Château Champlain, we are so sorry that we failed to meet your needs.

We can assure you that this situation is not reflective of the service that we normally offer.

We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went with a friend to the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal last month. We stayed at the Marriott Chateau Champlain, and you could not ask for a finer hotel. Staff was all very friendly and helpful. You couldn't get a better location than where this hotel is located. We came into town on Amtrak, and the hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the Gare Centrale. You can even get there underground if the weather is bad. There is a subway station almost directly under the hotel, and you can access it from an elevator in the lobby. Rooms are very comfortable, and the property has been renovated within the past few years. I have "business class" internet at home, but the free wireless internet at this hotel was faster than the business class internet I am used to. The bar/restaurant area is attractive and the food is good. And if you are in town for an event at the Bell Centre, this hotel is about as close as you can get. If you're in town for a Canadiens game this is the hotel where most if not all of the visiting teams stay. I stayed here some years ago and had the privilege of talking hockey with Philadelphia Flyers great Bobby Clarke. I cannot think of anything negative about this property. I can't really comment on the cost of rooms, since all hotels in Montreal really inflate their prices for Canadian Grand Prix weekend.

My only suggestion to Americans is that with the current exchange rate make sure your ATM card will work in Montreal ATMs. The front desk will exchange up to $100 a day for you, but they don't give you the best rate. This trip was my first to Canada in several years and the exchange rate is not what it used to be! I gave the desk clerk $100 US and got back $95 Cdn. When I used the ATMs in the area I got a pretty even exchange, pretty much $100 for $100. You used to be able to get $120 Cdn for $100 US...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. The views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsaxde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mrsaxde,

Thank you for your kind remarks. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff very friendly and helpful. I will share your comments with them.

Looking forward to hosting you again very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
274 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Chateau Champlain for a concert at the Bell Centre. It's less than a 5 minute walk. The hotel is above the subway for easy transportation, it's within a few minutes walk to St. Catherine Street area with tons of shopping, places to eat, and their famous naughty hot spots. The rooms are beautiful, clean, great views, very comfortable beds. The staff was excellent, especially the concierge for directions and suggestions. You can park your car under the hotel and it's only about $24 for 24 hours, very easy and convenient. The hotel was so easy to drive to when coming into Montreal from route 10. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up for better views and less street (sirens, horns honking) noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindervermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Cindervermont,

Thank you for your great feed-back. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff and our concierges were able to assist you well. I will share your kind comments with them.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The room was great for my family, myself and my 4 children.. the beds were comfortable.. the only complaint I had was that there was no mini fridge/microwave and when it came time to feed my 6 month oold I had to go to front desk to grab hot water ..but other than that every was great

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyrocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Jenny Rocha,

Thank you very much for your observations. I am glad that you enjoyed the comfort of your room. Sorry that the room amenities were not perfect for your needs.

Looking forward to hosting you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#49 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,724 reviews
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#21 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#32 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing