We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Marriott” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #46 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average Marriott”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (Sat-Wednesday). This is a full service Marriott located in the city. It's an old hotel that needs to be refurbished. The breakfast buffett is good with a nice selection of different foods. The Executive/Concierge lounge is small and gets crowded very quickly, however the staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the nice featues is the direct access (via elevator) to the Metro. However, while we were there the elevator broke when we were returning to the hotel late I night. We had to leave through another exit and found ourselves wandering the streets try to figure out where the hotel was. I mentioned this to the concierge the next morning who acknowledged the problem, but there was no sign or anything to indicate a problem. The rooms had some updating done, but there is only so much you can do with an old hotel. One nice touch is that they provided a 'coupon' for the buffett breakfast on the weekend (for $9), since the concierge lounge wasn't open. If I go to Montreal again, I would likely chose another, more updated hotel near this location or stay down in the old town area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mountain. The view towards the river has alot of construction and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    820
    270
    83
    36
See reviews for
391
517
102
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was here for a week that was mostly for Lissie but some business. The room provided was more than ample for me. Big confortable bed, QUIET hallways, and great service. Biggest downside was the inadequate seating in the concierge lounge. The snacks in the lounge were tasty and the hosts friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeStheRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Before arriving at this hotel, I expected it to be another old "insert 3-4 star large chain hotel brand" hotel that was probably the talk of the town back in 1980, but in present day would be in need of updating. The lobby had worn furniture and decor, but very friendly/helpful concierge and prompt check-in staff. The hallway leading to the room was in a bit better shape, still needing some updating. The room though, a huge surprise. You can tell the hotel spent the money on the important things - the bed, desk, TV, wallpaper, bathroom were all renovated. It all looked new, clean, and inviting. Had a room with a great city view. Location was also fantastic, within walking distance of Rue Ste Catherine, Old Port, and even Boul Rene-Levesque. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Clean, well-maintained, friendly staff, this is a reliable hotel. A bit old fashioned, not for you if you want trendy or boutique. Bar is expensive ($18 Martinis!) and there's a Starbucks in the lobby.

Stunning view from our 25th floor room!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from elevators if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

To be honest I thought that the hotel itself was a standard Marriot. Nothing to write home about. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful and that is what I'll remeber about staying there. Also, if you are going to a Canadians game, the location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevensonec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for our family trip to Montreal. This hotel has an amazing location and friendly staff all around! Check in was smooth and fast, the bell person was very helpful and always there to help us. The concierge staff was amazing and knowledgeable...we got many great sightseeing tips from them.

Room is small but very comfortable. I love the it has a separated changing area by the bathroom. Great for our family. Beds were so comfortable and the housekeeping did a great job everyday.

The hotel is also close to the Via Rail train station, only 5 mins walk, so it was very convenient for us as we were traveling by train.

Would def stay at the hotel again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently return from an 8 day visit in Montreal. we found this hotel to be the perfect location to the downtown area and the US embassy. Lovey greeter, cheerful older man with a great sense of humor. check in was swift and without complications. Ended up needing 2 rooms as they have double beds, not what we were hoping as we were traveling with our 2 adult children. Enjoyed the lounge, although food and drinks were expensive. the staff were all wonderful to us,and although we spoke some french just to be polite,they rapidly would change back to english when they found our french failing.Some other reviews say the lounge is outdated. Thats why its in old town people! It has the feel of Europe!

Room Tip: The spa downstairs has great inexpensive massages, although it could be a little quieter,as the exer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise57_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#53 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#44 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#34 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing